We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent rooms above a good real ale pub with a warm welcome”
Review of Hillsborough Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hillsborough Hotel
Ranked #30 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
London
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Decent rooms above a good real ale pub with a warm welcome”
Reviewed 17 March 2012

Why stay in one of Sheffield's many generic budget hotels when you can have as good a standard of accommodation atop a fine local pub?

It's about 10mins by tram from the city centre and there's not much else to the area, but this is a really good local boozer that brew their own beer too.

English breakfast very nice indeed.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JCofBournemouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    36
    15
    2
    2
See reviews for
15
29
21
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2012

The Hillsborough Hotel is a basic, cheap and decent sort of place, the area around it is particulalrly great but if you have to stay in the area - for example visiting football fans for Sheffield Wednesday - then its not a bad choice if you're looking for something cheap and cheerful.

The rooms are basic but decent, but the real selling point is the real ale, and if you're into that its definitely worth a look - you can even get a cheap room if you over indulge!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy_Burke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2011

I had visited here about 10 years ago so knew what to expect but was still frustrated by the difficulty of negotiating the road system to get to the hotel. Room was fine, although location overlooking main road meant that thunder of passing trams was omnipresent. Toilet was an issue with flushing leaving a lot to be desired and damp patch on ceiling rather a stain. However, value for money was outstanding with superb beer available and excellent breakfast as well as very friendly staff. Wii definitely visit again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank totallyuntamed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2011

Don't expect frills here - it's not that kind of place, and it's not in the poshest part of town either. But if you just want a quiet, clean and comfortable room above a friendly pub with excellent and keenly priced food and superb beer (they have their own brewery in the basement) then look no further. Buses and trams to Sheffield city centre pass the door, and you can park in the adjacent side-street. The splendid views over the city from the pub's conservatory reminded me of LS Lowry's paintings. The Hillsborough has a deserved place in the Campaign for Real Ale's Good Beer Guide.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mkjock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 18 January 2011

I would like to begin by commending the management of the hotel as they have established a very well place. My check in was swift and efficient. The lady at reception was very pleasant and friendly. My stay was short however I would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerald4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 5 December 2010

Stopped for a funciton elsewhere in sheffield.. from the outside looks like a generic pub. Inside warm friendly people and cracking homecooked food.

Rooms are basic and clean.. but only need somewhere to keep a bag and have a sleep!

owners son even gave us a lift when our taxi didnt show!!

would definitely stop here again

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aturton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2010

The rooms have not changed, basic and simple but still fine and cheap even if prices have gone up. The range of beer is improving all the time, and the quality of it too. I sampled most of the real ales on offer, and slept soundly afterwards!
The most noticeable improvement since my last visit in 2008 was the food. It's much nicer than before, and breakfast was brilliant. Everyone working there is also fantastic, don't forget this is a pub after all and they are doing a lot more than what would be expected, in my view doing it really well too. Some of the reviews indicate that people were disappointed, but this is not a luxury hotel, nor a fancy boutique one, it's a lovely pub that was packed up with locals looking to enjoy themselves, offering cracking beers from £2.20 to £2.50 a pint, and if you want a quiet cosy night then look elsewhere. This is fun, great value and run by real people not robots. And it's very close to the tram line that goes all the way to the city centre, what more could you ask for?

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yann1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
0.5 mi away
The Garrison Hotel
The Garrison Hotel
#19 of 53 in Sheffield
439 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Sheffield
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
The Don Valley Hotel
The Don Valley Hotel
#39 of 53 in Sheffield
123 reviews
10.2 mi away
Days Inn Sheffield M1
Days Inn Sheffield M1
#35 of 53 in Sheffield
245 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Sheffield Arena
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillsborough Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillsborough Hotel

Property: Hillsborough Hotel
Address: 54-58 Langsett Road, Sheffield S6 2UB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hillsborough Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and LateRooms so you can book your Hillsborough Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hillsborough Hotel Sheffield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing