We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tasty, wholesome & great value” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Homemade by Thelma's

Homemade by Thelma's
Ranked #106 of 1,418 Restaurants in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Kendal, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Tasty, wholesome & great value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014

Good quality ingredients and an imaginative menu make this an excellent place to eat, at very reasonable cost. The coffee is delicious (& I'm very fussy!) Lovely informal atmosphere and good, friendly service too. The cakes looked amazing but I was too full after my meal to try them. Definitely worth a visit!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Claire W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    21
    4
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Altogether fab”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014 via mobile

It's a bit different, the menu is amazing, lovely sandwiches and salads, delish home made cakes. Fits in so well in Nether Edge. Altogether fab.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SuzieToast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Homemade by Thelmas”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

I never had the pleasure of eating at the original Thelmas, but am delighted that they have chosen Nether Edge as their new home, it being close to both work and my flat. I knew that they had big shoes to fill, given that Homemade had become a local institution with a devoted following. On our first visit, only a few days after its opening, we were greeted with a warm welcome and the delicious smells wafting from the open kitchen. On offer were all the usual hot and cold drink options, (although, far superior to Homemades, maybe its the coffee which has changed) plus a choice of several yummy looking cakes, including a gluten free option, that my companion declared to be just as delicious as the more mainstream choices. The menu, although small, is perfectly formed, covering both vege and vegan options alongside more meaty offerings. The sandwiches in particular are exceptional, with my NY deli stuffed with beautifully moist slices of quality pastrami, which puts most other cafes processed offerings to shame. My friend opted for a daily special of beetroot and feta tart, which came accompanied by a lovely fresh green salad and two sides from the daily deli salads. She opted for the curried coleslaw and the Moroccan bean, which if her reluctance to share is any measure, were amazing. The staff were super friendly and helpful, even under the pressure of a busy lunch time and the service was quick and efficient (the pretty short haired blond punk waitress didn't disappoint either:) Nether Edge has needed an establishment with a fresh outlook and even fresher food for a long time and Homemade by Thelmas has filled the gap perfectly. Lovely food, lovely people and a real asset to the neighbourhood.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank anthonylee2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“One of Sheffield's Gems”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2013

This is probably one of the most under-rated restaurants in Sheffield on TA. Number 188 of 600+ is not fair at all, it should be in the top 30 if not the top 10, although I don't want to see it get TOO busy...

Staff are always super friendly and the food healthy and tasty, not to mention good value. Maybe not year round but on Wednesday nights they have burger and shake nights with a good range of burgers (booking advised) and I think on Friday nights they do a bistro.

They're very child friendly which is another reason we go fairly often.

Remember to take cash as they don't take cards and you'll need to park on a nearby side street (free).

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank BrightBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Nether Edge staple”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2013 via mobile

Funny feel to the place but menu varied and all quite organically focused. Mains come with two salads at lunchtime and the portion and quality are both good. Feels like a worthy place to me and perfectly good enough.

Helpful?
Thank Tim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Homemade by Thelma's also viewed

Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 

Been to Homemade by Thelma's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing