We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel, stroppy bar staff service”
Review of The Garrison Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Garrison Hotel
Ranked #22 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, stroppy bar staff service”
Reviewed 6 February 2011

It's been a while since I have encountered service as shoddy as this.
I chose the hotel to meet and select business suppliers. Upon approaching the bar (no table service here), I was abruptly instructed that if I wished to be served, I should stand at the order point. Duly stepping 8 steps to the right along the same bar, I was now placed behind 4 other people who had arrived after me.
The three bar staff were then reduced to one and I was ignored for 11 minutes.
Having finally placed my order, I asked for it to be brought to the table. Request ignored and I was served the drinks at the bar.
The customer in front of me asked to change her order. The response was 'no, it's gone through now'. That customer was made to feel so intimidated that she paid for food she no longer wanted, and didn't receive the food she wished to choose.
When my astonished colleague later attempted a 2nd order, the drinks arrived incorrect.

Does this hotel actually understand the concept of customer service? I will not be returning and will advise my business associates of the reasons why.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank spectrafashions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    135
    132
    64
    24
    19
See reviews for
92
135
20
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Banbury, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 14 December 2010

I stayed one night at the Garrison Hotel whilst visiting friends based in the city centre. It is easily accessible by tram or bus so getting there was no issue. The staff were friendly, the check-in was quick and smooth as I had prebooked a room on the website. The room was clean and warm with a good television, decent showering facilities, a selection of complimentary teas and coffees and most of all a comfortable bed. The breakfast available was very nice (cooked with a choice of four items and a toast rack), with a selection of fruits, juices and yoghurts available. I would not hesitate to book again when I am in the city next.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank le_dog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2010

Can't really think of anything nice to say about my stay here, breakfast was awful, room was dirty, couldn't sleep for the thin walls, and the staff were over the top flirty, cheap and nasty, wouldn't stay again or reccommend.

Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank littlebiggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Qld, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2010

Quite comfortable and clean for our purpose. Nothing to rave over, but a decent place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KittyKitoba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing, West Sussex
Level Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2010

We stayed with friends and family for a wedding. Two relatives needed facilities for the disabled and staff were very helpful in changing room bookings and looking after them.
Food was good value in the bar area, and breakfast was enjoyable.
Room layout is usual with doors to the outside, but rooms were quiet with large windows looking out on to planted areas.

Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Stephen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 January 2010

I stayed here for 2 nights, and even though the bed was comfortable, the bathroom was not up to standard hygienically. Food was warm not hot, and the girls in the hotel flirted very badly with the men, I could have mistaken it for a brothel if I were just staying the night. Not classy at all!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robroyman251
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan900, Manager at The Garrison Hotel, responded to this review, 3 March 2010
Our staff are friendly and helpful, our food is enjoyed by many and our rooms are often reviewed as clean, warm and welcoming.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2009

Stayed for 3 nights. Ist room was dirty with hair all over the bathroom. Staff helpful and polite. Changed room immediately with no questions. 2nd room was only slightly cleaner. dirty marks every where in bathroom and on mirrors. same marks in same places after 3 days. Breafast is OK but depends who you get as a waitress as to wether you get your meal in 5 mins or longer, on 2nd day I left after 27 mins as I couldn't wait any longer.
Will not stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jacbot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
0.5 mi away
Hillsborough Hotel
Hillsborough Hotel
#30 of 53 in Sheffield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
3.3 mi away
Whitley Hall Hotel
Whitley Hall Hotel
#2 of 53 in Sheffield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 982 reviews
2.4 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Sheffield
4.7 mi away
Staindrop Lodge
Staindrop Lodge
#20 of 53 in Sheffield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
2.2 mi away
Halifax Hall
Halifax Hall
#5 of 53 in Sheffield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Garrison Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Garrison Hotel

Property: The Garrison Hotel
Address: 635 Penistone Road | Hillsborough Barracks, Sheffield S6 2GB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#19 Romantic Hotel in Sheffield
#20 Family Hotel in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Garrison Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Garrison Hotel Sheffield Here at the Garrison Hotel Sheffield, we pride ourselves on our distinctively unique historical character and award winning grounds and gardens, one of the only independently owned Sheffield Hotels. The Garrison Hotel Sheffield is Grade II Listed, situated within Hillsborough Barracks and is a former military guardhouse, ammunition base completed in 1854. An ideal hotel for anyone wanting a relaxing, short stay or weekend break, come and experience the ambience of our Guardhouse Bar and Restaurant. Boasting 43 spacious cosy en-suite bedrooms complete with 26 inch Flat screen LED Televisions, freeview and complimentary tea and coffee making facilities in all rooms. A complimentary fast and reliable private internet line powers the Wifi access in all Hotel bedrooms and public areas. Our special atmosphere is combined with a superb convenience and service from our friendly staff to ensure your stay is enjoyable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Garrison Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garrison Hotel Sheffield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing