We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Summer Wedding”
Review of Whitley Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Whitley Hall Hotel
Ranked #2 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 July 2012

We held our wedding at Whitley Hall and we could not have dreamt of a more perfect day. We enjoyed every moment and this was mainly due to the professionalism of the staff, who made sure it all went smoothly. All our guests remarked on how beautiful the hotel is and how attentive the staff are. It helped that it was a beautiful summer's day and that the grounds are so well looked after even after two months of rain! The food was lovely, the service amazing and the accommodation beautiful. If only it could have lasted forever! Special thanks must go to Tom, who looked after us all day, and to all the staff who helped out with my mum's complicated allergies to make sure that she felt special all day too. If you are thinking of getting married here do not hesitate - it is truly an amazing experience!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rachel w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,057)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

901 - 907 of 1,057 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2012

Fantastic hotel on all scores, superb 'old fashioned' customer service. I have stayed here with my family, just my hubby & alone when visiting my daughter at Sheffield Hallam. Wad very happy & comfortable on all occasions. Gorgeous bedrooms, I especially like the ones in the old part, but all very fell equipped & sumptiously fitted out. Food brilliant from breakfast 2 dinner, also room service for the lone traveller! Their special offers are especially good value for money. I luv, luv, luv it, one of my favourite places.

Room Tip: Ambiance best in old part, but for a room with a view (over the garden & lake) pick the new part...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank no22s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2012

We stayed at the Whitley Hall after having booked on a dinner, bed and breakfast deal. We didn't know exactly where it was, but couldn't believe how close to Sheffield it was. This hotel could be anywhere. The gardens were spectacular with a pheasant floating around near the lake. There were two seperate weddings going on the night we were there, but you would never have believed it as there was no noise at all. The staff were so attentive throughout our visit, and the food was lovely. We found this a wonderful experience, and there is no doubt we will be back again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruskinboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

We recently married at Whitley hall, I could write forever about how good the venue and staff are but I ll try and keep it brief.
Wedding Planner Marie 6**
Staff overall 6 **
Venue 6**
Food 6**
Value for money 6**
I m sure you get the picture we cannot reccomend highly enough everything about Whitley.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike2248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2012

We stopped for one night as part of their romantic break, we didnt have to ask for anything everything was waiting for us in our room,port,champagne,ice etc. We found the staff to be very friendly and helpful. The only down side was that although the food was nice,the portions were small and i expected better quality from a hotel of that stature. I would stop again but, I wouldnt go to the restaurant just to eat there.

Room Tip: We had an end room,very very quiet. Four poster bed is nice but, very warm to sleep under-we took ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tuloulla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2012

We recently stayed for two nights at the Whitley Hall Hotel on "The Great Escape" package and were delighted that we chose to upgrade to a luxury room. On checking in we were allocated room 41 in the Parker wing which was a particularly spacious room overlooking the gardens and small lake. There was a bottle of pink sparkling wine ready chilled for us in our room and a small decanter of port. The room was spotlessly clean, extremely comfortable and tastefully decorated. The bar and restaurant are located within the original part of the building and are filled with amazing character. Our package included dinner and breakfast on both days and all four meals were absolutely outstanding! The menu choices were extensive and the attention to detail of the flavour and presentation was faultless. We found all of the staff to be very friendly and we would not hesitate to recommend Whitley Hall to anyone looking for a relaxing break in a luxury country house hotel. We are already planning our next visit!!

Room Tip: Any room in the Parker wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Queenshill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

My wifes 60th brirthday lunch with the family went perfectly in the middle of two big weddings at this venue. But the staff gave us fantastic service and the food was superb. The day was a success and this is the second time I've been here, for a family celebration, and it won't be the last. The only wish is that the bar stocks some good quality british beers. I'm always astonished that hotels capture wines from all over the world but can't organise a few bottles of excellent Yorkshire beer.
However, this is a pet issue and I bet the hotel will quickly respond to the idea. They certainly responded to our every need on Saturday. Top class and thanks.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smithowlsmanchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
4.9 mi away
Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel
5.5 mi away
Halifax Hall
Halifax Hall
#6 of 53 in Sheffield
770 reviews
1.4 mi away
Staindrop Lodge
Staindrop Lodge
#21 of 53 in Sheffield
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Sheffield
5.6 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
#10 of 53 in Sheffield
1,311 reviews
9.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Aston Hall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whitley Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whitley Hall Hotel

Address: Elliot Lane | Grenoside, Sheffield S35 8NR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sheffield
#1 Luxury Hotel in Sheffield
#3 Business Hotel in Sheffield
#6 Family Hotel in Sheffield
Price Range: £72 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Whitley Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whitley Hall is an ivy-clad 16th century mansion that provides an elegant and romantic setting for any occasion. Relax in this historic and fashionable hotel and enjoy the tranquil grounds of the surrounding estate. The hotel has recently benefitted from major refurbishment and offers extreme comfort throughout. The recently opened Parker wing offers rooms of the very highest standard, all of which have Juliet balconies and four deluxe bedrooms with lake views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, LateRooms and Cancelon so you can book your Whitley Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whitley Hall Sheffield
Hotel Whitley Hall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing