We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place for a wedding, great rooms and service”
Review of Whitley Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Whitley Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Went for a friends wedding a few days ago - appears to be the ideal place for this kind of event as the grounds are really nice and the whole place has a nice traditional feel to it, whilst also offering some very nice rooms. All the staff we encountered were friendly and gave great service, going the extra mile to make everything great rather than good (ie we arrived before breakfast officially started, but were greeted with "no problem - we'll plate you up a cooked breakfast to order as the buffet hasn't arrived yet", which was great compared to many places when you arrive early (or even on time).
Room was very nice - comfy beds, nice bathroom, good amount of complimentary bits and bobs. Breakfast was good with plenty of variety and the room appeared to have been ready from well before the official start time, which is always nice.
Would have no hesitation in recommending this as a wedding venue or somewhere to stay for a relaxing break.

Room Tip: We stayed in the new wing which was very nice and a way from the functions rooms, so was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Henri_36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,043)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

758 - 764 of 1,043 reviews

Reviewed 11 September 2013

I can understand what this hotel is trying to be and don't get me wrong, it is nice but it's too small to achieve what it sets out to do.
This results in the rooms being cramped with no opportunity to work at a desk and the beds have loads of cushions on which are great, until you take them off and then find that you have no floor space !
if it was physically 50% bigger it would get a 5.
I will stay there again if I am the area, but not if I have loads of work to do..

Room Tip: not rooms 20-22 ! very small
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Spaciecadet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013 via mobile

We booked picturesque Whitley over a year ago. Since that time wedding planners have changed. We have had nothing but hassle trying to organise our day..calls not returned, requests not met including rooms not booked for guests when we had supplied the names.on checking into Whitley the young girl on reception was nothing short of rude and unapproachable I since had 6 ppl from my wedding party complain to us regarding this young girls attitude.

We were also told originally that no other wedding would b on at the same time of ours. When we received a phone call asking us if we'd paid our £850 deposit (we had 4 months previous to this call) we were then told another wedding had been booked in the Parker suite. We were were ensured we would not see this wedding.
We very much saw this wedding an requested they close the gate that lead to the Whitley suite(the wedding party were watching us have our photos n shouting)

I had to remove all my own flowers the following day and my wedding cake was left out all night after they said they would preserve it. These items were removed whilst someone else's wedding was being prepared. I wasn't impressed.


Having a wedding here is special...but be sure to realise yours isn't special.,its like a conveyer belt of wedding chaos.

Alcoholic drinks are very expensive.

On the plus..
The food was exceptional, really beautiful and went down well with all who attended the wedding.
I was happy with our room.
The resident DJ was lovely.A lady called Ange was delightful, incredibly helpful, empathetic and a great communicator. If it wasn't for her this review would b worse I'm sure. The hotel is stunning , but the communicating between staff an PAYING customer leave a lot to be desired.










  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank L3blu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We stayed here for a family celebration and were taken aback at the beauty of Whitley Hall Hotel. Really impressed with the rooms in the old part of the hotel, and loved exploring the grounds. The service was good and the whole stay was very relaxing. Would definitely recommend, and hope to return.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alexandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

really terrible place to stay.paid £100 for a room for a friends wedding yesterday. staff were really rude, no hot water in bathrooms and no heating! my baby developed a cold over night. sneezed through the night. windows single glazed. tried giving her a warm bath to help her and found out to my dismay none!! staff were rely snotty and unapologetic, scrimped with their breakfast as well.I wonder how it would be in peak of summer as no air conditioning as well.
For that price you would expect top notch services.
Creaking floor boards, you can hear everything from downstairs and other rooms!!
I would never stay or recommend this hotel!!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Joethabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

On the 25/08/13 our daughter got married at this hotel. It was a wonderful experience for all family. friends who attended. The staff were very welcoming, to young and old alike and there really wasn't anything that they wouldn't do for you. The food was of good quality, (our daughter married an Italian Chef) and he didn't say that there was anything wrong, and he would have!!! The waiters were professional, asking if we would like anymore and noticing when your glass was empty, asking if wanted a top up. The evening do was just as good, couldn't fault the food again.in all it was a very good day. The thank you cards we have received since coming home proves my point. Plenty of space to park your car as well.

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking the lake, and could open both our windows into the room. Peacocks outside...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sandraward1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

The occasion was the christening party of our three grandsons, Alex-seven, Ben- five and Will, almost one year old.
The venue was the charming 16th century mansion, now Whitley Hall Hotel. Set in grounds of exceptional beauty, this is a wonderful place for weddings, parties or just a meal.
Our party was held in the Parker Room, which dates back to 1854, one of the smaller banqueting suites, but with plenty of room for a large party which ours was. The tables are circular and accommodate ten people each which makes for easy conversion, there is a good bar, perfect disabled access being on the ground floor and with convenient toilets. There are French doors leading to the gardens and the very pretty lake. A table was set with sweets and colouring books for the children and a large table held a plentiful and delicious hot buffet.
It was the perfect venue for any occasion, being comfortable, stylish and spacious. The main part of Whitley Hall Hotel where the restaurant is gives the same air of luxury and I believe the bedrooms are very special especially those with four poster beds!
A top venue in beautiful surroundings!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Monica D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sheffield
4.9 mi away
Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel
1.4 mi away
Staindrop Lodge
Staindrop Lodge
#21 of 53 in Sheffield
265 reviews
2.8 mi away
Tankersley Manor Hotel - QHotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Halifax Hall
Halifax Hall
#6 of 53 in Sheffield
765 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Garrison Hotel
The Garrison Hotel
#16 of 53 in Sheffield
465 reviews
9.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Aston Hall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whitley Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whitley Hall Hotel

Address: Elliot Lane | Grenoside, Sheffield S35 8NR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Sheffield
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sheffield
#3 Business Hotel in Sheffield
#6 Family Hotel in Sheffield
Price Range: £73 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Whitley Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whitley Hall is an ivy-clad 16th century mansion that provides an elegant and romantic setting for any occasion. Relax in this historic and fashionable hotel and enjoy the tranquil grounds of the surrounding estate. The hotel has recently benefitted from major refurbishment and offers extreme comfort throughout. The recently opened Parker wing offers rooms of the very highest standard, all of which have Juliet balconies and four deluxe bedrooms with lake views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Whitley Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whitley Hall Sheffield
Hotel Whitley Hall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing