We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Italian”
Review of Paulos

Paulos
Ranked #48 of 1,448 Restaurants in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Mexican
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Wareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Good Italian”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Very busy restaurant on a Friday night. We didn't try the Mexican menu options but enjoyed tasty Italian food. Friendly and efficient service. The restaurant is situated in a shopping street where all the shops are shuttered up in the evenings so it's not a very inviting location but the food makes it worth while. There is a problem with the name of the restaurant though and that's to do with the use or possible misuse of the apostrophe. The outside sign and menus say Paulos' . There is one sign above the bar that says Paulo's. On Trip Advisor, it's listed as Paulos. Is this restaurant named after just 1 Paulo? In this case it should be Paulo's. If it's 2 or more Paulos, then Paulos' would be correct. But then, why worry? We went there for the food, not for "grammatical" spot checks!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AMG505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulos2008, Owner at Paulos, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Hello and thank you for your review. We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your time with us and we appreciate your kind words regarding our food and service. The restaurant is indeed owned by 2 Paulos, hence the name PAULOS', however the sign you are referring to was a gift from a customer and we did not have the heart to tell them the apostrophe was in the wrong place. Once again thank you for your review and we hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    219
    31
    9
    1
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Always Superb”
Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

We keep going back here time after time. Not only a great atmosphere with a great host but fantastic food with really big portions and proper value for money. Freshly prepared food, no microwaves here!
Lovely place for a larger party or intimate dinning for two.

Helpful?
Thank Russ S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“How restaurants should be.”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I (that is to say we) have visited Paulos on numerous occasions and have never been disappointed. I have tried many of the meals on the menu .. it's a terrible job but someone has to do it :-) ...and each meal has been excellent. The service is superb, the food is brilliant and the prices reasonable, wine choice is very good and the beer goes well with many of the meals.I can recommend this place to anyone who wishes to eat good Italian/ Mediterranean food with a hint of Mexican.All the staff help to make the experience a good one....try it and see.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank phild812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Birthday celebration”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Visited Paulo's for the first time last night as a family birthday celebration. Wow, what a place and right on our doorstep. Why have we not been to this place before?? Arrived early for table and the place was pretty busy with a great atmosphere helped by the open French doors overlooking the pavement. It seemed to give it a genuine Mediterranean feel. Service was very pleasant by all who came to our table.
When you visit this restaurant, make sure you are hungry, very hungry as the portions are whoppers!! The selection was huge and included a special's board also. We had the works with starters, mains and desserts. Everyone had nothing but praise for the standard of the food across all courses. Stunning. Price was good coming in at sub £200 for 6 people including copious amounts of wine and lager and a couple of soft drinks too.
All in all, this was a great experience of a combination restaurant serving Italian and Mexican food, carefully married together in some dishes with excellent results. We'll definitely be back for more..........

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Martin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Birthday in family a good reason to visit.”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

A birthday meal provided a good reason to visit Paulo's again. This time the group included 5 year old grand-daughter - who has a small appetite and can be picky. Being able to go in at 6.00 and finish the meal at a sensible time for her to go home and to bed not too late was ideal.
What can I say - we all went for Italian choices and had a lovely meal - you certainly are not short changed with the Crespella and our youngster surprised us with how much she ate - meaning she really enjoyed her choices.
Add a good quality house wine for the wine drinkers and everyone was very happy with he evening.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Claire L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Paulos also viewed

Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 

Been to Paulos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing