We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A refreshing change”
Review of Maveli

Maveli
Ranked #39 of 1,467 Restaurants in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Sheffield City Centre's only authentic South Indian Restaurant where the food is freshly cooked on order. Enjoy the taste of succulent chicken, quail, lamb, fish ,prawns, calamari & egg dishes cooked in distinctive South Indian spices. Flavoursome vegetable dishes for those who love their veggies! Try delectable paper thin Dosas & Vadas (savoury doughnuts) drenched in South Indian style Chutneys & tangy Sambar. NOT UK's typical curry house fare! Find us on Glossop Rd ( end of West Street, at Sheffield Baths , Swim Inn Building ). Fully licensed Restaurant & Bar with a TAKE AWAY SERVICE too .Can cater for private events at home or other venues.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A refreshing change”
Reviewed 13 October 2013

I booked Maveli because of the reviews I had read on trip advisor and wasn't disappointed. We had a really enjoyable meal in pleasant surroundings. We needed help with our meal selections as we hadn't eaten in a South Indian restaurant before and were given friendly advice. The food was light and fresh, good quality and not expensive. It was our first visit, but won't be the last.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank lizzyt116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cherian2013, Owner at Maveli, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Thanks for the kind remarks . We are so pleased everyone had a great time at Maveli . We are especially happy that our staff explained the unfamiliar dishes ! Hope to see you again soon at Maveli.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    222
    62
    11
    8
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed 11 October 2013

I went on a Thursday night and the restaurant was full of people enjoying themselves - a really lively atmosphere. The staff were attentive and the food and drinks were delicious. We both had recommendations; the Kovalam Meen Kolambu - the fish was perfectly cooked and the sauce with it was lovely. I can't remember the name of mine now but it was very very good! All in all, definitely a place you should try!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank mshewry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cherian2013, Owner at Maveli, responded to this review, 12 October 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words . We are delighted you liked the food ...especially the Kovalam Meen Kolambu ! Hope to see you again at Maveli.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Amazing South Indian Food !!”
Reviewed 11 October 2013

I must say I have had the best South Indian food in the North England in ages and I am happy that they are here in Sheffield that too in the town centre. The prices are reasonable and the quality of the food is great. The staff are nice, has lovely environment and ambiance. Most of all the place looks very clean.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SKSU-GaAs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cherian2013, Owner at Maveli, responded to this review, 12 October 2013
We are delighted you enjoyed your time at Maveli . We are especially happy you liked your meal and the ambience of the restaurant . Thanks for writing in about us .Look forward to having you again at Maveli.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“The diversity of India!”
Reviewed 9 October 2013

All the little dances performed by my taste buds brought on by the clever use of spices in my fish curry is well remembered 3 weeks later.
Fantastic South Indian Restaurant must return soon to try the comprehensive menu!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Habfa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cherian2013, Owner at Maveli, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Thanks for your kind & encouraging words ! We shall definitely tell our chef of your kind words about his Fish Curry. We look forward to seeing you again at Maveli .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good ”
Reviewed 7 October 2013 via mobile

Gonna recommend to my friends and family . Very tasty food reasonable price too . Definitely go back again . Order masala dosai biriyani Kuthu porotta and fish curries too was really yummy

Helpful?
Thank T Jayakhar A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cherian2013, Owner at Maveli, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
We are delighted you enjoyed your meal ( & the price ) at Maveli . We are also happy that the Biriyani , Kothu Parotta , Masala Dosa & the Fish Curry matched your expectations . Thanks for taking the time and trouble to write about us . Look forward to meeting you again .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Maveli also viewed

Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 

Been to Maveli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing