We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Whitley Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Whitley Hall Hotel
Ranked #2 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
YOKSHIRE UK
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel”
Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights for a wedding, room was lovely, big bathroom, spotlessly clean, grounds beautiful, staff helpful & friendly, fantastic views from all windows. Heating easy to use, water hot at all times. Evening meal was very nice as was breakfast. The only downside was the bar pricing. Drinks alcohol & non alcohol were extortionate, no two rounds were the same price although the rounds were exactly the same drinks. Just couldn't work out what was being charged for what, certainly made it an extra expense. We were fortunate that we paid as we drank, would recommend that you do NOT put your drinks on a room tab. would be interested in managements views on this!

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank lesley5929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

969 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    623
    218
    88
    25
    15
See reviews for
155
518
15
94
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Barnsley, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013 via mobile

This hotel is set in beautiful surroundings. The rooms are stunning and welcoming. My mum paid for me to stay there for the night with my partner for my 50th birthday. The package was of excellent value. The food is excellent, and the ambience is very relaxing. It is set in lovely grounds with very friendly staff.

Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dawn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jade R, Business Development Manager at Whitley Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review Whitley Hall Hotel - we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope that you'll come back and see us again soon

Happy New Year

Jade Ridley
Business Development Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2013 via mobile

Before I launch into my opinions of Whitley, ill start by introducing the package and prices we paid. We married on a Sunday in December 2013, we booked in January 2013 and for around 5k we had the ceremony, 3 course wedding breakfast for 52 adults and 6 children with welcome drinks, 2 glasses of wine and a glass of champagne, an evening reception with buffet for 100, a DJ, rooms for ourselves (with champagne) and both sets of parents, and a voucher for a free nights stay with restaurant meal. We thought this was excellent value for money.

The building and rooms themselves are stunning. They all reflect the era of the house and space is used well. Armchairs, sofas and log burning fires all add to the charm of the building and make it easy for guests to relax and feel comfortable. The grounds are spacious, with many different areas for photos and to explore, there is also a lake and 3 peacocks that roam around! The bedrooms are gorgeous, all our guests commented on how luxurious and comfortable they were, the old and the new buildings blend really well together and there is a high standard of decor throughout both buildings.

We had our wedding in the Whitley room which is the largest room they offer for weddings. The room is beautiful and we barely added any decorations as there were tasteful Christmas decorations everywhere! We didn't even hire chair covers as we loved the gold spindly backed chairs so much! There is a bar in the room and also another bar opposite reception which ensured guests weren't waiting ages for drinks, and could sit and chat wherever they felt comfortable.

The food was beautiful, and the chef so accommodating to a variety of diets (vegetarian, nut free, shellfish free, low fibre), nothing was too much trouble which made sure all our guests had good quality meals.

We had Anne as our master of ceremonies and she was fantastic. She ensured everyone knew where they should be and when and really took so much stress off. The day before the wedding we dropped off centre pieces and a sweet bar that needed assembling with a list of instructions - and were amazed to see everything in the room exactly how we wanted it. We were concerned that we may run into difficulties as we didn't hire any outside agencies to decorate the room, this however was not a problem and all the staff were happy to help.

All the staff were amazing. They couldn't do enough for us, we felt so special and looked after. The day after all our guests commented on how relaxed the wedding was and how at ease and comfortable they felt; this was all down to the staff at atmosphere they created, making sure everyone was happy and looked after whilst being so friendly and smiley.

Now the reason I haven't given 5 stars is because of the DJ. We used the DJ that Whitley Hall recommended and use for these occasions. Oh but he was rubbish! We emailed him specific songs we wanted for the first dance and father daughter dance, which was fine, and then a list of about 6 songs we would like playing, and about 20 bands to give him an idea of the music we like and the sort of songs we would like to hear. Although he emailed back saying that this was fine, on the night he barely played anything other than our first dances and 60's and 70's cheese. The last half an hour he squeezed some of the other songs we requested and a couple of bands, but by this point it just felt very rushed. So my advice would be if you did use this DJ, make sure you email him a very comprehensive list of what you want playing and when - making sure he plays the bands and songs you like first!

Overall the memories we have of Whitley Hall are amazing. We can't wait to go back and we would have our wedding there all over again if we could!

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Katy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013

My husband and I married at Whitley Hall on 13/12/13. I could wax lyrical how beautiful the venue is; stunning grounds, attentive staff, beautiful rooms. The service provided was outstanding. All of our guests commented on how lovely the hotel was. Having stayed there on the eve of the wedding, I knew that the food was of a good standard. We had 125 guests for the evening reception (maximum size) but it never felt cramped although the bar area was quite full following the ceremony (62 people). The bridal suite is stunning; I literally felt like a princess in the big four poster bed. I couldn't have wished for a more perfect day and it was a wonderful start for our life together. Thank you Whitley for giving us our dream day xxx

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sambucasista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

We visited on Saturday lunch time for a family Christmas lunch. It was quite busy with a wedding in full flow; however the staff were attentive, friendly and very efficient. The traditional Christmas lunch food really very good. We had a lovely time. Only one thing to note and that's the price of wine by the glass. £8 a glass is far too much and almost doubled the bill. Had I known I would have bought a bottle at the table.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Licqui2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jade R, Business Development Manager at Whitley Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review Whitley Hall - it's great to know that you enjoyed your family lunch. We have noted your comments regarding the cost of the drinks. We change our Let's Do Lunch Menus on a monthly basis and throughout January, February and March we will be offering double loyalty points - even better value!!

Wishing you a Happy New Year

Best wishes

Jade Ridley
Business Development Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northallerton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
273 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2013

Ate here with friends - lots of character,staff very helpful. Lounge area prior to dining rather cramped. Food average - nothing special but tasty enough. Soup course ok and melon ok. Main course of pork very nice but sea bream just pleasant. Vegetables ok but not inspiring - however parsnips with bacon/ ham wrapped around nice.
Desserts best part beautifully presented - mousse lovely and panacotta delightful.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diamond280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Spent a weekday night here on business and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. The hotel is an old hall with bags of character. All the staff were charming and helpful, the room comfortable and dinner experience was also very good. There was a modest selection of original dishes on the menu which to me suggested they were fresh and they certainly tasted that way. Good friendly service over dinner which helps a lot when travelling solo on business. The dining-room is a really nice period room that had been tastefully decorated for Christmas which made a great yuletide feel. I can imagine that staying while a wedding was on could be a bit a challenge but I have no complaints and would highly recommend this hotel if you are in the area.

Room Tip: Rooms on the rear of the building probably have a nicer aspect and woiuld be quieter than those on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sheffield
5.5 mi away
Halifax Hall
Halifax Hall
#5 of 53 in Sheffield
691 reviews
4.9 mi away
Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel
1.4 mi away
Staindrop Lodge
Staindrop Lodge
#19 of 53 in Sheffield
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Aston Hall Hotel
5.6 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
2.8 mi away
Tankersley Manor Hotel - QHotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whitley Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whitley Hall Hotel

Property: Whitley Hall Hotel
Address: Elliot Lane | Grenoside, Sheffield S35 8NR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Sheffield
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sheffield
#3 Business Hotel in Sheffield
#6 Family Hotel in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Whitley Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whitley Hall is an ivy-clad 16th century mansion that provides an elegant and romantic setting for any occasion. Relax in this historic and fashionable hotel and enjoy the tranquil grounds of the surrounding estate. The hotel has recently benefitted from major refurbishment and offers extreme comfort throughout. The recently opened Parker wing offers rooms of the very highest standard, all of which have Juliet balconies and four deluxe bedrooms with lake views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Whitley Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whitley Hall Sheffield
Hotel Whitley Hall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing