We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect meal and good staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Napoleons Casino & Restaurant, Owlerton

Napoleons Casino & Restaurant, Owlerton
Ranked #147 of 1,418 Restaurants in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Perfect meal and good staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

We visited Napoleons at Owlerton Sheffield on Tuesday 29thJuly. There were four of us visiting the restaurant.The food was excellent, and the staff first class. We will be returning as we had a very enjoyable night.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Barrington M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    20
    5
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Swinton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely place and meal too”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

Me and my husband don't go out much and we love napoleons, the food is excellent and the staff are really friendly. The atmosphere after when playing on the tables just adds to a lovely evening

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Helpful?
1 Thank lucie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

If you come from Sheffield you'll know what I mean if I say this place is Jack Fultons pretending to be Thyme Cafe. The menu sounds lovely, but the reality is so, so disappointing. The steaks we ordered came in a pre-packed Bearnaise "gloop" which looked like custard with chives and tasted of nothing. The steaks were also tough and tasteless. The vegetables which came with the main courses were plentiful, but again, tasteless. My starter (Thai fishcakes) was small, cooked from frozen and rather rubbery in texture. One of the puddings was just dull (Chocolate Tiramisu). Cheese platter was excellent though as was the service and the wine. I wish they'd tone down the description on the menu, then I would not have expected anything too interesting. Such a shame.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Sheffmog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
93 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“worth a visit for great food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

Have visited 3 times and have not been disappointed.
Excellent service from bar staff and waiting staff, the chef catered for my husband's need for gluten free food due to caeliac disease and offered to prepare special choices if rung before.
I loved the fish dishes had on 2 visits but also the lamb on the last visit.
The sweets are excellent but hard to fit in with such great mains, there is a set 3course and 5pound bet offer which is great value and the chance of winning the meal money back or not!.
Coffee is very well presented with coffee pot and mints_ looking forward to next visit and thanks again for the great times had here was worried about going to a casino thought it would be a little shady but fears unfounded the restaurant is much better than any hotel food and most restaurants.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Libbykira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Love this place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014 via mobile

5* that all you can say, staff are great, food (sometimes free) fantastic, will be seeing them soon. Also a very clean place

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Stanly2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Napoleons Casino & Restaurant, Owlerton also viewed

Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 

Been to Napoleons Casino & Restaurant, Owlerton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing