We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Fabulous gardens, shame about the food"”
Review of Whitley Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Whitley Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Have just returned from a stay a Whitley Hall Hotel, feeling very disappointed.
On booking over the phone, we were assured that our ‘de-luxe’ room would have a lake view. It did not, but instead overlooked the car park. Not a great start, though the room itself was perfectly fine and well-equipped, if a little cluttered.
Our main disappointment was the food, of which we’d expected great things. My starter was a dreary solid lump of cold goats’ cheese, over-filled with pink peppercorns. The main course of beef fillet was delicious, but comprised three thin 50p-sized discs of meat accompanied by just two Brussels sprouts. I’m not a big eater but even for me this was insubstantial to say the least. Side dishes were brought and we anticipated the ‘missing’ vegetables only to get a potato gratin…
It is such a shame that this attractive, characterful building, with its lovely gardens, managed to so under-deliver.
The staff tried to address some of our our concerns but came across as over-busy and rules-bound.
I would have preferred to make the above comments direct to the hotel management via a customer feedback form but there was nothing like this in the guest rooms.
We will not be returning.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
6  Thank MayDupname
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jade R, Business Development Manager at Whitley Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Thank-you for taking the time to review Whitley Hall Hotel. We are of course very disappointed to read of your experience whilst staying with us.

All of our bedrooms contain a customer feedback form as well as a personal greeting card from our General Manager, Angela Tunnard, who was present the morning of your departure. It is normal practice to send an electronic feedback form to residents following check-out however our survey provider had technical difficulties that weekend. We apologise for this.

We are saddened to read that you were dissatisfied with your evening meal. We served a five course meal in addition to pre-dinner canapés, and with this in mind our portions sizes were adjusted accordingly, we are sorry that you feel that they were insufficient.

Staff at Whitley Hall Hotel are encouraged to make decisions, relying on the duty manager, who is available 24 hours a day. for support when required. On your arrival we offered an early check in to a member of your party, on a complimentary basis. This normally incurs a charge of £30. We made this gesture in goodwill and believe that this shows that our staff are not rule bound.

We are sorry that you feel that you did not get the chance to express your concerns to a member of the management team during your stay, however when asked how your stay had been by our Head Receptionist during check-out you did not raise any grievance. At this point we would have welcomed the opportunity to discuss your visit.

We are really disappointed to receive reviews such as this and the similar review that another member of your party have posted - we hope that we have the opportunity to discuss this further with you and to welcome you back to Whitley Hall Hotel in the future to show you what we are really about.

Kind regards

Jade Ridley
Business Development Manager
Whitley Hall Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,048)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

721 - 727 of 1,048 reviews

Reviewed 18 February 2014

Beautiful hotel, lovely rooms, freshly cooked breakfast,delicious evening meal - every member of staff attentive, friendly and helpful - nothing ever too much for them, Brilliant! Will definitely return.

Room Tip: We stayed in a room in the original building-lovely view over the courtyard. My parents stayed in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Went to this hotel with my husband for a valentines night. Food was gorgeous, room lovely, very clean, staff very polite and courteous and couldn't do enough for us. Would definitely go back again. Little bit overpriced but was expected. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leisa30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Stayed with friends had a lovely room decorated so nice, number 9 I think! In the old part of hotel up stairs. All the staff were good. The evening meal was to a high standard and dessert fabulous. A good nights sleep and good breakfast at a great price. Our friends had been for afternoon tea and said it was great. I've also been to a live entertainment night and that was great value for money. Easy parking private and safe.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janekd39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

My partner and I booked to look around this venue as a possible venue for our wedding reception. From the little we saw of it the building looks lovely but the staff we saw and especially the wedding coordinator we're rude and incredibly unhelpful. We had arranged an appointment at 1.30 with Marie the wedding coordinator, after waiting 10 minutes at reception and another 20 minutes in the seated area next door, we were eventually told that Marie had cancelled our appointment and that she had left us a message to tell us the day before. We obviously didn't get the message and I appreciate that this sometimes happens but it was the total lack of any form of apology for our wasted time that I cannot accept.
Our appointment was cancelled due to a function and apparently a message was left the afternoon before to let us know, although when we got there Marie was already meeting with another couple to finalise their wedding booking so it appears that she had double booked herself so cancelled our look around.
To be honest this was probably a blessing in disguise as I would have hated to fall in love with the place and then have to deal with unfriendly staff and poor customer service on our big day.
I have written this as a warning for anyone looking to book this venue, in my opinion a good relationship with your wedding coordinator is essential and from my experience I know this would not have been the case at Whitley hall.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
2  Thank Katie_uk82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jade R, Business Development Manager at Whitley Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

Thank-you for taking the time to review Whitley Hall Hotel.

We are naturally very disappointed to read your comments. We pride ourselves on our customer service and friendly approach, this is a compliment our staff regularly receive via our TripAdvisor reviews.

After speaking to our wedding co-ordinator and duty manager on the day it’s apparent that Marie’s appointment was not double booked, you were in fact scheduled to see another Wedding Co-ordinator. A telephone message was left for you the previous day advising you that a late booking had been taken, and not wanting you to be disappointed when not able to view our facilities in full, we asked that you would call us to re-schedule the appointment. It seems that you did not receive the message.

We do apologise for your experience and would assure you and other potential wedding bookings that Whitley Hall is a beautiful hotel with staff that are passionate in ensuring that every person visiting us whatever their reason feels welcomed and important.

Once again we thank you for your feedback and wish you good luck with your Wedding plans.

Kind regards

Jade Ridley
Business Development Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

My husband and I returned for a long weekend stay following an enjoyable one night stay at Whitley Hall a few years ago. We have always struggled to get into the hotel at weekends due to its popularity for weddings throughout the year but took advantage of one of the rare weekends when it wasn't hosting a wedding and found a good deal of 2 nights DB&B for £220. Whitley Hall is in a gorgeous countryside location just outside Chapeltown on the edge of the Peak District. Its great at any time of year, but would be lovely in the summer if we are ever lucky enough to stay in the warmer months.

We were kindly allocated our favorite room (41) in advance following a prior request to reception and were happy to see that nothing had changed about the room since our last visit. The furnishings were still in great condition and all perfectly set out-from the striped fabric covered tissue box and matching cushions and upholstered furnishings to the luxurious Egyptian cotton bedding and decanter of complimentary port and a bottle of pink fizz in our room each day-complete with glasses and an ice bucket. The bathroom was a little dusty in places but that's only a minor quibble.The Juliet balcony doors in place of a window opened up onto the beautiful gardens beneath us and roaming peacocks, coots and a pair of ducks on the pond.

Dinner was lovely-Saturday evening the menu had plenty of choice and the salted caramel and pecan dessert was to die for! Prosecco overpriced but expected in a hotel. Sunday evening the menu appeared to be an extension of Sunday Lunch with not as much choice and I believe may have been served by another chef as the salted caramel and pecan dessert was different and served warm this time.

The only quibble I have about the food is the breakfasts. On our departure day (Monday) the breakfast was well served, cooked to order and there was plenty of choice available on the cold buffet. Staff were a little stingy with the hot drinks (I was brought a pot of tea with only one teabag and one third full with water...!) and we had to ask for toast 3 times but otherwise a vast improvement on breakfast served on the Sunday morning, which was highly disappointing for a hotel of this calibre. The cold buffet was minimal-3 pieces of ham and few pieces of cheese, natural yogurt, a few cereals and juice and a bit of fruit but where were the breads, pastries and muffins that usually make up the elements of a continental breakfast at a hotel? Disappointingly, the cooked breakfast items had to be served by a member of staff, whom guests had to wait for. Once served the choice was minimal: Bacon rashers, tomato, fried egg (no choice of scrambled/poached/boiled), sausage and mushrooms. As I don't eat bacon or fried eggs I was left with very little to eat on this particular morning and it wasn't as if I could make up for it with something from the scant cold buffet either.

Although we are aware that the hotel is exceptionally busy at weekends it would make perfect sense to adopt the same method at breakfast as they do throughout the week (Mon-Fri) or at least stock the cold buffet items better as the staff served cooked breakfast items clearly doesn't work at busier weekends and I feel the hotel may have this the wrong way around. Chances are guests having breakfast through the week are business guests who simply want to 'grab and go' and don't always have time to wait for cooked to order breakfasts, so the method used at weekends would probably work better Monday to Friday in my opinion. Weekend break guests in my opinion want to relax and linger over breakfast, and as it is served early (until 9.30am only) are in no particular rush and want quality.

Overall a good relaxing break and we would certainly stay again, but please Whitley Hall-take into account what I have written on the customer comment card and improve breakfasts at weekends. Guests will thank you for making a vast improvement on what I feel is one of the most enjoyable elements of a hotel break.

Room Tip: Rooms in the new wing have Juliet balconies rather than windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

We regularly visit Whitley Hall, we got engaged and married here and it holds lots of lovely memories. The setting is idyllic and so very peaceful and the hotel is beautifully kept. The bar is expensive but is on par with town (Sheffield) prices and has a warm comfy feel. The restaurant and the food is great, lovely ambience especially when the pianist is in situ. My one little niggle following our recent visit was poor customer service. On arrival receptionists didn't really know what she was doing, didn't take any dinner reservations and inform us what time they serve breakfast, etc. This didn't bother us too much as we have stayed before but when my husband rang to ask to make a dinner reservation this had already been done ! Good job we checked otherwise we would have missed it ! (we did change it from 8pm to 8.30pm. On arrival in the bar we sat down, had a pleasant pre dinner drink, observed the young waiter taking orders from other couples, showing them wine lists, etc. Approximately 20 minutes after we had arrived he finally came over to offer us the menu and wine list. We waited again, our 8.30pm reservation passed, we then decided to go straight to the restaurant to be promptly told by the waiter that we had to wait in the bar, he would come and take our food and drink order and then we would then be escorted into the restaurant when everything was ready. I pointed out that our reservation was for 8.30 and we had been waiting a good half hour in the bar for him to undertake the above, his response was that they were busy ! No apology, took our food order and we sat back down again ! I really do think that customer service needs improving in this lovely hotel as it is a true gem and I hope to continue visiting for many years to come.

Room Tip: try to book a room in the old part of the hotel, it has such a lot of character. The new part has i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dalton2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sheffield
4.9 mi away
Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel
1.4 mi away
Staindrop Lodge
Staindrop Lodge
#21 of 53 in Sheffield
266 reviews
5.5 mi away
Halifax Hall
Halifax Hall
#6 of 53 in Sheffield
765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Tankersley Manor Hotel - QHotels
9.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Aston Hall Hotel
4.5 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Sheffield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whitley Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whitley Hall Hotel

Address: Elliot Lane | Grenoside, Sheffield S35 8NR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sheffield
#1 Luxury Hotel in Sheffield
#3 Business Hotel in Sheffield
#6 Family Hotel in Sheffield
Price Range: £74 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Whitley Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whitley Hall is an ivy-clad 16th century mansion that provides an elegant and romantic setting for any occasion. Relax in this historic and fashionable hotel and enjoy the tranquil grounds of the surrounding estate. The hotel has recently benefitted from major refurbishment and offers extreme comfort throughout. The recently opened Parker wing offers rooms of the very highest standard, all of which have Juliet balconies and four deluxe bedrooms with lake views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Whitley Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whitley Hall Sheffield
Hotel Whitley Hall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing