We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Sheffield, South Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
christine...
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Perfect”
Reviewed 22 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Beautiful cottage. Stunning location. Cottage has everything you could possibly need. Sara was very helpful showing us on a map walks we could take our dog on. We are already planning to come back next year.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
heather12...
Lancing, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Superb cottage well appointed - very friendly owner”
Reviewed 28 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We had a lovely week at Curlew Cottage, we have to say that it is the nicest cottage that we have stayed in. A lovely welcome from Sara upon our arrival, there was also a welcome basket of local produce and fresh flowers which was such a nice touch and much appreciated we would not hesitate to come and stay again there is a lot to do in the area

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Dudley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
jonathan1...
Vancouver, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“nice apartment up in the hills above High Bradfield”
Reviewed 13 May 2016 for a stay in March 2016

The apartment was clean and cozy. It's a one-story building, so there's no noise from people upstairs. I only rarely heard the person staying in the adjoining apartment. The windows look out to a paved courtyard on one side, and a lawn/yard/childrens-play-set on the other side. There are chickens around outside, so it's useful to have a flashlight (torch) to watch one's step at night to avoid droppings.

I could only get weak cellphone signals in the cottage, and couldn't get a reliable wi-fi signal. I got good cellphone reception a few minute's walk up Peak Pits Lane from the cottage.

The owners were very friendly and helpful, and were kind enough to pick me up at Sheffield train station when I arrived, and take me back there when I departed. If you don't have a car, Peak Pits Farm is a steep 30-40 minute walk uphill from High Bradfield. If you're physically fit it's a great walk, with panoramic views of the valley as you climb the hill. (It might be a difficult walk if there's snow or ice.) There is a twice/hour bus service from High Bradfield to/from Sheffield, connecting with the Sheffield Supertram. (Unfortunately the bus was sometimes not that punctual.)

A tip: cars often drive very fast on the narrow (1-lane) roads, so it's good to wear a bright-color reflective vest if you're walking, and step off the road onto the grass when a car approaches. A torch is also very useful at night -- this is a rural area with no street lighting.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: peaceful & quiet, beautiful rural location
Liked least: cars drive very fast on narrow 1-lane roads, with little space for pedestrians
Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 May 2016
Thank you very much Jonathan for you kind review. We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay. I'm sorry you didn't manage to connect your computer to our Wi-Fi. Both cottages share the same Wi-Fi hub and the gentleman staying next door didn't have a problem during his stay and nor did we when we tested it on our tablet. We assumed it may have been something to do with the lap top you were using. We do hope you come and stay with us again on your next visit to the area.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing