We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My my what a wonderful pie!”

Penistone Pies & Puddings Cookery Courses
Ranked #1 of 8 Food & Drink in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“My my what a wonderful pie!”
Reviewed 16 October 2013

As a combination of wedding and birthday presents six of us went on Jacqui's pork pie and piccalilli making course. It was awesome, Jacqui was a brilliant host and teacher and my sister was so inspired she ordered some pie tins of her own as soon as she got home.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Katy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    2
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Afternoon”
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Many thanks to Jackie and her sister-in-law for a fun day on Saturday making pork pies. In her beautiful home, making us very welcome on arrival with coffee, tea and yummy cookies.
Finished off the day with afternoon tea and a glass of bubbles, just perfect for a group event in beautiful surroundings. Would recommend over and over again!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great pork pies made on Kev's Stag do”
Reviewed 15 September 2013

When Mick said we were taking Kev for an unusual Stag do 'warm up' - the last thing I expected was a trip to Jacqui's to create Pork Pies... (OK so we did have a warm up drink of lager on the way)! But we had great fun to say that we were 10 blokes with only "basic" cooking skills. Jacqui was great and made us feel 'that we could do it', she was the perfect hostess. Drinks (coffee, tea and great biscuits) throughout the day - nothing was too much trouble. To be honest, Kev was in a state of shock, but somewhat relieved we hadn't chained him to a lamp post somewhere. After a couple of hours (of, in some cases, intense struggle) we created our pies and had them in the oven! Amazingly, the pies tasted fantastic, but that was really down to Jacqui and not us. Would recommend Jacqui's place for anyone wanting an "unusual" stag do or party. And yes, we are going out next week to give Kev a proper send-off and to introduce him to a lamp post somewhere!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Bobby S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
“Inspiring,beautiful & fun”
Reviewed 26 July 2013

We had such a wonderful morning with Jackie in her stunning home. We were welcomed with tea & biscotti outside over-looking stunning Derbyshire countryside. Jackie then made cooking delicious food seem simple & fun. I came away feeling inspired & confident with a broad range of recipes & skills - definitely a first for me! Our lunch was a real treat,all home-cooked & hand picked. Thank you so much Jackie for welcoming us into your home,looking after us so beautifully & inspiring us in so many ways.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kate R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
1 review
“Food & Fun”
Reviewed 26 July 2013

An enjoyable and fulfilling experience in a beautiful location. Jacqui made us feel welcome and comfortable in her wonderful home and we spent the morning creating a variety of dishes including canapes, hand made pasta and the most wonderful pannetone bread pudding. The class was fun and informative, Jacqui creates a friendly and encouraging atmosphere, and everyone attending left feeling more confident in several techniques. Also feeling comfortably full as for lunch there were samples of her home made pork pie and a spectacular Victoria sponge. This was a lovely relaxing yet productive way to spend the morning.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank TGerl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Penistone Pies & Puddings Cookery Courses also viewed

Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Chesterfield, Derbyshire
 
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 

Been to Penistone Pies & Puddings Cookery Courses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing