We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Afternoon treat”
Review of The Rising Sun

The Rising Sun
Ranked #445 of 1,557 Restaurants in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$11
Cuisines: British, Grill, Brew Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Visit The Rising Sun Hotel in Sheffield for authentic British cooking and real ales in a genuine local pub warmed by a cosy fire. Our pub-food menu features classic meals made with award-winning ingredients. Included are seasonal specials and buffet food for all occasions, and great value set menus too. You'll also find a hand-picked range of perfectly conditioned cask ales on tap, and a selection of fine wines from around the world. A true local in Sheffield, we're a great place to meet up with friends and swap stories. Take part in our weekly quiz, or just come to eat and relax in our stylish pub surroundings.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We visited early evening and had the lasagna and the sea bass both of with were great, ample portions and great tasting. We shared a bottle of wine, pinot and was very reasonably priced. We fancied a pudding but we opted for the coffee and pudding, the lemon tart was perfect after our large meals.
We didn't feel rushed and was such a nice atmosphere to sit and relax. We do love it here. Keep up the good work.

Thank davidbell76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Rising Sun, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

David thank you for your kind review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (160)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 160 reviews

Reviewed 10 May 2018

I had the fish and chips. The fish was thin & grey with pale soggy batter. Really unappetising and inedible. It was swopped for the ‘roast’ chicken which arrived 5 mins later and looked as though it had been ‘steamed’ rather than ‘roasted’. The chicken skin was pale and soft and the chicken was very dry. The chips were like oven chips, served luke warm and definitely hadn’t seen the inside of a fryer.
There are some mixed reviews on here which makes me wonder if they have different chefs. Maybe we fell unlucky, but the food was extremely poor and I would definitely not return.

Thank Baking2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Rising Sun, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to review us (twice as Danzel2018 has already sent the same review) we are sorry you didn't enjoy your replacement meal and had you made us aware of this during our check back when you assured us everything was fine we would have tried to rectify this matter before you left, as explained on your friends review we are sorry your visit wasn't as you expected.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2018 via mobile

You couldn't find a more picturesque pub if you tried, typically English country pub. Quite a large beer garden which was quite busy we were eating so chose to sit inside although many chose to eat outside. The menu is quite extensive with something to suit everyone. We chose the salmon salad which I must say was perfection and fish and chips which was beautiful, the portions were large and we weren't left hungry. The ale and gins on offer kept us both very happy, I especially loved the elderflower gin as it's not one I've tried before. What was only meant to be a sick lunch and catch up turned into us staying for a number of hours as our visit was so relaxing. The staff were very helpful and brought that little extra to the place, you could tell they enjoyed being there (which is rare these days) we would highly recommend this place, great food & drinks at affordable prices.

Thank Intheknow81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Rising Sun, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your kind and honest review we love getting feedback especially when it's so positive, I'll be sure to pass this onto the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2018 via mobile

Visited yesterday, met up with a couple of friends for tea. Two of us ordered the fish and chips and after just on mouthful sent it straight back. Soggy batter and grey fish, absolutely disgusting. We reordered roast chicken which was not a great deal better to be honest. I expect the skin to be crispy but it was slimy. Salad looked ‘tired’ and presentation was really poor. If we had not paid up front we would have returned all the food and refused to pay. I took notice of other people’s food as well and there was not many plates with all the food eaten.
Very surprised at this establishment being so poor especially given it is in such a nice area of Sheffield.
We won’t be returning and the only recommendation I can give is ‘stay clear, give this one a wide berth ‘

Thank denzel2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Rising Sun, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

We are sorry your visit wasn't as you expected and for this we are very sorry, your meals were replaced and we checked back to make sure you were happy, you informed us at the time all was well and you were happy with the replacement, sorry again if this was not the case. We take all feedback seriously and will use this to feedback and learn from our mistakes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2018 via mobile

Came in for a family meal and the food and service was excellent! They have a great range of food to choose from and a good range for gluten free to! The drinks and food we all had were very high standard and good! The staff are all friendly and very helpful! Overall a really good visit and will be coming again!

Thank Suzie' C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Rising Sun, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2018

Suzie thank you for taking the time to review us I'll pass on your feedback to the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Rising Sun also viewed

Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 

Been to The Rising Sun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing