We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel and grounds”
Review of Whitley Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Whitley Hall Hotel
Ranked #2 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel and grounds”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

My son and daughter had their wedding reception at Whitley Hall. The bars are a little small for a lot of people but if the weather is good you can go outside into the beautiful gardens, complete with peacocks (and hens). The food at the reception was excellent, and the breakfast was good, although I prefer self-service to being served at the buffet.

Our room was fantastic - the only downside is if you have difficulty with mobility the upstairs isn't particularly accessible.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TimF13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

982 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    631
    222
    88
    26
    15
See reviews for
158
525
16
95
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

we were invited as a guest to a wedding held at the hall, the wedding , reception and evening all being held there, the hall itself is nice, and the surrounding gardens beautiful, but to say that the hall caters for weddings is a joke.
I believe that guests to the party all left sober. £4-40 a pint of beer and £6-00 plus for a glass of wine is extortionate pricing. I am a true Yorkshireman and I know you would be better going to the pubs in ecclesfield then going to the hall later on.
nice place but be prepared for rip-off bar prices. London -yes, but this is yorkshire, ecclesfield.
Whitley Hall Hotel- even Dick Turpin wore a mask

Room Tip: choose a good room, because you will spend a lot of time in it, judging by the bar prices
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Harvey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We have used Whitley hall many times over the years, in January it was a real disappointment( reviewed it at the time)
That was obviously a blip and service was pretty much back to normal, the buffet breakfast is a let down and being charged an extra £12 to select a breakfast befitting the location is not ideal.
However location, ambience , room and evening meal were all superb. The venue is obviously popular as a wedding venue and a weekend stay as a romantic break can be marred by it's increasing popularity. For weddings.
I would stay if you are visiting as a couple try to avoid Friday and Saturday night, if you can be in the garden quietly with peacocks for a pre dinner drink and pay extra for breakfast choice delivered to you table you should have a great time. Ask for a room in the original house with a bath and a table in the original restaurant

Room Tip: Room in the original house with a bath, table in the original restaurant, the bar is nice in the win...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 19571964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

We were married here 13 years ago and this place has lost none if it's charm or quality. Beautiful room with lovely attention to detail. New additions to the building have not compromised the original 17th century building. Excellent silver service breakfast and helpful staff. Fully recommended.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Emfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

We have stayed at this hotel for many years, before and after the renovations, it mainly caters for weddings so book well in advance and stay in the new part if you want a peaceful nights sleep because the main houses the wedding guests and they generally take all the rooms. Breakfast is lovely albeit can be a tad noisy from the wedding guests. The staff are very helpful and polite. The only negative is that you cannot get breakfast in your room which would be better for non wedding guests who prefer a later breakfast which finishers at 9.30 could be a little later in finishing when you work hard a sleep in is a luxury. All in all a great place to stay for a few days.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank freddyfigaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Fabulous location, exceptional service, exquisite room. I can be a fussy traveller but really struggle to find anything I didn't like about this hotel. The silver service breakfast is superb, the gardens are lovely and seeing the peacocks walking around the place was lovely. 16th century country hall at its best.

Room Tip: We had room (suite) 19 n the original building and it was wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emscooby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london, england
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

My son and his fiancé held their wedding there on Monday and I have to say they couldn't have chosen a more perfect setting. Hotel was beautiful, our room was gorgeous, many of the guests said the same about their rooms, the food was of a very high standard, quality and plentiful and we found that the staff were lovely and couldn't do enough for us.

There was the problem of not having any hot water the morning after the wedding (to be fair they did sort it out).

One thing I do have to mention, if you stay here and you like a drink, make sure you have extremely deep pockets because the bar prices are extremely expensive, but apart from that it was a lovely experience and a fantastic wedding day.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank phatgurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sheffield
5.5 mi away
Halifax Hall
Halifax Hall
#5 of 53 in Sheffield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
4.9 mi away
Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel
1.4 mi away
Staindrop Lodge
Staindrop Lodge
#20 of 53 in Sheffield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Aston Hall Hotel
5.6 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
2.8 mi away
Tankersley Manor Hotel - QHotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whitley Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whitley Hall Hotel

Property: Whitley Hall Hotel
Address: Elliot Lane | Grenoside, Sheffield S35 8NR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sheffield
#1 Luxury Hotel in Sheffield
#3 Business Hotel in Sheffield
#6 Family Hotel in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Whitley Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whitley Hall is an ivy-clad 16th century mansion that provides an elegant and romantic setting for any occasion. Relax in this historic and fashionable hotel and enjoy the tranquil grounds of the surrounding estate. The hotel has recently benefitted from major refurbishment and offers extreme comfort throughout. The recently opened Parker wing offers rooms of the very highest standard, all of which have Juliet balconies and four deluxe bedrooms with lake views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Whitley Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whitley Hall Sheffield
Hotel Whitley Hall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing