We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hopefully a one off but quite disappointing, "Its lost that special feeling"”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Whitley Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Whitley Hall Hotel
Ranked #2 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Hopefully a one off but quite disappointing, "Its lost that special feeling"”
Reviewed 21 January 2014

I have been staying at Whitley hall around 5 to 8 times a year since being taken here 35 years ago for my 21st birthday.
The evening started well, great room as usual pleasant welcome.
The maître d took our order in the bar including drinks, the drinks never arrived, so i went to the bar and ordered our own, no problem other than his memory was good enough to add the invisible drinks to the bill.
The usual model has been normal quests eat in the main restaurant and the wedding guests are in the annexe, we ended up in the annexe on the wobbly chairs, the food was still good but the service and attention was sparse.
Sunday breakfast back in the annexe with one wedding party and the other wedding in the attractive dining room, never mind we were looking forward to out breakfast menu and choice. we were told as it was busy all guests were getting buffet breakfast, the breakfast wasn't bad for a Ibis of Holiday Inn!
we had already booked for Feb and we will see if its the same as January it will be our last stay as we can go to holiday inn several times for a £160 one night at Whitley hall

Room Tip: The rooms are all pretty good
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 19571964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jade R, Business Development Manager at Whitley Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Thank-you for taking the time to review Whitley Hall Hotel, we are however disappointed and confused at some of your comments.

Firstly, we’d like to take the opportunity to apologise for the mix-up with your drinks order, it was our error.

We have checked the date of your stay and are a little confused to learn that we did not have any Weddings on the day, although you state that your stay was disturbed by a two Wedding parties.

Part of the “annexe” that you refer to dates back to 1554 and is certainly an integral part of the property. We use this room as a restaurant, private function room and breakfast room. On the morning of your stay we operated a served buffet breakfast, this is well received however we are sorry that you feel that this did not live up to your previous experiences.

Please telephone me at your earliest convenience to discuss any concerns you may have in order to help ensure your February visit meets with your expectations.

Kind regards

Jade Ridley
Business Development Manager
Telephone: 0114 2454444
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

969 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    623
    218
    88
    25
    15
See reviews for
155
518
15
94
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

My wife and I have very fond memories associated with this hotel. It was the first place we stayed together when we met, It was the place place we came for a short break after our wedding
All in all we have been to this hotel six seven times over the years. We have sat out in the beautiful garden in the summer and in the stately lounge in the winter next to the log fire.

This time our visit was different though, we were so disappointed with our stay, we have gone away thinking that we don't wish to return again. Its not that the place was bad, it was just so much below what we have been used to

First we had booked reserving a specific room, On arrival we were given a different room. This in its self wasn't a problem, but we had not received any communication in the month prior to our stay saying this room was not available
Secondly we ordered sandwiches in the bar. These were cheese and piccalilli on the menu. My wife stated that as she didn't like piccalilli and could she have an alternative chutney or pickle. She was told, that they only did piccalilli.As a result my wife had plain cheese.Half an hour later a couple was served by another staff member who took an order for cheese and chutney with was brought to them.
Thirdly. The food here seems to takien a turn for the worse, I had some lovely scallops and squid, drowned in a sauce, what a shame. The chicken three ways was pretty well inedible, A chicken wing , which was alright, a soggy piece of pan fried chicken and a piece of pate with nothing to spread it on, all served with a potato rosti, that was so overcook it was solid
Finally on check out we were billed for wine we hadn't been given and charged £75.00 that we had previously paid on booking.

All these things may seem petty, but it mare our visit. This is well below what we are used to here.

Room Tip: Rooms are nice, clean and well stocked. Rooms at the front of the hotel are more noisy than toughs a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

We stayed overnight at the hotel. From first arriving the receptionists were polite and informative. The room was WOW WOW WOW. We had evening meal which was nothing short of excellent with impeccable service from all.
Breakfast was amazing.
Well worth a visit. Am goin to book again and again.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrsspencer11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jade R, Business Development Manager at Whitley Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Thank-you for taking the time to write such a great review. We are delighted that you had such a wonderful stay and are excited to welcome you back to Whitley Hall Hotel in the near future. Our Platinum Club offers lots of additional benefits to repeat visitors.......you can join via our website if you haven't already!

Best wishes

Jade Ridley
Business Development Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

we have stayed at this lovely hotel many times on a romantic break it is a beautiful place in a great location we will certainly return again. it would be nice to have a walk in the woods that ajoin the hotel

Room Tip: we prefer the rooms in the new section
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wrinkley2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barton-upon-Humber, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
183 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 233 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Third stay at this hotel on the romantic break package. I had requested an upper floor room and we were allocated room 5 in the main hotel rather than the new extension. Room was full of character and beautifully decorated, a bit cold when we arrived due to the old window but it soon warmed up once we turned the rads up! A double rather than kingsize bed but it was comfy. A few house keeping issues - dusty tissue dispenser in the bathroom, lid of the box containing tea/coffee etc had been used as a waste holder for tea bags by a previous guest and not cleaned and the outside of the toilet pedestal needed a proper clean.
After our pink fizz (included in this package) we went down for dinner and that was the highlight. All the food was well presented and very good. We both had steak and it was cooked perfectly. A bottle of house red was £21 which we thought reasonable for a hotel. Breakfast was also high quality and our night away was most enjoyable.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mauritiusbride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jade R, Business Development Manager at Whitley Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Thank-you for taking the time to review Whitley Hall Hotel.

We are really glad that you enjoyed your fizz and food although a little disappointed to read your housekeeping comments. We have addressed this with the team and you have every assurance that this was an oversight that won;t happen again.

We hope to welcome you back to Whitley Hall again in the near future

Best wishes

Jade Ridley
Business Development Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Stayed for a one night romantic break.
all the staff were very friendly and welcoming. Evening meal was excellent. Great deluxe room. Fantastic breakfast
great value deal, nothing to fault

Will certainly return.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jon131065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level Contributor
111 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

I am writing another review fro Whitley Hall Hotel. we have been for a Christmas party and overnight stay. This was Friday before Christmas. The hotel looked amazing just ;like a Christmas card.We checked in late afternoon and had a glass of bubbly with our friends.We took our own bubbly and the hotel supplied us with an ice bucket. We went to dinner. The food. was lovely and nicely served.There was then a disco. Not over loud and crowded. We then stayed over night. Good breakfast the next morning.Everything was great. Thank you to all the staff at Whitley Hall for making this a great party.We will be seeing you next week if not before.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jade R, Business Development Manager at Whitley Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review us! We are so glad that you enjoyed your party here at Whitley Hall, we really love spreading the Christmas cheer and it's great to know that we did it so well. We have lots of lovely Christmassy events already planned for 2014 and we hope to welcome you back once again.

In the meantime keep an eye on our Facebook and Twitter pages for all our latest news and events.

Wishing you a very Happy New Year

Jade Ridley
Business Development Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sheffield
5.5 mi away
Halifax Hall
Halifax Hall
#5 of 53 in Sheffield
691 reviews
4.9 mi away
Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel
1.4 mi away
Staindrop Lodge
Staindrop Lodge
#19 of 53 in Sheffield
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Aston Hall Hotel
5.6 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
2.8 mi away
Tankersley Manor Hotel - QHotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whitley Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whitley Hall Hotel

Property: Whitley Hall Hotel
Address: Elliot Lane | Grenoside, Sheffield S35 8NR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Sheffield
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sheffield
#3 Business Hotel in Sheffield
#6 Family Hotel in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Whitley Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whitley Hall is an ivy-clad 16th century mansion that provides an elegant and romantic setting for any occasion. Relax in this historic and fashionable hotel and enjoy the tranquil grounds of the surrounding estate. The hotel has recently benefitted from major refurbishment and offers extreme comfort throughout. The recently opened Parker wing offers rooms of the very highest standard, all of which have Juliet balconies and four deluxe bedrooms with lake views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Whitley Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whitley Hall Sheffield
Hotel Whitley Hall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing