We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great steaks at a reasonable price”
Review of La Vaca

La Vaca
Ranked #78 of 1,440 Restaurants in Sheffield
Price range: US$4 - US$45
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
236 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Great steaks at a reasonable price”
Reviewed 1 November 2013

I wrote a review back in July 2012, saying that the food was great but that we had had a bad experience due to badly behaved customers. After a return visit last night, I feel that I should re-review the restaurant in a more positive light.

Although very busy, we had an excellent meal, with perfectly cooked steaks. The wine is still inexpensive and very tasty and overall, the whole party enjoyed themselves. It is very good value, even though side dishes are mainly extra.

Remember to book in advance!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pete M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    277
    86
    28
    15
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Even vegetarians would be welcome!”
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Fundamentally, if your not a lover of all thing red meat then your somewhat limited on the menu choice. However if your an out and out carnivore that makes T Rex look like a muffin munching wimp then this is the place to come. It is without doubt a temple to all things cow!
And all things cow are done exceptionally well!
The staff are great, even to the point of possibly being the friendliest in Sheffield, nothing is to much trouble.
I tagged along on my sons birthday and let the side down by eating the "chicken sandwich" and not doing the steak option.
I wanted something light.
Mistake..... I was stuffed as the portions are, shall we say, satisfying!
We will return.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank McGarrett50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skegness, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent”
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Went on friday nite to la vaca as recommended by a friend .all I can say is excellent steak restaurant.great service.nice atmosphere at reasonable prices .will definately be returning for another visit x

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stephania30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The Steaks are wonderful!”
Reviewed 27 October 2013

The chef is Chilean and knows how to cook steaks! Nice cosy atmosphere with good service. Need to book to avoid disappointment!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“birthday steak..”
Reviewed 23 October 2013

i went here last night for my birthday meal after reading the reviews on here, the service was very good and very friendly the staff even gave me a balloon for my birthday..i ordered the 12 oz rib eye steak, medium rare, this came just as i asked and was cooked to perfection , the meat was highly salted ,which is the reason i gave food 4 stars and not 5,but overall the experience was excellent and i will be returning to tempter to eat the 30 oz steak , IF YOU WANT NICE STEAK IN SHEFFIELD GO HERE !

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JonnyUnwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Vaca also viewed

Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 

Been to La Vaca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing