We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ruined night out”
Review of The Rising Sun

The Rising Sun
Ranked #355 of 1,447 Restaurants in Sheffield
Price range: US$0 - US$10
Cuisines: British, Grill, Brew Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Visit The Rising Sun Hotel in Sheffield for authentic British cooking and real ales in a genuine local pub warmed by a cosy fire. Our pub-food menu features classic meals made with award-winning ingredients. Included are seasonal specials and buffet food for all occasions, and great value set menus too. You'll also find a hand-picked range of perfectly conditioned cask ales on tap, and a selection of fine wines from around the world. A true local in Sheffield, we're a great place to meet up with friends and swap stories. Take part in our weekly quiz, or just come to eat and relax in our stylish pub surroundings.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Ruined night out”
Reviewed 30 December 2013

A waste of a Christmas treat It was as though they had rested someone else`s leftovers on the table.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Catherine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    29
    21
    16
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Everything ordered at the bar”
Reviewed 16 December 2013

We were a party of ten, including 4 children and it was a busy Sunday lunchtime. Remember all the ordering has to be done at the bar and that was quite tedious. We waited a long time despite the fact we were all seated by 12.30. We weren't in a rush and we all had plenty to talk about but even so the wait was remarkably long. More staff needed at peak times? The food was wholesome, reasonable pub grub when it arrived. The atmosphere was good and the staff pleasant.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pammietennis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Would go again”
Reviewed 24 October 2013 via mobile

Starters of liver pate and goat cheese tart where lovely.
Burger after a bit dry and spare rips were ok! Didn't rate the chips at all! Overall food ok combined with nice beer and a lovely atmosphere!

Helpful?
1 Thank matdro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“On the downward slide”
Reviewed 16 September 2013 via mobile

I've been going to the Sun for several years and, regrettably I have to admit it is on the slide. I last ate there a few months ago and it was awful. Allegedly it was shredded pork but came in a cheap BBQ dressing which was cloying and totally overwhelmed the pork and everything else. I left half.

The pub itself is warm and welcoming with a good range of cask beers and friendly but it seems costs are being cut.

On Mondays there is generally a pub quiz which stimulates controversy and conversation. Once upon a time (last year!) it was standing room only yet last week the pub was barely quarter full. The first prize is 8 drink tokens which must be redeemed within the following two weeks. Fair enough, but which idiot decided that they could only be redeemed for a very limited number if drinks?? What is the point winning if you cannot pick your drink and all cask beers bar Tetley are excluded? This from a pub selling itself on cask beers!

Following the quiz the host used to prepare sandwiches which were served free to all customers. This is still done but what is served is generally egg in mayonnaise or cheese diluted in mayo. No wonder trade is dropping off! These economies obviously are impacting on trade. It is situated in a prosperous area where clients will pay for quality so come on get your act together and stop cheap skating!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Poppo59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
420 reviews
292 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
“Just like aunt Bessie makes”
Reviewed 28 July 2013 via mobile

Just had lunch 28 th July must say the worst Sunday lunch ever.
I had 2 roast dinner half a chicken and beef. Chicken not bad but the tiny portion of beef was awful and tuff. The 3 roast potatoes parsnips were aunt Bessie not sure about the Yorkshire pudding.
The peas few beans and carrots definitely frozen. My partner had Salmon fish cakes they were Ok.
Overall would not go again £21 with one drink not worth it.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chasweb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Rising Sun also viewed

Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 
Rotherham, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 

Been to The Rising Sun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing