We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice short break with friends”
Review of Whitley Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Whitley Hall Hotel
Ranked #2 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds
Level Contributor
63 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Very nice short break with friends”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We only stayed one night and met up with friends. The service and food were excellent. We wish the weather had been better to explore the grounds. My only gripe would be the heaviness of the duvets, they were awful!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jillip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

992 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    637
    223
    91
    26
    15
See reviews for
160
532
16
95
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Colne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Booked two nights, pre wedding of relations and the day itself, First impression on arrival left much to be desired, the receptionist kept pressure on our decision if dinning or not, even after we told her we would let her know, after we had settled in, No offer to help with luggage to our room, though it was the end of a May it was cold,no heating on in our room, even after turning the control up on entering our room, Room dark a small, but the decoration must have been dark to fall in line with the period, Bathroom much better,
The room was clean but we had to remake the bed, the duvet cover was about 2ft in length bigger than the duvet, and the slack was in the centre!!!!!!. Advised reception of no heat, manual turn on made remotely?
The Bar prices are excessive £5.50 for a bottle of Pear Cider and £7.50 for wine and lemonade,
The grounds well kept, the Rooms clean, Peacocks and Wildlife nice, the Receptionist that we met and Bar staff need to improve,
The first morning arrived, my wife gave her order for breakfast from a spoken menu, it would have been nice to see the menu in the room or at least the table, I arrived with fruit juice in hand to be asked " do I want the same" not be sure of the order I had to ask again for what was on offer, whilst eating the next table where offered a menu as they sat down, seemed like different standard
However the plus side is the Wedding was 100% attention

Overall they cater and do well Weddings ( possible functions)
The downside is the attention to the guest is far from good, if staying,
It's expensive for drinks, the rooms can be dark and cold, but it can be argued it's a period hotel
4 Star not sure how, no gym, pool, no iron press, but iron supplied, no offer of help with baggage, no lift, No a Breakfast Menu for some, Web site could be improved,
Bad mobile phone coverage
Small TV but does have Sky
The approach is speed bump controlled but then cars speed past the main entrance,
Good car park, the Hotel is out of the way in god grounds

Room Tip: Take loads of cash if drinking, be prepared to travel for better and cheaper food, don't expect...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lufc0511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worksop
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Whitley Hall hotel is the place for a wedding venue. The location was perfect with large private extensive well maintained gardens and lawns. The covered area was perfect for celebration drinks after the ceremony and the well laid out seating in the gardens was ideal for socialising with other wedding guests. The rooms in the hotel are quite adequate and the decor befits the style of this old mansion type building. There is every amenity in the room that would be required for any length of stay. The staff at the hotel are all very helpful and nothing was too much trouble even down to fine tuning our sky box and T V. The wedding dinner was as would be expected of a hotel of this calibre and the breakfast the following morning was perfect with a good selection to choose from. All in all a delightful place for your stay. The only down side as said on previous reviews was the cost of drinks. A pot of tea for 4 persons although served efficiently was £12 and bar drinks were very expensive. Would we go there again - I would say yes but only for a really special occasion.

Room Tip: Rooms in the old part overlooking the gardens are very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dlmhc1230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spalding, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We booked this hotel for a 1 night break and that was our big mistake. It was absolutely wonderful and we wished that we had booked for longer. On arrival we were met by wonderful, smiling faces who couldn't have been more welcoming. Nothing was too much trouble and we were made to feel that we could ask about anything. Our room was lovely and the food was absolutely fantastic. The dinner was good enough to have been served at a Michelin star restaurant so hats off to the chef. The same with breakfast, there was everything and more that you could possibly have wanted. Lovely gardens with peacocks and very quiet whilst we were there which was mid-week. A big thank you to all the staff

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pauline024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Whitley Hall are currently offering a 3 course lunch (with glass of bubbly) for £14.50. Excellent!
The menu (whilst with only 3/4 options) left us spoilt for choice. Our meals were beautifully cooked and presented and served by friendly attentive staff, who were there when you needed them but lefts us alone to sit and chat without rushing us out.

A great experience!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CayleyDimelow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Stayed for a family wedding early may time.

Wedding was a joy, weather not so great but we did get outside for photos/drinks etc.

Food was lovely both for the day and evening reception.

Drinks rather expensive but that is what you would expect from a hotel bar.

Room was fantastic, had two beds put in for the children however as the room was so large it was fine.

Breakfast the next morning was lovely and relaxed.

All in all a great time was had and would recommend.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sally0574
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

A wonderful location , high standard of accommodation
Excellent staff , hotel had two weddings on , what a great place to have a wedding !!!!
We stayed on night , will return
brilliant for a special occasion

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank samelainer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sheffield
5.5 mi away
Halifax Hall
Halifax Hall
#5 of 53 in Sheffield
721 reviews
1.4 mi away
Staindrop Lodge
Staindrop Lodge
#20 of 53 in Sheffield
254 reviews
4.9 mi away
Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Tankersley Manor Hotel - QHotels
9.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Aston Hall Hotel
5.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Kenwood Hall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whitley Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whitley Hall Hotel

Property: Whitley Hall Hotel
Address: Elliot Lane | Grenoside, Sheffield S35 8NR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sheffield
#1 Luxury Hotel in Sheffield
#3 Business Hotel in Sheffield
#6 Family Hotel in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Whitley Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whitley Hall is an ivy-clad 16th century mansion that provides an elegant and romantic setting for any occasion. Relax in this historic and fashionable hotel and enjoy the tranquil grounds of the surrounding estate. The hotel has recently benefitted from major refurbishment and offers extreme comfort throughout. The recently opened Parker wing offers rooms of the very highest standard, all of which have Juliet balconies and four deluxe bedrooms with lake views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Whitley Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whitley Hall Sheffield
Hotel Whitley Hall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing