We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“what a delight”
Review of Whitley Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Whitley Hall Hotel
Ranked #2 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
Blairgowrie, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“what a delight”
Reviewed 17 September 2010

have stayed in a lot of hotels, but this was one of the best ,reason being the location,the service,the food ,the room&the staff were excellent, we will be going back . i cant say anymore.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blairie94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,023 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    653
    234
    93
    28
    15
See reviews for
165
554
16
96
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 September 2010

This review is to inform people that Whitley Hall Hotel is in a beautiful secluded location with dedicated staff for whom nothing was too much trouble.The standard of cleanlinesss and the style and comfort of the bedrooms are second to none.The restaurant and the quality of the food is exceptional and all our wishes for our special day were carried out to the letter.There is excellent parking facilities and disabled accesss and the company of the beautiful free roaming peacocks gives the whole place a magical quality.My husband and I would recommend this wonderful place to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marshmallow186364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barton-upon-Humber, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
200 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 237 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2010

Stayed for one night on the romantic break package for our wedding anniversary. Very friendly receptionist made check in easy and directed us to our deluxe room in the new part of the building. Lovely room with super kingsize bed (that was very comfortable) and nice furnishings. Pink fizz on ice and port as part of the package! The hotel is set in a tranquil countryside location and easy to find from the M1. Had an amazing meal in the restaurant, really well presented and top quality. Breakfast was just as good. Would highly recommend a stay and will return for another special occasion.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mauritiusbride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2010

We stayed three nights here as we were meeting friend, who joined us for evening meal and drinks on the first night which was brilliant, and attended the most beautiful wedding and reception of our friends son and bride. We had an absolutely wonderful time the staff are so friendly and go that extra mile, the room was delightful, everything so clean and smart and the food was delicious both at breakfast and evening. The wedding reception was superb everything went like clockwork and the food was outstanding, well done everyone and thank you, I hope we can visit again soon.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lizzytish013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stevenage England
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2010

Our Romantic break was superb throughout and exceeded our expectations. Breakfast number 1 was a bit unusual being the usual cold offerings plus a limited range of hot, served by a member of staff from the hot servery. We were asked not to help ourselves but wait for a staff member -perhaps we might have hurt ourselves! Next day (when there was not a large wedding party to cope with) we got a breakfast menu card and the full offerings including kippers, porridge, a choice of eggs etc. all cooked to order.
Our room was upgraded for our celebration and all staff were excellent.
Dinners well worthy of their Rosettes - really good.
Bedroom a tad too hot- probably the duvet too thick for August use.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brit1222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ottawa
Level 6 Contributor
31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2010

I must say Whitley Hall tops all accommodations I've ever stayed in. And the price was amazing. Through laterooms I was able to get two double rooms with king-sized beds, one for my mother and one for my 10-year old son and I, at half price. The narrow gravel road up to the hotel, lush overhanging trees, ivy and other greenery, was the perfect introduction to this enchanting retreat. the staff were welcoming and helpful upon our arrival and the old world decor was simply breathtaking. See photos. The peacocks of course were my son's favorite. Great breakfast and staff were patient and accommodating with my son, given that this really is a hotel of a more romantic nature. Distinguishing touches included the crystal decanter with complimentary sherry and the quality toiletries, tea & cookies. What a beautiful retreat it was. Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nammyohorengekyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2010

I could go on and on and on about this hotel but to summarise we had a civil wedding ceremony here and have stayed at Whitley several times before and after and have never been disappointed. The gardens, the rooms, the staff and the food are all fantastic and the hotel really does deserve its 2 AA rosettes. However we still can not believe that it is rated as only 3 stars. We have stayed in many hotels and Whitley definitely without a doubt deserves 4 stars. The rooms are modern, comfortable and are set in such lovely surroundings. There are often special offers on too which are a bargain.
If you like a hotel with a relaxed atmosphere, good food, a lovely room and grounds then this is the one for you.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LittleMonkey80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sheffield
4.9 mi away
Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel
1.4 mi away
Staindrop Lodge
Staindrop Lodge
#21 of 53 in Sheffield
262 reviews
2.8 mi away
Tankersley Manor Hotel - QHotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Kenwood Hall Hotel
5.5 mi away
Halifax Hall
Halifax Hall
#6 of 53 in Sheffield
743 reviews
9.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Aston Hall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whitley Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whitley Hall Hotel

Property: Whitley Hall Hotel
Address: Elliot Lane | Grenoside, Sheffield S35 8NR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sheffield
#1 Luxury Hotel in Sheffield
#3 Business Hotel in Sheffield
#6 Family Hotel in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Whitley Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whitley Hall is an ivy-clad 16th century mansion that provides an elegant and romantic setting for any occasion. Relax in this historic and fashionable hotel and enjoy the tranquil grounds of the surrounding estate. The hotel has recently benefitted from major refurbishment and offers extreme comfort throughout. The recently opened Parker wing offers rooms of the very highest standard, all of which have Juliet balconies and four deluxe bedrooms with lake views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Whitley Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whitley Hall Sheffield
Hotel Whitley Hall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing