We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing food!”
Review of La Vaca

La Vaca
Ranked #77 of 1,447 Restaurants in Sheffield
Price range: US$4 - US$44
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing food!”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

My boyfriend and his friends stumbled on this place before going out round Sheffield and we have been going since.

The first time me and my boyfriend went we had the sharing meal parrillada for £17.50... Bargain you get loads! 2 x 8oz Stirling steak, chorizo sausages, morcilla, pork ribs and chips. This is more than enough for 2 people, this could easily feed 3 people.

We then went back with friends, and my friend then went back with family and more friends for her 21st! Everyone loved there meal and we have been planning to go back as a big group again.


The ribeye steak is amazing! The sides and gorgeous.

I am not a big meat eater but I now look forward to a steak here.

The service is good, quick and the staff are very polite and helpful.

We once saw Michael Vaughn the cricketer here too!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Keeley J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    282
    87
    28
    15
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Nada especial - Nothing Special”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

I read the informaton on the website before I went and was expecting a little piece of South America in Sheffield, but if I hadn't read that, I would not have realised it was particularly a hispanic atmosphere, it was just a small place with an average menu. The food was good, but nothing out of the ordinary, certainly not worth a special journey.
Sat in the back room, you felt forgotten and pushed out the way and the constant passing of dirty plates being carried over my head was not condusive to a great ambience. Haven't they heard of a dumb waiter ?
All in all, I would go again, if I lived down the road, but if you are hoping for an authentic Argentinian atmosphere, don't bother, it just didn't live up to the profile.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MrMark4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Lovely food but not for claustrophobic people”
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

Steaks came perfectly cooked in the range of different preferences we had. The sides were lovely and flavoursome and there was plenty of them to go round. We did wait a little while for the food and find it a little difficult to get server attention after food had finished but they were nice pleasant staff who seemed happy to help. The place itself is cosy with quite a few tables packed in to try and fit in as many as they could which did make me feel a little claustrophobic but the food was so good that it can be forgiven. Worth a visit if you live steak !!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KLynch4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great again”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Great again last night. As it was on the 28th June although that evening was nearly spoiled when a well refreshed lady, to the obvious embarrassment of her fellow guests, who i believe tipped generously, threatened staff with the police to secure her half price meal/free wine/free food/anything as long as its free! La Vaca take heart from the overwhelming sentiment of your reviewers including none other than A A Gill who isn't noted for taking prisoners but is at least informed, experienced and measured in his criticism. .

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 770James
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Mhmmm... steak”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

If there was an announcement on the news that the world was going to end tomorrow at 5pm, I would go to La Vaca to eat there one last time. And then probably go home and see my family.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AJGBS10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Vaca also viewed

Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 

Been to La Vaca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing