We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“best restaurant ever”
Review of Gypsy Queen

Gypsy Queen
Ranked #866 of 1,434 Restaurants in Sheffield
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Groups, Bar Scene
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“best restaurant ever”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

cant say much only go and see for your self , food very good ,value very good, parking ample ,staff very friendly , kids play area which is well kept ,all in all 5**

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank emma s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    33
    24
    27
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
sheffield
Level Contributor
78 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Beautiful meal”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

we went as a family and has a variety of meals including a child meal and the food was beautiful, the staff were friendly the food came out quickly and piping hot and it was amazing value for money, my son and husband had the fish and chip special for 2 and the fish was like a whale

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mumtokandh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Not Bad”
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Visited here to meet friends. Local type pub chain pub, plenty of parking. There was only one lady working behind the bar and was clearly rushed off her feet. The food was fairly priced, I opted for the mini mixed grill which was a decent portion. The food was nice but obviously pre prepared as it arrived within 5 minutes of ordering. Overall worth a visit and we would visit again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank scottjames1uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level Contributor
90 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Really hit & miss”
Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

Visited here with five friends last week & we were all really impressed with the food. We ordered from the 2 for 8.49 (99?) Menu the cod & chips, sausages & mash which were delicious ample portions. Drinks & staff were lovely. Went again yesterday with another friend.. I ordered the fish & chips again & not only was it alot smaller but warm & not hot.

To be fair I did not complain & im sure they would have sorted it as I find the staff there to be really nice. One tiny detail is the size of mochas seems to vary, the board says they only do it in large yet ive been served it in a regular cup & charged for a large.. Small things but they do puzzle you.

I will definitely come here again it always seems to be busy & thats a good sign for me!

Helpful?
Thank April J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for”
Reviewed 11 February 2014 via mobile

We visited for dinner on a week night. There is a lot of variety but it seems like it is more tailored to 'how much can you eat' rather than how good it actually tastes.

We ordered burgers, same old pub burgers, nothing too bad, nothing great either but it was cheap.

We sat at the far back as there was a group of mothers drinking with there children in tow, on multiple occasions I heard them swear and scream at the children which was very disrespectful in a public place. They we're running riot. We were on a booth table and the children started to play behind us, banging on the back of our seats and shouting, no cares from the family. I understand that this is NOT the fault of the staff by they did see that we were not happy but did not react.

There should be some separation between family eating area and everyone else.

This is good for a cheap quick fix, nothing to rave about which is a shame.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank bernie_yorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gypsy Queen also viewed

Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Rotherham, South Yorkshire
 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 

Been to Gypsy Queen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing