We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a pleasant surprise !”

Carluccio's - Meadowhall
Ranked #92 of 1,440 Restaurants in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“What a pleasant surprise !”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

You don't expect to go to the Meadowhall shopping centre to dine out. However, on the evening of the Grand Depart, we ventured into the food hall and found Carluccio's.
What a pleasant surprise it turned out to be !
Even though it was very busy and were told to expect to wait 20 minutes, 2 of the staff checked around the restaurant and found a table for us within 5 minutes. Excellent start.
The table service was equally excellent with it being friendly and efficient. We were then even more pleasantly surprised by the extensive menu and the standard of food served.
This is definitely the only place to 'dine out' at Meadowhall !

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank William B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    205
    133
    63
    27
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“new Ecclesall road restaurant review”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

This was our first visit and certainly won't be our last. Our overall experience was very good. An immediate and warm welcome gave us a positive first impression. The décor is cool and relaxing and there was a good early evening atmosphere - almost a full restaurant in fact. Our servers were friendly, efficient and knowledgeable. The food was excellent. I rarely award five circles for 'chain' restaurants but to be honest I couldn't fault this evenings experience. This is a new restaurant so I'd expect it to be good and I hope standards continue to be high.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank stephen c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
“Great food and excellent prices with friendly and efficient service”
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

Friday night in a major shopping centre is not a general choice for a high quality meal - we were very surprised and highly delighted.
Deciding to move away from typical pastas I had the sardine starter and zucchini and feta risotto and my wife had focaccia and salad nicoise.
All were excellent. .better than expected given the location!
A light fruit sweet and Italian cheesboard were also superb.
We also had a couple of spritzers to begin wine and coffee. The bill was lower than we expected ...especially considering the quality.
Service was friendly and efficient and the staff all had smiles on their faces.
Will definitely return if I can avoid the shopping before ;-)

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank peter151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
269 reviews
161 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
“Lunch time menu at new restaurant!!!!”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Called in for birthday lunch and as a fan of Carluccio's restaurants we were a little disappointed. The deli food is spread about the restaurant, which is lovely when you go in at some of the other restaurants and see it beautifully displayed. The food was average, we ordered an extra sharing separate starter to compliment the set menu. The main was lacking in the ingredients with notably a large pile of pasta, with very little sausage sauce, the vegetarian option was also poor. Hopefully it's just teathing problems and the standard will improve like their other restaurants.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank LynMichael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“New Ecclesall Road restaurant”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Well worth a visit. Lovely terrace, spacious restaurant, good menu, lovely Italian food! Wine a little bit pricey but worth it!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Zakroon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Carluccio's - Meadowhall also viewed

Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 

Been to Carluccio's - Meadowhall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing