We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely pub”

Kelham Island Tavern
Ranked #24 of 158 Quick Bites in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
Restaurant details
Reviewed 9 July 2018

One of our favourite pubs we've been to in Sheffield. It has a great reputation so I wasn't surprised we liked it.

The people behind the bar were friendly, beers (and pork pie and cheese roll) were tasty, the beer garden was lovely and shaded on a hot day.

Can't wait to go back.

Date of visit: July 2018
2  Thank AlexSwallow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (132)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 19 of 132 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2018

Kelham Island, Sheffield is home to a mix of old Victorian buildings alongside much modern development, and the pubs and restaurants conform to that same mix. The Kelham Island Tavern comes under the former category, very much an old fashioned local with a good atmosphere, a great range of ales mostly from smaller breweries and some simple inexpensive lunchtime food. Staff were very helpful, offering tasters until I found exactly the beer I was hoping for. Food is primarily bar snacks (cobs, chips, etc.) but they also have a few varying hot meal specials, and I thoroughly enjoyed a hearty bowl of Boeuf Bourguignon (with chips & peas) - perhaps not exactly French cuisine, but it was nevertheless delicious, with lovely tender beef and at just £6.50 was excellent value. This pub may not be to everyone's taste, but those who enjoy real traditional pubs will not be disappointed.

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 989pezza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2018 via mobile

Dear oh dear how this place won CAMRA pub of the year I will never know. I can only assume the local CAMRA committee have shares in the business
Landlord was rude and gossiping about his “ex staff” being dismissed. Beer choice was poor to terrible. Menu said food was available but chef simply said “ your too late” and most of the customers were unable to talk due to too much drink and it was only 4 pm on a Wednesday afternoon.
Not worth a visit and in future I will stick to The Fat Cat round the corner
Well done CAMRA for making yourself look silly again.

Date of visit: June 2018
1  Thank 264wayneg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2018 via mobile

Landlord rude to our birthday girl, embarrassing performance from a publican who will never see our disappointed custom again.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank Tim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2018

Thoroughly enjoyed popping in to this establishment as part of a CAMRA tour. Huge range of ales at sensible prices. Lovely atmosphere. Parking outside can be a little testing.
Some very nice quality rolls for sale. A VERY proper local which has won quite a few awards

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Service
Thank R N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kelham Island Tavern also viewed

Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 

Been to Kelham Island Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing