We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good hotel”
Review of The Garrison Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Garrison Hotel
Ranked #19 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
Leicestershire, England
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 264 helpful votes
“A good hotel”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We were very happy we chose this hotel for our family reunion. The rooms were all spotless and yes they do have new beds because they were very comfortable. We all felt it was good value for money. Plenty of choice in the bar including real ales and foreign beers. All the staff we dealt with were polite and helpful even at breakfast on Sunday morning when it got a bit frantic as everyone seemed to turn up at the same time which led to some delays. It is a quirky building and the layout of the rooms is similar to a motel but the quality was high. The tram is just up the hill and meant we had a night out in town without the car! We would definitely stay here again if in Sheffield.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leicstourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    173
    149
    71
    24
    22
See reviews for
112
165
21
64
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Longframlington, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We stayed here overnight on our way home to split up a long journey. It is extremely interesting as it is set within Hillsborough Garrison which was an old Victorian army garrison which has been renovated reasonably recently into a shopping area. It's a bit like a Premier Inn/Travelodge except the rooms are bigger and decorated much better. Tea and coffee, hairdryer, tv - lovely bed. Breakfast was continental plus English and was OK.

The area is a little run down and there is very little in the way of restaurants or pubs. We only chose this hotel because we wanted to visit Kelham Island museum and it wasn't far from this hotel. However, the hotel has its own pub and we ate there - food was more than adequate and the service good.

The only fly in the ointment really was an objectionable senior member of staff who decided to have a rant at one of his staff which we could hear quite plainly - including the objectionable rude word he used. Hardly good customer service - perhaps a customer relations course would not be lost on this individual. However, if you are ever in this area, this hotel is good value for money, clean and quiet.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the upper balcony. We were on the main floor with a path and tables and chairs in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln UK
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Reasonable price both for rooms and meals/drinks in the bar.
Rooms are a fair size, plenty of storage, our beds were comfortable, would have preferred duvets though rather than sheets/blankets. Decor looking a bit tired, room ready for an overhaul.
Draught beer on in the bar, a decent pint. Meal choices a bit limited if you're looking for fish, check the website for the menu. Food is good pub standard rather than fine dining, competent but nothing special, prices are good though.
A word of warning for the less mobile, the hotel is on a hillside, numerous steps and trip hazards negotiating the lower levels to the bar/restaurant function room areas.
Finally, all the people who tended to our needs were very friendly, pleasant and helpful.

Room Tip: Seek advice from the hotel if you have mobility issues.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iggi_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our one night stay at this hotel.

Completely different from your standard hotel and it made for a refreshing change. No long corridors, your door accessible straight off the flowery gardens. Makes it ever better knowing the history of the hotel and a walk around the grounds are interesting.

Such a comfortable, quiet and pleasant stay.

The receptionist is happy and approachable.

Nice breakfast and the pub/bar is good.

For the price, couldn't have asked for better!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MinandMick2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Have been staying here for years - business and pleasure. Good breakfast. Convenient transport to town. Parking possible. Understand they have new beds - good idea as old ones were getting soft. Staff always very helpful. Rooms very good considering it is in an interesting Grade II listed building. Booked again in the near future.

Room Tip: Be aware that they cater for weddings on Saturday nights - best to be in an outer room as it can be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fran W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

We havnt stayed in the hotel itself but eaten in the resurant many times. The manager is fantastic hes welcoming, attentive, and very polite hea a great guy, the food is well cooked well presented and the staff are great also fantastic value for mobey both food in the bar and resturant well worth a visit

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank BarrieSarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

For the price of the room I thought it was value for money. We came to visit family and would stay again. The room was clean and had ample space. We didn't experience the bar or restaurant so cannot comment on that but the rooms were set around a nice courtyard and the location was close to Morrisons shopping centre and bus/tram lines.

There may not have been a great choice on the breakfast front but the nice thing was that it was freshly cooked rather than sitting out on a buffet.

Reading Robb W's comment about the shower, I too turned the shower on to be faced with a dribble but the water came out in full force once you twisted the shower head to a different setting.

There is a vending machine near the reception, it would have been nice if it had bottles of water in not just beer and fizzy drinks.

I have only marked the service down as average as I didn't experience enough to mark it higher.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
3.3 mi away
Whitley Hall Hotel
Whitley Hall Hotel
#2 of 53 in Sheffield
1,022 reviews
1.8 mi away
Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel
1.5 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Sheffield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
1.9 mi away
Novotel Sheffield Centre
Novotel Sheffield Centre
#18 of 53 in Sheffield
1,496 reviews
2.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Kenwood Hall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Garrison Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Garrison Hotel

Property: The Garrison Hotel
Address: 635 Penistone Road | Hillsborough Barracks, Sheffield S6 2GB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#19 Romantic Hotel in Sheffield
#20 Family Hotel in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Garrison Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Garrison Hotel Sheffield Here at the Garrison Hotel Sheffield, we pride ourselves on our distinctively unique historical character and award winning grounds and gardens, one of the only independently owned Sheffield Hotels. The Garrison Hotel Sheffield is Grade II Listed, situated within Hillsborough Barracks and is a former military guardhouse, ammunition base completed in 1854. An ideal hotel for anyone wanting a relaxing, short stay or weekend break, come and experience the ambience of our Guardhouse Bar and Restaurant. Boasting 43 spacious cosy en-suite bedrooms complete with 26 inch Flat screen LED Televisions, freeview and complimentary tea and coffee making facilities in all rooms. A complimentary fast and reliable private internet line powers the Wifi access in all Hotel bedrooms and public areas. Our special atmosphere is combined with a superb convenience and service from our friendly staff to ensure your stay is enjoyable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Ebookers and LateRooms so you can book your The Garrison Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garrison Hotel Sheffield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing