We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“brilliant stay”
Review of The Garrison Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Garrison Hotel
Ranked #13 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 July 2014

My wife and i recently renewed our wedding vows at the garrison hotel, june 20th 2014, we stayed there for 2 nights and as before the stay was brilliant, clean room, large bathroom and toilet, there was a shower in the bath area as well which was hot and powerful just as i like it, tea, coffee and hot chocolate was available in the room as well, hair dryer and tv the bed was really comfortable too.. breakfast was very good a wide choice of cereals, fried breakfasts, fruits, yoghurts and toast to choose from as for our wedding vow renewal, well if someone had sat us down before hand and asked us to put down on paper how perfectly we wanted our day to be it would not have come close to how fantasic it did go, everything from the start of the day to the end was perfection itself. the pathway inbetween the hotel rooms which is surrounded by beautiful flowers and the courtyard was a lovely setting for our photographs to be taken.A big well done to Sarah and the rest of staff for making this possible for us. Thank you to you all.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank robkirkham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (524)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

387 - 393 of 524 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2014

We stayed for one night while attending a 50th birthday @ the casino over the road. The courtyard is lovely just a shame it rained be nice for drinks in the sun. The rooms are dated but clean and spacious and set out around the courtyard. Breakfast was nice but one of the waitresses needs to learn some customer service. When she took our breakfast order we asked for full english and her reply was "What egg ??" not how would you like you egg with that. We watched her at all the tables and she just kept saying "What egg ?" !! other than that it was a pleasant stay and handy for Meadowhall too or the Speedway.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C0wchicken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Stayed one night for a family wedding reception and were given room 112 on the ground floor in the Courtyard. The Courtyard is planted out beautifully and is great for wedding photos. However, when you look out of room 112 and most of the others in that row, you can only see a sea of green foiliage about four feet from the window and front door. This makes these rooms rather dark to say the least.

The Hotels as a whole is really quite unusual forming part of the old barracks. There are a lot of steps and this makes it quite difficult for elderly or infirm guests although there are more accessible rooms near the disabled parking bays.

Room was adequate in most respects with a comfortable bed. However, the floors creaked everywhere you walked in the room and of course this happened in the night when anyone got up. The hotel really should tackle this problem as it was not confined to our room.

The wedding reception was most enjoyable and the function room worked really well. Ellie on the bar worked like a trojan and coped admirably under pressure. I didn't realise that there was a Master or Ceremonies until the Best Man's speech as his presence was truly underwhelming.

Breakfast the next morning was in the same function room as the wedding and Tony, the Master of Ceremonies, had morphed in to the Restaurant 'manager' for the occasion. For reasons unknown, he had partitioned off a third of the room with portable screens to contain the guests in the remainder. Unfortunately, there were too many guests for the available tables and lots of people were just stood around, despite several empty tables lying just behind screens. When I asked Tony if we could use one of the tables behind the screen he said no and abruptly told us to get a coffee and sit in the bar. When we didn't do as we were told, Tony said "are you just going to stand there". By this stage I recognised that line from the "Germans" episode of Fawlty Towers when Basil was trying to conduct a fire alarm test and the guests were all standing in the lobby. When I told him that we were staying put he disappeared in a huff.

Fortunately, Ellie was working the breakfast room as well and she moved the screens back and set up more tables. It didn't hurt did it Basil ! Guests at all the surrounding tables were likening Tony to Basil Fawlty and I couldn't really disagree, which is a shame really because the staff and particularly Ellie were great. Tony, you are a square peg in a round hole......find something more suitable to do like undertaking or something equally morose.

Room Tip: Ask for a first floor room with floors that don't squeek continually when you walk on them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Churchbridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Stayed the night after a night at the greyhound racing. Comfortable ground floor room,adequate for our needs. Asked for an early breakfast, this was arranged for when the dining area opened. Breakfast was a good standard and was piping hot cooked very nicely. Would recommend for a short stay.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Robert55924
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

My partner and I stayed at The Garrison on Sunday evening. The hotel is very nice, with an unusual quaint layout. We were allocated a ground floor room which was quite large, had all appropriate facilities - hair dryer, tea and coffee etc. The room was clean and comfortable. The bathroom was clean but a little dated. There wasn't any overhead noise from the rooms above. We had a couple of beers, sat in the sun on the decking adjacent to the bar and then sat inside to eat. The menu was good and had an extensive choice. The food was delicious and very reasonably priced. We also had breakfast at the hotel and again this was very good. The staff definitely deserve a mention - all were very pleasant, friendl and helpful. We wouldn't hesitate to recommend The Garrison as a base for anyone visiting Sheffield.

Room Tip: Our room was a little dark - we didn't see an upper floor room but if those rooms have more wind...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kezzaGuisborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Stayed two nights for a family wedding, nice rooms, we had a family room and a double, good value for money although the lady on reception could do with a bit of training on customer relations, when we asked if it would be possible to change one of the rooms we were told no chance you have been in it ( just went in to inspect it didn't even take any luggage in)!!!!! When we eventually took our belongings in and started to settle in a baby's bottle was found on the floor behind the curtains - says a lot about the cleaning. To be fair we had a lovely stay and the majority of the staff we had contact with we're very helpful, one drawback there is only one bar and children are not allowed in after 8 not very good if you on a family break ( we were told we could sit outside in the smoking area with a 7 & 2 year old !!!!! There are heaters out there) the wedding was brilliant and the food and venue second to none

Room Tip: Don't stay here if you have mobility problems too many steps, slopes and cobbles
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bernie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Having stayed at the garrison a number of times we were expecting the usual standard of service and accommodation, it wasn\'t to be.

On arrival we checked in and went to our room, the cot we requested when we phoned to book wasn\'t in the room so I went to reception and asked and was told we\'d booked a family room, not a cot and she would have to see if she could find one, I know we booked a cot because we have a baby and my husband asked for a double, 2 singles and a cot on booking because his opening statement was can you take 3 children in a family room, 2 in beds and one in a cot?!

When we got back to the room after going to get something to eat there was a cot in there but the attitude of the receptionist was not helpful!

Then, around 8pm the boom, boom, boom of the music from the function room started, not entirely helpful when trying to get three children settled, some warning of this would have been appreciated, we may have reconsidered where to stay.

Then, breakfast and oh how standards have slipped! the range was appalling and my husbands egg was swimming in grease and oil, all in all the whole breakfast was pretty well inedible.

Disappointing from the garrison, we will have to reconsider where we stay in future which is a pity as we have family 5 minutes away!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tokahan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
1.5 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Sheffield
1.8 mi away
Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel
4.7 mi away
Staindrop Lodge
Staindrop Lodge
#21 of 53 in Sheffield
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Kenwood Hall Hotel
2.4 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
#12 of 53 in Sheffield
1,343 reviews
5.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sheffield Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Garrison Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Garrison Hotel

Address: 635 Penistone Road | Hillsborough Barracks, Sheffield S6 2GB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Sheffield
#19 Romantic Hotel in Sheffield
Price Range: £53 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Garrison Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Garrison Hotel Sheffield Here at the Garrison Hotel Sheffield, we pride ourselves on our distinctively unique historical character and award winning grounds and gardens, one of the only independently owned Sheffield Hotels. The Garrison Hotel Sheffield is Grade II Listed, situated within Hillsborough Barracks and is a former military guardhouse, ammunition base completed in 1854. An ideal hotel for anyone wanting a relaxing, short stay or weekend break, come and experience the ambience of our Guardhouse Bar and Restaurant. Boasting 43 spacious cosy en-suite bedrooms complete with 26 inch Flat screen LED Televisions, freeview and complimentary tea and coffee making facilities in all rooms. A complimentary fast and reliable private internet line powers the Wifi access in all Hotel bedrooms and public areas. Our special atmosphere is combined with a superb convenience and service from our friendly staff to ensure your stay is enjoyable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., LateRooms, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your The Garrison Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garrison Hotel Sheffield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing