We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Staindrop Lodge
Nearby Hotels
US$112
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$104
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$130/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Ibis Sheffield City(Sheffield)(Great Value!)
US$60
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$58
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$77
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$67
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Novotel Sheffield Centre(Sheffield)(Great Value!)
US$85
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$79
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$178
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$83
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$97/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$111
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$90
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hampton By Hilton Sheffield(Sheffield)(Great Value!)
US$88
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$75
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$88/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$84
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$81
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Sheffield(Sheffield)
US$108
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$87
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$97
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$84
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (289)
Filter reviews
289 results
Traveller rating
171
78
30
5
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
171
78
30
5
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslamb cutletsspa bathfunction roombirthday partycoffee tablebottle of champagnebar mealsmain barcourse mealpieincluded breakfastfantastic valueroom was largenext morninglovely hotelmember of staffcan't fault
Filter
Updating list...
159 - 164 of 289 reviews
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Attended a wedding here earlier this month and took advantage of great rates offered as part of the wedding party. Was great to just turn up at lunchtime and park the car and just get on with enjoying the day.
The room was fine - pretty modern with decent bathroom and very clean.
The wedding was great and everything went very smoothly, the wedding meal and the evening buffet were spot on.
Reasonable bar prices and even though the music stopped at midnight, the bar was still open to residents which we took advantage off.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank BrundallbazNorwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

great day out with family. it was a family members wedding and we lurrved it!!!! the night was great and we had a traditional wedding meal. everyone loved it. thanks for the great service staindrop lodge. rooms were great. my mam and me were happy in disabled ground floor room as she isnt too well with stairs. the food was delish but my niece wasnt too happy cause she is choosing with food. but great. loved the karoke and the decor.
love from megan and jayne. xxxx also betty had input. lol!!!!!

Room Tip: all rooms good
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jayne g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Had to book a Hotel on Le Tour weekend, in order to get to a friend's house that was on the route and subject to early road closures. Unfortunately this was the one we booked.

Arrived to find the car park very busy and limited parking left. But the 3 spaces that were coned off became free as some young lads were taking the cones to use as goal posts as they played football among the cars! Clearly from the wedding party that was noisily in evidence on the outside terrace.

Reception was good and friendly. Reserved a table in the 'restaurant' and went up to the room which was very large ('Superior'?) but had a basic double bed.The room was very warm despite the window was open to maximum - one of these stupid Health and Safety sort that only flap open from the top and admit minimal air. Did look in the wardrobe to see if a fan was available - not a chance, despite this room will regularly overheat and, being down the side, will rarely get the prevailing breeze. It was only 18C outside so I hate to think what the room is like when it's a hot day.

Went down to the brasserie. Declined the offered table right where the kitchen door opened and sat in the lower area. Menus and drinks provided pretty promptly and pleasantly - the first problems then surfaced fairly quickly as 4 kids from the wedding rushed through the brasserie as a short cut. This happened a further 3 to 4 times before our meal arrived. So was mentioned as an issue when asked if 'everything was OK'? The waitress promised to sort it out and then disappeared off the face whilst the same kids made regular forays through the brasserie despite the lower area had then filled up. All steadfastly ignored by the staff despite a couple of meals being delivered nearly became casualties. After the initial delivery of drinks we had to wait 30 mins for the main course and service thereafter was increasingly poor. The food was reasonably good - the coffee was as bad as it gets. I gave up attempting to sign the bill and went to reception to settle the overall bill as we had a very early start. No one there - waited 10 mins - and no means of summoning anyone.

Went back to reception some 30 mins later to find the night porter there but the meal still hadn't been loaded onto the system. The 'phone to the restaurant didn't work so he had to walk up there and come back to check the bill. Eventually managed to pay and he confirmed he would be there when we left at 0630hrs.

Had a very uncomfortable night in a very stuffy room and trying to avoid getting too close in an undersize bed. Also lots of internal noise when the bar / wedding closed down. The only real plus is that the bathroom is good. Although the one piece moulded bath / shower / sliding doors needs better lighting. At 0530hrs - with the sliding doors across to keep the shower water in - it's rather gloomy in there as there is no light built into the 'pod'.

We left at 0630hrs - to find no one in reception yet again - and no where to leave the key.

Totally unimpressed by the whole stay. It seems to be yet another hotel that sells their soul to wedding guests but then can't cope with the rest.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mikeyorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy561, General Manager at Staindrop Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

I am sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us. Let me start by explaining a few things. We only have 'superior' or 'Executive' bedrooms. When you made your booking, you requested a superior room, all of these rooms have a double beds, only our executive rooms have king sized beds.
I understand the room was warm as it was a warm day, we do not leave fans in all of the rooms, we do however have them for guests upon request. Had you asked at reception we would have been happy to have one put in your room. I also understand the window was only open slightly, our windows do fully open in our rooms, again one of our staff members would have been more than happy to have assisted you with this if you had brought it to our attention during your stay.
You were right to complain about the children that night, however, I can reassure we that we did all we could to stop this happening. Our restaurant manager had told the children that running through the restaurant was not acceptable. When it happened again, I personally gathered the children together and explained that running/walking through the restaurant while guests were in was prohibited. I monitored the situation for a while and also brought it to their parents attention.
Our hotel was full that night, we do encourage our guests to return to their rooms quietly and respect other guests, we cannot guarentee this is going to happen!
As you can see from other reviews, we have set ourselves high standards, anything less than this is simply not good enough. I have had a meeting with all of the staff involved to outline your complaints.
I was on duty that night, I do wish you had requested to speak to me directly so I could have rectified some of the problems you had.
Should you decide to stay with us again, please call me directly to make the booking, we would apprectite the chance to rectify our mistakes from your previos stay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Stayed here for a surprise anniversary treat for my wife & she was well impressed! Art Deco theme throughout was refreshingly clean & inviting well planned bar & adjoining seating areas & restaurant with good chef. Staff warm friendly with genuine air of helpfulness. Bedroom had king size bed & jacuzzi bath with sofa & plenty of space twice as big as some I have stayed in. Got a good deal for our 3 night stay, plenty of parking in the grounds of hotel. Outdoor seating for al fresco drinks dining great for summer evenings. Food excellent, 3 cask ales in bar too always a bonus in a posh place like this! Returned yesterday for late lunch snack delicious freshly cooked posh fish chips mushy peas delicious melt in the mouth, thank you Staindrop, I'll be back.

Room Tip: Ask for executive room. If you go midweek maybe you'll can get a good value deal, I was happy with how they looked after us.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bryck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

What a lovely place. Huge, spotlessly clean bedroom and bathroom. Wonderful evening meal with a varied menu and wine list. Superb, freshly cooked to order breakfast. Helpful, friendly staff. Couldn't fault it and would definitely return if we were in that area.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cj_abz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews