We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic value for money”
Review of Staindrop Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Staindrop Lodge
Ranked #21 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 June 2011

On arrival was very impressed with the service at reception en how clean and modern the hotel is. Fantastic stay with the groupon special, lunch very nice champayne even better. Room very spacious nicest hotel ever stayed in will be booking again

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JW1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (274)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

250 - 256 of 274 reviews

Reviewed 24 May 2011

We were welcomed by Sally (reception) and she was very friendly and helpful and showed us to our lovely spacious room. We were surprised by how big and comfortable the room was and had little touches that you would not normally find in a hotel at this price.

The staff should also have a special mention as service was excellent. Rebecca seemed to work nonstop and nothing was too much trouble, from bringing milk to our room to the evening meal service and breakfast the next morning!

The meals however could have been a little better. The evening meal was nice but expected a bigger portion and at breakfast the beans were stone cold. We mentioned this and it was resolved very quickly with an apology and a friendly smile.

Overall I would recommend this hotel based on the quality of the rooms and service. The meals were nice but don’t expect too much.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 36Goodwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2011

Lovely hotel, service,food,room, cleanliness & staff. Stayed 21st May offer with Groupon and was not disappointed, everything was lovely and staff very helpful. Much recommended for the £55 deal for two. Food and drink in Brasserie very good indeed. Room service very quick and served with a smile.

Would recommend highly and will be returning :)

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fabmazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2011

I have stayed at the Staindrop a number of times throughout 2010 and 2011 as it is less than a mile from our Sheffield based office.

The hotel itself is excellent with spacious, immaculately clean rooms and plenty of in-room extras (sewing kits and shoe mitts for example). The bathrooms are a little ‘quirky’ with an enclosed bath and shower (feels a little like a pod and can seem claustrophobic at times!) but functional if a little lacking with the shower power. Rooms also have Sky Sports (if interested) as part of standard channels.

The staff are always friendly and are happy to help in any situations, there is also free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel (I have found the signal to be quite weak in some rooms.)

The only real negative that I do have is in regards to the food, I recently stayed for 2 nights and had the same meal on both nights, the first night I found the food to be tasty with a decent portion size the second night was a completely different experience with possibly the driest meal (Chicken Breast, Potatoes and Vegetables) that I have EVER had, this had also just been ‘thrown’ on to the plate (the first night was nicely presented). If this had been the first time I had stayed at the hotel I could have put it down to different chefs but this seems to be a common issue with little consistency being shown on the menu.

I really like this hotel and would fully recommend it, the food (on the right night) can also be really nice.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hansolo20x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2011

Stayed here for a friends wedding and thoroughly enjoyed it. As we were coming from out of town we were offered an early check-in. The staff were very friendly and made our stay vey welcoming. On arrival we were offered a free upgrade to an executive room. The room was very spacious and very comfortable overlooking the car park, we feared it would be very noisy but our fears were not warranted as we didn't hear a thing. After checking in we had a bar snack, which we feel was very good value for money. The room in which the wedding was held and the food in our opinion were excellent. The hotel is very family friendly.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1-Dave-C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2011

From start to finish this lovely hotel exceeded my expectations..just 5 mins from the M1 perfect for Sheffield and Meadowhall...I loved the friendliness on arrival...the home style appeal...the amazing evening meal in the brasserie and the included breakfast was the best hotel breakfast I have ever had...made freshly to order. The rooms are well appointed, really clean and although the surrounding area is less than picturesque this lovely hotel really makes up for it. I will choose this hotel now over major chains whenever I venture again up T'North :)

Room Tip: Call ahead or email to confirm
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Victorious_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2010

What a lovely room, champagne, jacuzzi and very comfy bed.
Dinner was excellent and a varied menu. Breakfast on saturday, had to keep asking for things (toast , coffee) but food was good. Sunday was much better, Liz our waitress was extremely efficient and seemed to be doing everything although there were other staff there! Shame she wasn't there saturday to serve us.
Only downside was functions on both nights we were there and very noisy. Also at dinner Friday night had to have desert in our room due to very, very loud conversation from boozy birthday celebration in the restaurant where we were eating. Other guests complained so wasn't just us! We were very tired and needed to relax as well.
Room service incredibly efficient.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gnasher91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
1.4 mi away
Whitley Hall Hotel
Whitley Hall Hotel
#2 of 53 in Sheffield
1,067 reviews
10.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Aston Hall Hotel
6.9 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
#12 of 53 in Sheffield
1,331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel
5.8 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Sheffield
13.3 mi away
Days Inn Sheffield M1
Days Inn Sheffield M1
#30 of 53 in Sheffield
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Staindrop Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staindrop Lodge

Address: Lane End | Chapeltown, Sheffield S35 3UH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Sheffield
#13 Romantic Hotel in Sheffield
Price Range: £54 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Staindrop Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Staindrop Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Classic Hotel Sheffield
Classic Hotel Staindrop
Sheffield Classic Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing