We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rude staff and poor cleanliness”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Whitley Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Whitley Hall Hotel
Ranked #2 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
Holmer Green
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Rude staff and poor cleanliness”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

The receptionist was rude both on arrival and checking out, was there for a business meeting and all felt the same.
Very nasty stained pillow on bed and dangerous hanging cable outside room first thing in the morning that had already tripped their own staff. Not much interest in getting it sorted out

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LP1202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JRE2012, Business Development Manager at Whitley Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Thank-you for your feedback.

We are naturally disappointed that your stay at Whitley Hall did not meet your expectations. We are proud of our staff and you’ll see that their positive attitude is remarked on in many of our other TripAdvisor reviews, we are sorry that on this occasion you felt that we did not give you a warm welcome or indeed departure.

We would like to extend our apologies that your pillow was not up to our normal high standards, all our pillows and mattresses have internal protectors in addition to pillowcases. We are sorry that this pillow “slipped through the net”. We were made aware of this by you on the evening of your stay and we did rectify the situation straight away, however we accept that this should not have occurred. During your stay we were undertaking equipment upgrades, we would like to assure you that every safety precaution was taken.

Once again we are regretful that you left disappointed in your stay.

Kind regards

Jade Ridley
Business Development Manager
Whitley Hall Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

972 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    624
    219
    88
    26
    15
See reviews for
156
519
15
94
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

Attended for a Sunday Lunch with a party of 14 people, the third time I have visited the place for a meal, one being a wedding. Meals ordered well in advance of the day as we had one nut allergy and one gluten free diet to consider. Things went well up until the start of the meal when there was no bread available for the gluten free diet, starters came but 2 short. When I enquired as to where they were I was told abruptly by the person controlling the serving that they would be along shortly. When they came it was clear that they had not fetched the nut free starter ordered weeks previously, when we enquired why we were abruptly told 'chef has been working with nuts all day and that he couldn't do it'. the guest had to make do with fruit salad. We ordered wine, however it did not arrive. Despite asking twice where the wine was I was put in a position where I had to go to the hotel reception to ask again. When the wine did arrive they only placed one bottle of white on the table saying that they had none chilled and would fetch the rest later. At least three people openly commented on how rude the head waitress running the serving was in her manner. This was without doubt the worst experience I have ever had in a restaurant and would not care to repeat it. I have had better service in a transport café. I complained to the catering manager and was informed that they had taken on new staff. Will not eat here again ever.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank 15tim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JRE2012, Business Development Manager at Whitley Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Thank-you for taking the time to share your comments with other Trip Advisor members.

We have noted your comments and have discussed your points with the relevant members of staff involved.

Kind regards

Jade Ridley
Business Development Manager
Whitley Hall Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

This was our first stay at the hotel and it definitely won't be our last! The hotel is set in beautiful grounds, less than 10 minutes both from the M1 and Sheffield City Centre. Lovely relaxing atmosphere with plenty of outdoor spaces to enjoy a drink, or two, particularly liked the heated canopies in the patio area which meant we could enjoy the outdoors in the rain. Staff were very polite and attentive, nothing was too much trouble, rooms were exceptionally clean and welcoming and the restaurant served an excellent selection, all to a very high standard. Would recommend anyone to stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roblou1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JRE2012, Business Development Manager at Whitley Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thank-you for taking the time to write such a glowing review about your stay at Whitley Hall Hotel, we are so pleased to learn that you enjoyed your visit. We will pass your comments over to our lovely staff

We hope to welcome you back to Whitley Hall Hotel in the future

Best wishes

Jade Ridley
Business Development Manager
Whitley Hall Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed for one night and booked their dinner, bed and breakfast package which overall I feel was good value.

Our room was lovely with a nice modern bathroom (the port in our room was nicely presented,) but the main entrance hall could do with a revamp as the grand staircase felt a little lost.

Staff we're very friendly and attentive and we arrived just in time to make the most of the nice weather and sat outside having a drink whilst the peacocks entertained themselves.

We would happily stay again!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Furns_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

I have visited this beautiful hotel a number of times and each time I love it more, the staff are warming & nothing is too much trouble. The atmosphere is comfortable but elegant & traditional in its service. The management hired a singer for our visit which added to the ambiance which made our weekend a weekend to remember.

Room Tip: Choose a room looking over the garden as there are weddings most weekends & some rooms overlook...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lesbo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

This was my first stay at Whitley Hall Hotel and stayed for one night only, I was disappointed that I had not booked for another night. I loved the relaxed feel to the hotel and enjoyed sitting in the beautiful grounds of this typical English Hotel. The peacock in the garden was playing to his audience, showing off his fantastic feathers. The Bedroom was roomy and clean, and the bed very comfortable. Evening meal and breakfast (I had full English breakfast) was superb. The staff were friendly and helpful and I can not wait until my next visit.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elaine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JRE2012, Business Development Manager at Whitley Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thankyou for taking the time to write such a great review about Whitley Hall Hotel. We're so pleased that you had such a fab stay and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon

Best wishes

Jade Ridley
Business Development Manager
Whitley Hall Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

Stayed in the hotel a few times now and found that the staff are helpful, considerate and provide impeccable service throughout the hotel. We had a large family meal where food was fantastic and there was a great restaurant atmosphere with a terrific singer!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mattyfordy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sheffield
5.5 mi away
Halifax Hall
Halifax Hall
#5 of 53 in Sheffield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 693 reviews
4.9 mi away
Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel
1.4 mi away
Staindrop Lodge
Staindrop Lodge
#19 of 53 in Sheffield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Aston Hall Hotel
5.6 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
2.8 mi away
Tankersley Manor Hotel - QHotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whitley Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whitley Hall Hotel

Property: Whitley Hall Hotel
Address: Elliot Lane | Grenoside, Sheffield S35 8NR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Sheffield
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sheffield
#3 Business Hotel in Sheffield
#6 Family Hotel in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Whitley Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whitley Hall is an ivy-clad 16th century mansion that provides an elegant and romantic setting for any occasion. Relax in this historic and fashionable hotel and enjoy the tranquil grounds of the surrounding estate. The hotel has recently benefitted from major refurbishment and offers extreme comfort throughout. The recently opened Parker wing offers rooms of the very highest standard, all of which have Juliet balconies and four deluxe bedrooms with lake views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Whitley Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whitley Hall Sheffield
Hotel Whitley Hall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing