We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable Stay”
Review of Whitley Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Whitley Hall Hotel
Ranked #2 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 May 2014

My sister and I stayed for one night, very enjoyable. The bedroom had everything you need and very comfortable. The weather was glorious, we were able to sit outside in the lovely garden and share a bottle of bubbly. Breakfast was good and the staff were very friendly. The only disappointment for us was the evening meal, not up to 4 star standard.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JTM700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,057)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

705 - 711 of 1,057 reviews

Reviewed 18 May 2014

We stayed at Whitley Hall to celebrate a family member's birthday (I won't say how old the lady in question was!) The hotel itself is a wonderful mix of old and modern which has been done in a really tasteful way. There's ample parking and the grounds are beautifully kept with two small lakes and a peacock with a true sense of the dramatic. Our room was in the modern part of the hotel and situated on the ground floor overlooking one of the lakes. The room was great, see picture below, and as well as tea/coffee we also were given a small carafe of port! The bed was very comfortable and a plus was the iron and ironing board provided along with all the usual facilities. The hotel staff were friendly, welcoming and efficient and as well as enjoying a hot buffet at the birthday celebration, we also enjoyed lunch choosing the, "Let's do lunch", menu which was super (see dessert below) and included a glass of bubbly! The inclusive breakfast was excellent and the dining room is a very pleasant place to eat with views out onto the grounds. We'd certainly stay here again and would recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: Ask for a room looking out over the grounds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PandFB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Ate here for a birthday celebration and was pleasantly surprised by the building. Full of character and lots of little nooks and crannies that made it feel very historic. The grounds were also very well presented with a nice pond out of the back.

The food was absolutely delicious. I began with the risotto which I think is the tastiest starter I have ever eaten, followed by the sirloin steak. The variety of breads was also a nice touch with different infusions in the flavour. Staff very attentive and the dining hall was immaculate.

I would highly recommend for a Dinner treat.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We stayed on Sunday night to celebrate my husbands birthday. The hotel and grounds are beautiful and we got the room I requested which made me very happy. The room was lovely and the bathroom very clean. We had a problem with the hot water which was swiftly sorted out and the duty manager was brilliant and very apologetic but it wasn't much of a problem. The afternoon tea was beautiful, we took it in the lounge which was very relaxed and informal. There was a wedding on and the staff were very busy but professional at all times. The evening meal was nothing spectacular but very nice. We had the set menu which was part of the d,b & b the desserts did not offer much choice but I was quite full after lunch and the first two courses so this wasn't a massive problem. However, the breakfast in the morning was superb and ended our stay on a good note. The reception staff and management really stood out at Whitley hall, I would definitely recommend staying here for a relaxing grown up evening.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CLP38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 2nights to attend a wedding at the hotel. Wedding was perfect, food was great. Could not fault the food/bar or hotel grounds. Room was quite small, so struggled a bit with getting ready for the wedding. Bathroom more spacious, and very modern. Walls were a bit thin as could hear people in the corridors when trying to sleep. However, all minor problems in an overall great stay.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank hayless1508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

We held our wedding reception here in the Whitley Suite on 12th April 2014 - the whole event was faultless from start to finish. Special thanks to Marie for helping us plan our day and to James who ensured that everything went according to plan. The food was delicious, including the evening buffet and breakfast the next morning. The grounds were beautiful as always and all our guests enjoyed every minute. Thank you Whitley Hall for making our wedding a day to remember for all the right reasons :-) we're looking forward to our complimentary anniversary stay x

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Donna O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

My son and daughter had their wedding reception at Whitley Hall. The bars are a little small for a lot of people but if the weather is good you can go outside into the beautiful gardens, complete with peacocks (and hens). The food at the reception was excellent, and the breakfast was good, although I prefer self-service to being served at the buffet.

Our room was fantastic - the only downside is if you have difficulty with mobility the upstairs isn't particularly accessible.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TimF13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
4.9 mi away
Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel
5.5 mi away
Halifax Hall
Halifax Hall
#6 of 53 in Sheffield
770 reviews
1.4 mi away
Staindrop Lodge
Staindrop Lodge
#21 of 53 in Sheffield
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Sheffield
5.6 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
#10 of 53 in Sheffield
1,312 reviews
9.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Aston Hall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whitley Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whitley Hall Hotel

Address: Elliot Lane | Grenoside, Sheffield S35 8NR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Sheffield
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sheffield
#3 Business Hotel in Sheffield
#6 Family Hotel in Sheffield
Price Range: £72 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Whitley Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whitley Hall is an ivy-clad 16th century mansion that provides an elegant and romantic setting for any occasion. Relax in this historic and fashionable hotel and enjoy the tranquil grounds of the surrounding estate. The hotel has recently benefitted from major refurbishment and offers extreme comfort throughout. The recently opened Parker wing offers rooms of the very highest standard, all of which have Juliet balconies and four deluxe bedrooms with lake views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Ebookers, LateRooms and Cancelon so you can book your Whitley Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whitley Hall Sheffield
Hotel Whitley Hall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing