We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
The ArtHouse Cafe, Deli and Gallery
Ranked #93 of 1,429 Restaurants in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$14
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Wow!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

What a lovely little cafe, we have eaten here several time and the food is consistently good. They use good quality produce which is very well prepared and cooked. The menu offers traditional favourites and also dishes that are a little different, the warm salads are particularly good.

We'll done Art House, you are a credit to Penistone.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Suzie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    33
    2
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
307 reviews
258 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
“Nicest cafe in the area”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

I often call in here for a drink or snack when in Penistone - it's such a delightful place to sit and relax. It's one of those cafes where you never feel rushed or pressured.

Met up with family on Sunday and thought we'd have lunch here for a change. Very nice salads, lovely cake and ice cream, a good cup of tea and at about £10 a head, very good value.

It's a popular spot and it deserves to be!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Claribelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
47 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Lovely Local Cafe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

Ate here twice last week and thoroughly enjoyed it both times. On the first occasion I sampled a panini and a rather large piece of Victoria sandwich, both were lovely. The second time I visited I went with two friends, two of us had the onion flatbread filled with Moroccan style chicken which was delicious and hopefully will see this on the specials board next time I visit. My other friend is coeliac and they were able to do her chosen dish (scrambled eggs and smoked salmon on toast) gluten free which was excellent. Once again I somehow managed to eat another large piece of Victoria sandwich. Also, decided to try a smoothie on my second visit and I'm very glad that I did as it was lovely and fresh. Will definitely be visiting again next time that I am home as I am desperate to try one of their breakfasts which I am pleased to see that they now serve up to 3pm. Thanks!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BeckyandJames11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fethiye, Turkey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lunch in The Arthouse”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

We travelled far for a lunch at The ArtHouse today and it was well worth it. The menu had plenty of choice for lunch and the four crazy old ladies and I thoroughly enjoyed ours (a few of even managed a cake - delicious!). Beautiful cafe, lovely staff and a choice of local arts and crafts for sale. I would definitely revisit given the chance.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank carefreecaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Just lovely...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014 via mobile

Really love going to the Art House... Have visited several times... Last week I had the Brie, Bacon and Cranberry Pannini and a pot of tea... Fantastic as usual... Reasonably priced... Lunch for two and change from £20... Also love the fact you can buy lovely local crafts...

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The ArtHouse Cafe, Deli and Gallery also viewed

Penistone, South Yorkshire
 
Penistone, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 

Been to The ArtHouse Cafe, Deli and Gallery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing