We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful evening”

Bishops House Bistro
Ranked #98 of 1,464 Restaurants in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Caribbean, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: We predominantly serve British cuisine but every Friday is Caribbean cuisine from 6pm
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Wonderful evening”
Reviewed 17 November 2013 via mobile

Went for the Bistro night. Wonderful food and a good atmosphere with Jazz music in the background. Excellent value for £20 per head. Very tasty freshly cooked food.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    22
    4
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food, great prices and superb service.”
Reviewed 20 October 2013

If I had to choose just one place to eat out in Sheffield then this is it. The variety and quality of the food is first class, there is always an excellent atmosphere and fantastic service. Just try Bistro night and you will be hooked but book early to be sure of a table. My partner and I recommend Bishops when ever asked about eating out.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Little Gem”
Reviewed 20 October 2013

This place is truly a hidden gem. Whether it is just for coffee and cake or lunch or an evening visit the food and welcome are superb. The Sunday lunch is excellent value and freshly cooked tasty food.
Caribbean Fridays are amazing with the best of Caribbean food on offer including rice and peas and oxtail which are second to none.
Well worth a visit....or two.......if it is for an evening I would suggest booking first as it is becoming increasingly popular.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dino135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fish and chips”
Reviewed 17 October 2013 via mobile

Excellent meal and shaun is a great host ! Got to come and try the pizza night or the Saturday night bistro with bring your own wine

Helpful?
Thank MatthewGatley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Speightstown, Barbados
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed 18 August 2013

My partner and I have eaten here on a few occasions. The quality of the food and service has always been excellent and the price is very reasonable. We have been on a Sunday for a roast, there was a choice of 3 meats, I went for the lamb shank and my partner the chicken, both meals were cooked to perfection and cost just £10. We have also been for a breakfast, which was very well presented and enjoyable. We decided to try the Caribbean Friday, which was a great night, we took our own bottle of wine and enjoyed salt fish cakes, chickpea curry, Caribbean chicken and curried mutton with mango cheesecake to finish. It was a great night and we will definitely head back to this friendly establishment to try the bistro nights and other themed evenings.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gemw1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bishops House Bistro also viewed

 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 

Been to Bishops House Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing