We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“fantastic mini break” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Whitley Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Whitley Hall Hotel
Ranked #2 of 54 Hotels in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“fantastic mini break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013

We got married here so obviously have a bit of a connection, but we came for a 2 night break away from it all (very little phone reception so its a great escape :) )
Fantastic meals each night, great room.
Only criticism was the door was a little thin and let a bit of noise through, not problematical but a few extra quid when replacing doors wouldn't go amiss!!

Room Tip: new wing has the better rooms, older has more character. I dont think i would stay of there were fun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hopmonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

955 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    619
    211
    85
    25
    15
See reviews for
153
511
15
93
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013 via mobile

My husband arranged the 'romantic break offer' for our first wedding anniversary. He upgraded the package to a luxury room.
We arrived at 2:45 to be told we would have to wait 15 minutes because we had not paid for a early check in! (Would it have really made a difference to ask for our name and see if our room was ready?)
The rooms was lovely, set it a separate courtyard away from the busy corridors, although you could only get to it from the outside.
We were very happy with the room. Comfy large bed, separate shower and large bath.
The food was out of the world. We had a three course meal in the evening, although there wasn't lots of choice, I'm sure there was something for everyone the quality and flavours in everything was fantastic. The breakfast was also as good.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Zoe W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
52 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

I stayed here for two nights in September as part of a tour group and couldn't have been more charmed. While the original section of the hotel is very old (there also is a modern section), it has been beautifully updated without losing its historic character. The single drawback was low water pressure in the bathroom, which otherwise was very sleek and modern. My fellow travelers and I very much enjoyed the bar with its "Priest Hole," and the meals we had at the hotel -- breakfast and dinner each day we were there -- were very good. We ate as a group in a "special events" room, but the dining room was lovely, as were the grounds. If the weather had been warmer and less damp, sitting outside would have been lovely. And the staff couldn't have been more accommodating. Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Historybuff52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

Went for a friends wedding a few days ago - appears to be the ideal place for this kind of event as the grounds are really nice and the whole place has a nice traditional feel to it, whilst also offering some very nice rooms. All the staff we encountered were friendly and gave great service, going the extra mile to make everything great rather than good (ie we arrived before breakfast officially started, but were greeted with "no problem - we'll plate you up a cooked breakfast to order as the buffet hasn't arrived yet", which was great compared to many places when you arrive early (or even on time).
Room was very nice - comfy beds, nice bathroom, good amount of complimentary bits and bobs. Breakfast was good with plenty of variety and the room appeared to have been ready from well before the official start time, which is always nice.
Would have no hesitation in recommending this as a wedding venue or somewhere to stay for a relaxing break.

Room Tip: We stayed in the new wing which was very nice and a way from the functions rooms, so was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Henri_36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
147 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

I can understand what this hotel is trying to be and don't get me wrong, it is nice but it's too small to achieve what it sets out to do.
This results in the rooms being cramped with no opportunity to work at a desk and the beds have loads of cushions on which are great, until you take them off and then find that you have no floor space !
if it was physically 50% bigger it would get a 5.
I will stay there again if I am the area, but not if I have loads of work to do..

Room Tip: not rooms 20-22 ! very small
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Spaciecadet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013 via mobile

We booked picturesque Whitley over a year ago. Since that time wedding planners have changed. We have had nothing but hassle trying to organise our day..calls not returned, requests not met including rooms not booked for guests when we had supplied the names.on checking into Whitley the young girl on reception was nothing short of rude and unapproachable I since had 6 ppl from my wedding party complain to us regarding this young girls attitude.

We were also told originally that no other wedding would b on at the same time of ours. When we received a phone call asking us if we'd paid our £850 deposit (we had 4 months previous to this call) we were then told another wedding had been booked in the Parker suite. We were were ensured we would not see this wedding.
We very much saw this wedding an requested they close the gate that lead to the Whitley suite(the wedding party were watching us have our photos n shouting)

I had to remove all my own flowers the following day and my wedding cake was left out all night after they said they would preserve it. These items were removed whilst someone else's wedding was being prepared. I wasn't impressed.


Having a wedding here is special...but be sure to realise yours isn't special.,its like a conveyer belt of wedding chaos.

Alcoholic drinks are very expensive.

On the plus..
The food was exceptional, really beautiful and went down well with all who attended the wedding.
I was happy with our room.
The resident DJ was lovely.A lady called Ange was delightful, incredibly helpful, empathetic and a great communicator. If it wasn't for her this review would b worse I'm sure. The hotel is stunning , but the communicating between staff an PAYING customer leave a lot to be desired.










  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank L3blu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

We stayed here for a family celebration and were taken aback at the beauty of Whitley Hall Hotel. Really impressed with the rooms in the old part of the hotel, and loved exploring the grounds. The service was good and the whole stay was very relaxing. Would definitely recommend, and hope to return.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
4.8 mi away
Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel
5.5 mi away
Halifax Hall
Halifax Hall
#5 of 54 in Sheffield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
5.6 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Aston Hall Hotel
1.4 mi away
Staindrop Lodge
Staindrop Lodge
#19 of 54 in Sheffield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Sheffield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whitley Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whitley Hall Hotel

Property: Whitley Hall Hotel
Address: Elliot Lane | Grenoside, Sheffield S35 8NR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sheffield
#1 Luxury Hotel in Sheffield
#3 Business Hotel in Sheffield
#6 Family Hotel in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Whitley Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whitley Hall is an ivy-clad 16th century mansion that provides an elegant and romantic setting for any occasion. Relax in this historic and fashionable hotel and enjoy the tranquil grounds of the surrounding estate. The hotel has recently benefitted from major refurbishment and offers extreme comfort throughout. The recently opened Parker wing offers rooms of the very highest standard, all of which have Juliet balconies and four deluxe bedrooms with lake views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Whitley Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whitley Hall Sheffield
Hotel Whitley Hall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing