We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Food Sparkled, Service Could Do With a Buff!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cutlers Spice

Cutlers Spice
Ranked #12 of 1,418 Restaurants in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti, Bangladeshi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Romantic, Cheap Eats, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Food Sparkled, Service Could Do With a Buff!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

My partner and I booked a table at the last minute on Saturday evening and were seated promptly and had our drinks order taken straight away. Next we received our poppadoms and the efficient waiter took our order. So far, so good. However, we waited over half an hour for our starter to arrive, though it has to be said that, once served, the food did not disappoint and both starters were fantastic! Our mains then arrived very quickly, giving us no real time between courses which we both would have preferred. However, this was more than compensated for by the amazing taste and flavours of both dishes which were promptly devoured with gusto! Overall, one of the best Indian meals I have eaten with the experience only slightly marred by the timings of the service. We will definitely be back though and sooner rather than later :)

Helpful?
Thank MarkmyWords40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

781 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    584
    117
    36
    20
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norhampton
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013 via mobile

Food could of been better but service was great. Thought the price was expensive and wasn't busy for a Saturday night

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Beckyjones1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, Derbyshire
Level Contributor
53 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Excellent meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013

Had a meal here with a friend, mid week. Excellent choice of dishes, nicely presented in a very relaxed atmosphere We were able to eat at our pace and not rushed in any way. Very reasonable prices too. Will be back.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lozboz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013

Cutlers spice was recommended to us and we had a takeaway last week,food is amazing and the restaraunt is amazing.we have had another takeaway tonight and plan on going to have a sit down meal.a good sign is that its always full.great work cutlers spice and bug compliments to the chef

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank nickykitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very very poor takeaway.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

Cutlers came recommended and we ordered takeaway (begum bahar and a chilli chicken and Okra side). It was ready to collect in 20mins on a Friday night (too quick for fresh and authentic perhaps). The bahar dish was extremely poor, there was very little minced meat in it and it was a strange texture. Worst of all, there was no seasoning in any of the three dishes. They especially lacked any depth of flavour that you expect in an authentic curry. We never waste food, but on this occasion it was thrown away after a few mouthfuls. This review is based on one experience so it is almost unfair to comment. However, the food was so disappointing that I can't figure out great reviews - perhaps it was a bad day, but I've never tasted such poor curry (I know a good curry, I am Indian!). Sorry that our experience was not good, I did hear that the restaurant is lovely looking and the gentleman who took my order was very polite.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthea M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cutlers Spice also viewed

Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 

Been to Cutlers Spice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing