We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, real ale and great food”
Review of Staindrop Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Staindrop Lodge
Ranked #21 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 October 2012

Large rooms, free wi-fi, but rather dark bathrooms (fake black marble) very friendly local staff. A good bar with 3 real ales on offer, wide wine selection and good service. The brasserie is very good. All food is freshly cooked, good portions, and reasonably priced. The choices range from local favourites (meat and potatoe pie and hendersons relish, fish and chips etc.) through to green lipped mussels and a truly wonderful Tapas selection. Can eat the same food in the bar with Sky Sports as well. Good value and recommended.

Room Tip: The newer block rather than over the bar/brasserie
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tad B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (263)
There are newer reviews for Staindrop Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

194 - 200 of 263 reviews

Reviewed 25 September 2012

Were visiting family in Chapeltown, Sheffield and stayed at the Staindrop for one night. What a delightful surprise when we arrived there. Our room was spacious and beautifully decorated. The bathroom was lovely. We had actually booked a Superior Double and were a little apprehensive when we were given a Standard Double. However we needn't have worried as the room was excellent and terrific value for money. Breakfast was included and again was very good value. Staff were friendly and efficient. Would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel. My only very small grumble is that a larger bed would have been nicer.

Room Tip: If they have one ask for a room with a large double bed.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DandLKent_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2012

An excellent overnight stay not far from the motorway or Sheffield City centre.After a long day this was a most wellcome quiet haven tucked away,but not too far, from the main thoroughfares.
The room ,a standard double, was large ,well equipped and comfortable.
The restaurant was a bit basic but the food was good ,tasty and hot. The cooked breakfast was more than adequate.
Check in and out was straight forward and all the staff were very helpful, friendly but not intrusive.
Good value.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2012

my only complaint here is i only stayed 1 night!!! from warm, happy and welcoming reception and check in staff to a lovely spacious room with a spa/air bath to relax in, to the bar/restaraunt staff to the ales and food all the way to breakfast! trust me it doesnt get much better, if in the area you have to stay here!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paul s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2012

My room was HUGE, clean, and quiet, staff at the hotel were friendly and courteous. Everything should be great but there was just one problem. There was a slight odour - I don't know where it was coming from the curtains or the carpet, it wouldn't be a problem really - there's a couple of large windows in the room but when I laid down to sleep the bad smell was being competed with by a strong artificial fruity/floral smell - either the fabric softener or a plug in or something and the combination made me feel really sick all the time I was in the bed.

Room Tip: My room was in the corner on the first floor.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruby2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2012

Stayed overnight in an amazing room with high quality extras. Such as sealed vanity packs in bathroom that contained nail file, ear buds etc.. something I alway forget and being a regular traveller this was a nice suprise.

All the mod cons in room, tastefully decorated and clean

Food was out of this world! Starter, main and dessert. Waitress was lovely

Drinks medium priced and had offers on certain drinks which was a good incitement to drink a little more.

Will definitely be a regular returning customer!

If i had to pick a negative it would just be the name/sign on front of building needs a new coat of paint but thats being really picky but was notable.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jo W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2012

We stayed at the lodge on a Saturday night in August. The rooms are very large, modern & comfortable. Bathrooms very modern, if a little dark.
There was a wedding reception being held in the evening but this was not an issue at all.
The brasserie attached to the hotel had a good, and well deserved, reputation for good food. Portions are huge, quality excellent.
Great receptionist, really helpful & happy.

Room Tip: Even numbers in the annex face away from the courtyard which may be noisy on a warm evening.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Awayagain_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
1.4 mi away
Whitley Hall Hotel
Whitley Hall Hotel
#2 of 53 in Sheffield
1,036 reviews
10.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Aston Hall Hotel
6.9 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
#12 of 53 in Sheffield
1,286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel
4.7 mi away
The Garrison Hotel
The Garrison Hotel
#19 of 53 in Sheffield
449 reviews
5.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Sheffield
Holiday Inn Sheffield
#22 of 53 in Sheffield
1,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Staindrop Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staindrop Lodge

Address: Lane End | Chapeltown, Sheffield S35 3UH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Sheffield
#10 Family Hotel in Sheffield
#13 Romantic Hotel in Sheffield
Price Range: £72 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Staindrop Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Staindrop Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Classic Hotel Sheffield
Classic Hotel Staindrop
Sheffield Classic Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing