We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely decor, great staff but bland food.”
Review of Cutlers Spice

Cutlers Spice
Ranked #11 of 1,447 Restaurants in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Private Dining, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Private Dining, Reservations
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely decor, great staff but bland food.”
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

We came here last night with friends. The place is nicely decorated and the staff are friendly and helpful. I need gluten free food and the waiter was excellent in explaining what I could and couldn't have from the menu.

My starter was onion bhaji. Large, packed with lentils and bland but with an over taste of old cooking oil.

Main course was Chicken Tikka Saag with boiled rice. Again, good sized portions but an overall bland experience.

The restaurant is pretty large and was very busy so they are clearly catering for what a lot of people want but, for my money, I would rather go to the Shumul at Meadowhead, or Chutney on White Lane.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

826 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    624
    120
    37
    20
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A once great restaurant”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

I've been a loyal customer from the opening of this restaurant, to the present day. This is why I write this with a heavy heart but If the owners of this restaurant want it to keep its good reputation then now is the time to act, because you’re standards are slipping BIG TIME! The service and ambiance is still, as always, brilliant but the food has dropped of the edge of a cliff. Its really poor and has been now for 3 months. The chicken is tough and stringy, no where near as nice as it was a few months ago. The nan breads are hard, the onion bhaji was undercooked and without any flavor. I’ve never seen such a fast and huge slide in a restaurants quality of food. I wonder if Cutlers spice has employed new chefs? Or has downgraded the quality of ingredients? This restaurant needs to take a long hard look at its self! Its turned into a below average curry house. Note to owners: Im not basing this review on one bad meal. I’ve been persisting with you for the last three months and the food has turned consistently poor.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshire
Level Contributor
64 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“attentive service”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We have been here a few times now and have just got round to reviewing ,went here with friends and all our meals were great the service was excellent the decor is modern and the menu extensive and always consistently good.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank randjj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, UK
Level Contributor
102 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Can't fault it”
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

It was a take away we had so I can't comment on the restaurant but my daughter who is a regular says it's great. We had chicken chat starter, chicken tikka masala, garlic naan and pilau rice. £12.60! Bargain price and the best curry I have had in ages. I will be going again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ClareBSheffield_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheffield
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A must visit”
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

We went again this week for a family birthday .excellent meal enjoyed by all and my mum in laws birthday surprise dessert was delicious...top marks

Helpful?
Thank Dawn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cutlers Spice also viewed

Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 

Been to Cutlers Spice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing