We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Evening stroll for a meal and a pint ”

The Wagon and Horses - JD Wetherspoon
Ranked #422 of 1,618 Restaurants in Sheffield
Price range: US$4 - US$19
Cuisines: Steakhouse, British, Healthy, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Being an award-winning pub, we provide the best customer experience, with superb quality, choice and value, in both food and drink.
Reviewed 27 June 2018 via mobile

Clean friendly a typical Weatherspoon’s . To the left when entering is a friendly ,comfortable area for you to sit and enjoy your meal .to the right is a conservatory area leading to outside .
Unfortunately on the night we went we ended up to the right hand side it felt more like a youth club !!! But despite this the staff were friendly and food was good ,just the atmosphere that let it down .

1  Thank Wiseowls1867
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma R, Manager at The Wagon and Horses - JD Wetherspoon, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2018

Hi Wiseowls1867,

Thanks for your honest and fair review. We're glad you enjoyed your meals and found the staff to be friendly.

Kind regards,
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (130)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 131 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2018 via mobile

I have been past this place several times and it took a suggestion from a matero meet up. I was very impressed by the style and fit out, it is a really nice place. Good staff and very good service and reasonable pricing. We didn’t sample anything from the menu - but will next time!

Thank 373Yorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma R, Manager at The Wagon and Horses - JD Wetherspoon, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2018

Hi 373Yorkshire,

Lovely review - thanks! And thanks for your comments about our wonderful staff - I'll be happy to pass on the message.

Kind regards,
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2018 via mobile

You can wait forever in this pub to order a drink. They completely ignore people that have been waiting and will walk away and will serve who they want. They are alway miserable and always different staff virtually every week. Shocking. Even tried the app but still had to wait over 10 minutes.

Thank Janet A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma R, Manager at The Wagon and Horses - JD Wetherspoon, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2018

Hi Janet A,

Firstly I'd like to apologise for what has obviously been a poor experience at our pub, we really don't like to hear it when someone doesn't enjoy their visit.
I do hope I see you in the pub, so we can discuss your comments in person and we can hopefully change your mind.

Kind regards,
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2018

Visit regularly on Thursday evenings for their curry and a drink package. The curry is pretty standard but enjoyable. The package is excellent value. Always many families there.

Thank edward b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma R, Manager at The Wagon and Horses - JD Wetherspoon, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2018

Hi Edward b,

Thanks for your fair review, we think the curry is pretty good too- both tasting and value for money. Hope to see you again soon!

Kind regards,
Emma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2018

After a full day walking in Clumber Park we needed tea and decided to call here as you always know where you are with Wetherspoons. As we enjoyed he Sunday Brunch at a different Wetherpoons we decided we would have that. I had he lamb shank which I enjoy and my husband wanted he Manager's special of mixed grill, but it had all gone so he opted for steak and eggs. Unfortunately this was rung trough the till as steak and a separate egg, and we wondered why it was £1.90 more than it should have been, As we didnot get a receipt we could not query it, but when the steak came with one egg on a side plate my husband pointed out that it was steak and eggs he had ordered. The waitress went off to query it and a nice gentleman came back with arefund and the waitress brought another egg. Top marks all round, and good food into the bargain!!
The twinkle lights outside look lovely and it must be a nice place to sit of an evening when the weather is warmer

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Christine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma R, Manager at The Wagon and Horses - JD Wetherspoon, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2018

Hi Christine K,

Thanks so much for taking the time to leave us a review. We're really pleased that we turned what could have been a negative of your visit; to a positive! We hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Wagon and Horses - JD Wetherspoon also viewed

 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Rotherham, South Yorkshire
 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 

Been to The Wagon and Horses - JD Wetherspoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing