We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grey haired woman”
Review of The Grind Cafe

The Grind Cafe
Ranked #59 of 1,675 Restaurants in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Been here a few times. Good consistently good and nice ambience. Nearly left without even ordering today though due to the surly, grey haired skinny waitress who's miserable face could've curdled the milk. I think if I saw her in there again I'd pass by and head to one of the other nearby eateries where a warm, friendly welcome would be waiting.

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank HMC1926
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (371)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 372 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were in the Kelham Island vicinity around breakfast time and we saw that The Grind was open and so popped in for a coffee and a bacon and a sausage sandwich - very good and absolutely enormous!! However, unlike tommS747VF, I did not get a watercress salad!! Always excellent at The Grind, fabulous-looking cakes, but not allowed!!

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank SheffieldPip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2018

The nicest cup of coffee in Sheffield, very nice hipster venue which seems very trendy at the moment

Date of visit: November 2018
1  Thank pennywalters2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2018

My daughter and I had breakfast here and loved everything about it. We both had the full English and the quality of ingredients was fantastic.

I highly recommend it.

Date of visit: December 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Faye B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2018 via mobile

Went I with family for a brunch. Had the sausage sandwich, which was served with watercress salad. I had nearly finished the meal, when I moved the watercress to find what looked like a giant beetle. Not usually one to make a fuss, but it really makes you question their hygiene practices.

Also when leaving, the handle of the door was covered in gravy and was crusty.

I have never been in that sort of situation and was very disappointed with the experience.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank tommS747VF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Grind Cafe also viewed

Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 

Been to The Grind Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing