We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly a home of South Indian food”
Review of Maveli

Maveli
Ranked #39 of 1,520 Restaurants in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Sheffield City Centre's only authentic South Indian Restaurant where the food is freshly cooked on order. Enjoy the taste of succulent chicken, quail, lamb, fish ,prawns, calamari & egg dishes cooked in distinctive South Indian spices. Flavoursome vegetable dishes for those who love their veggies! Try delectable paper thin Dosas & Vadas (savoury doughnuts) drenched in South Indian style Chutneys & tangy Sambar. NOT UK's typical curry house fare! Find us on Glossop Rd ( end of West Street, at Sheffield Baths , Swim Inn Building ). Fully licensed Restaurant & Bar with a TAKE AWAY SERVICE too .Can cater for private events at home or other venues.
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Being from South India, We could not resist the sign 'Maveli Restaurant, home of South Indian Cuisine'.So we decided to pay a visit and my word, it was unbelievable.

This is easily the best South Indian food we have had in the UK. And trust me being
from South India we have tried a few so called South Indian restaurants around the country.


We went for the medu vada and travancore chicken fry for starters.
Chettinad chicken and Konju masala with some Malabar parottas and portion of
Chettinad chicken biriyani as the mains.
Topped all this up with a Sulaimani


This is a truly delightful taste of southern India, and I recommend it.
If ever in Sheffield do not forget to try Maveli.

Hats off to you guys great service, great food and an enjoyable night.
Definitely would be visiting again when in Sheffield.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Invincibles2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cherian2013, Owner at Maveli, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2014

Thanks for taking the time & trouble to write us that lovely review . Our real test lies in matching up to the expectations of our South Indian guests , as they are (naturally) very aware of the exact taste of a dish. We are especially pleased that you liked the Travancore Chicken Fry which's a newly added item to our menu . Look forward to seeing you again .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (336)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

257 - 261 of 336 reviews

Reviewed 7 December 2013

We moved to Sheffield from Birmingham, and have been searching for a good Indian restaurant - now we have found one! We were really impressed with the food, with fresh ingredients, careful use of spices and herbs, and plentiful portions. There were lots of lovely fish dishes, plus good meat and vegetarian ones. The (very) short wine list had us worried, but the quality and reasonable price of the red we ordered soon assuaged our fears! We are already planning our next visit, as there are so many dishes we want to try! A great place, with friendly, efficient service.

Thank Jeanthelibraryqueen5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cherian2013, Owner at Maveli, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2014

We are truly happy that you enjoyed your meal at Maveli . The Southern parts of India ,( especially the coastal regions) , does eat a lot of Sea Food which we've tried to include in our menu . We would be delighted to see you again . Everyone here at Maveli wishes you a lovely time in good old Sheffield !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

Me and my wife both enjoyed the food ,especially we liked kothu parata very much and can ask future visitors to try as it worth .

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Amar208k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cherian2013, Owner at Maveli, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2014

Thanks for taking the time and trouble to write about us . It's been a pleasure having you over . Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Hello....I went to this restaurant 2 weeks ago with a group of 25 people from University...it was organised as in the table was arranged in such a way to accomodate us.

The problem I had is that my friend and I ordered poppadoms for staters and those were way too oily!!! It was disgusting! Then alot of us ordered the mysore masala dhosa and the masala dhosa...the size of the dhosa are huge, in a good way, but Maveli is way tooo stingy with the portion of the masala in it.....barely any masala, tucked in the middle of the dhosa......plus being oily again! the sambhar had oil drops floating on them!!! We also had to ask for a jug of water to 3 different waiters and got the jug of water after 20 minutes...poor service

I had expected better. If only they could have been more generous with their portions as they were with the amount of oil in their foods. I dont think I can go back there, even if I crave my South Indian food. Disappointing.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
5  Thank Divya P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cherian2013, Owner at Maveli, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2014

We are truly sorry you found Maveli disappointing . A few explanations are in order here...Your student organisers at the university wanted to celebrate Diwali for 25 people on an extremely busy weekend night . We did try to tell them that it can be rather difficult having to serve a single large table of young , enthusiastic students without a pre-ordered menu .
3 waiters were specifically kept aside only for your group , taking the rapid orders as & when it came . Jugs of water were placed well in advance of the groups' arrival , but it was all being drunk up really quickly. Yes , our dosas are huge ...approximately 35 cms length wise with a standard mashed potato masala of around 2 potatoes . Perhaps the amount may seem less in proportion to the dosa ! Also , the menu has offered you the option to buy more filling for those who may prefer a larger quantity of stuffing . A Dosa is like a Crepe which is made on a hot griddle in either oil or clarified butter (ghee) . Sambar is lentils ,vegetables, tamarind & spices boiled in water & finally tempered in hot oil & spices . Regretfully , it's impossible to create an authentic Dosa , Sambar or even fry a Pappadum without a certain amount of oil . After the event , the student organisers & others had personally thanked us or gone on our Face Book page & acknowledged our efforts at trying to make their day a special one ! Some even apologised over what was felt (by them) to be a rather inaccurate feed back of the night . We can only ask you to try Maveli another time & let us do better .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

This new restaurant over a surprising and different cuisine from Southern India. The cooking is beautiful and the choices are different and lovely to try. Really top quality and very good value.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Alastair A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cherian2013, Owner at Maveli, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2014

Thank you for the encouraging words & for taking the time and effort to write about Maveli . It's been a pleasure having you here. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Maveli also viewed

Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 

Been to Maveli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing