We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not go on a Wedding Day!”
Review of Staindrop Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Staindrop Lodge
Ranked #20 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
Silloth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Do not go on a Wedding Day!”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Had to book a Hotel on Le Tour weekend, in order to get to a friend's house that was on the route and subject to early road closures. Unfortunately this was the one we booked.

Arrived to find the car park very busy and limited parking left. But the 3 spaces that were coned off became free as some young lads were taking the cones to use as goal posts as they played football among the cars! Clearly from the wedding party that was noisily in evidence on the outside terrace.

Reception was good and friendly. Reserved a table in the 'restaurant' and went up to the room which was very large ('Superior'?) but had a basic double bed.The room was very warm despite the window was open to maximum - one of these stupid Health and Safety sort that only flap open from the top and admit minimal air. Did look in the wardrobe to see if a fan was available - not a chance, despite this room will regularly overheat and, being down the side, will rarely get the prevailing breeze. It was only 18C outside so I hate to think what the room is like when it's a hot day.

Went down to the brasserie. Declined the offered table right where the kitchen door opened and sat in the lower area. Menus and drinks provided pretty promptly and pleasantly - the first problems then surfaced fairly quickly as 4 kids from the wedding rushed through the brasserie as a short cut. This happened a further 3 to 4 times before our meal arrived. So was mentioned as an issue when asked if 'everything was OK'? The waitress promised to sort it out and then disappeared off the face whilst the same kids made regular forays through the brasserie despite the lower area had then filled up. All steadfastly ignored by the staff despite a couple of meals being delivered nearly became casualties. After the initial delivery of drinks we had to wait 30 mins for the main course and service thereafter was increasingly poor. The food was reasonably good - the coffee was as bad as it gets. I gave up attempting to sign the bill and went to reception to settle the overall bill as we had a very early start. No one there - waited 10 mins - and no means of summoning anyone.

Went back to reception some 30 mins later to find the night porter there but the meal still hadn't been loaded onto the system. The 'phone to the restaurant didn't work so he had to walk up there and come back to check the bill. Eventually managed to pay and he confirmed he would be there when we left at 0630hrs.

Had a very uncomfortable night in a very stuffy room and trying to avoid getting too close in an undersize bed. Also lots of internal noise when the bar / wedding closed down. The only real plus is that the bathroom is good. Although the one piece moulded bath / shower / sliding doors needs better lighting. At 0530hrs - with the sliding doors across to keep the shower water in - it's rather gloomy in there as there is no light built into the 'pod'.

We left at 0630hrs - to find no one in reception yet again - and no where to leave the key.

Totally unimpressed by the whole stay. It seems to be yet another hotel that sells their soul to wedding guests but then can't cope with the rest.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mikeyorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy561, General Manager at Staindrop Lodge, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
I am sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us. Let me start by explaining a few things. We only have 'superior' or 'Executive' bedrooms. When you made your booking, you requested a superior room, all of these rooms have a double beds, only our executive rooms have king sized beds.
I understand the room was warm as it was a warm day, we do not leave fans in all of the rooms, we do however have them for guests upon request. Had you asked at reception we would have been happy to have one put in your room. I also understand the window was only open slightly, our windows do fully open in our rooms, again one of our staff members would have been more than happy to have assisted you with this if you had brought it to our attention during your stay.
You were right to complain about the children that night, however, I can reassure we that we did all we could to stop this happening. Our restaurant manager had told the children that running through the restaurant was not acceptable. When it happened again, I personally gathered the children together and explained that running/walking through the restaurant while guests were in was prohibited. I monitored the situation for a while and also brought it to their parents attention.
Our hotel was full that night, we do encourage our guests to return to their rooms quietly and respect other guests, we cannot guarentee this is going to happen!
As you can see from other reviews, we have set ourselves high standards, anything less than this is simply not good enough. I have had a meeting with all of the staff involved to outline your complaints.
I was on duty that night, I do wish you had requested to speak to me directly so I could have rectified some of the problems you had.
Should you decide to stay with us again, please call me directly to make the booking, we would apprectite the chance to rectify our mistakes from your previos stay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    154
    68
    24
    5
    5
See reviews for
48
92
8
47
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Thornton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
217 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Stayed here for a surprise anniversary treat for my wife & she was well impressed! Art Deco theme throughout was refreshingly clean & inviting well planned bar & adjoining seating areas & restaurant with good chef. Staff warm friendly with genuine air of helpfulness. Bedroom had king size bed & jacuzzi bath with sofa & plenty of space twice as big as some I have stayed in. Got a good deal for our 3 night stay, plenty of parking in the grounds of hotel. Outdoor seating for al fresco drinks dining great for summer evenings. Food excellent, 3 cask ales in bar too always a bonus in a posh place like this! Returned yesterday for late lunch snack delicious freshly cooked posh fish chips mushy peas delicious melt in the mouth, thank you Staindrop, I'll be back.

Room Tip: Ask for executive room. If you go midweek maybe you'll can get a good value deal, I was happy wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bryck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

What a lovely place. Huge, spotlessly clean bedroom and bathroom. Wonderful evening meal with a varied menu and wine list. Superb, freshly cooked to order breakfast. Helpful, friendly staff. Couldn't fault it and would definitely return if we were in that area.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cj_abz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

As a family group of six, we were so pleased to stay again at this excellent hotel on Saturday 12th April 2014. The staff appear to have the old, and correct teaching, that nothing is too much trouble make their guests feel really at home and that they truly DO care about us! From the moment we all walked through their welcome door, we were met by a caring receptionist who speedily booked us all in, and inquired if there was anything else we required: please ask! There is nothing "Fawlty Towers" about this establishment!!! On the following Sunday morning, we were treat to a freshly cooked breakfast which was superb in cooking, presentation and serving by great staff. We shall be returning to the area to visit friends in June 2014, and it may come as no surprise as to where we shall be staying again!!!

Room Tip: Don't bother looking at other hotels, just try "The Staindrop Lodge" and you will not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Colin123456789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We have used this hotel several times when visiting family. We stayed on Saturday 15th March Our room was a very good size and clean with toiletries etc and a well stocked refreshment tray. The staff are helpful and polite It was so nice to have our breakfast freshly cooked and served to our table on Sunday morning rather than buffet style. We were pleasantly surprised at the very reasonable cost of the room which included the breakfast. We booked a room in the annexe which suits us. We will be staying there again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maggie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Just returned home following a one night champagne break and felt compelled to review this hotel-staff were both brilliant and friendly-food and service were great-no extra supplements to the a la carte menu-really nice bottle of champagne and freshly cooked breakfast-well done to all concerned!!

Room Tip: Room 14 was really spacious and also a jacuzzi bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BarryandSueCozens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Stayed here as a short notice treat (via a facebook offer we'd seen advertised)...

The room was lovely, art deco decor, and comfy furniture. The bathroom was a good size and featured a fab jacuzzi bath.

We ate in the restaurant (tapas, which were delicious, and very generously sized), the prices were reasonable, and good selection of drinks/wines.

Breakfast the following morning was also delicious.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone, and we will be returning in the future.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimjamlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sheffield
1.4 mi away
Whitley Hall Hotel
Whitley Hall Hotel
#2 of 53 in Sheffield
994 reviews
6.2 mi away
Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel
10.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Aston Hall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Sheffield
1.5 mi away
Tankersley Manor Hotel - QHotels
6.9 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Staindrop Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staindrop Lodge

Property: Staindrop Lodge
Address: Lane End | Chapeltown, Sheffield S35 3UH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Sheffield
#10 Family Hotel in Sheffield
#13 Romantic Hotel in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Staindrop Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Staindrop Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Classic Hotel Sheffield
Classic Hotel Staindrop
Sheffield Classic Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing