We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hotel represents a great deal!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton By Hilton Sheffield
Ranked #4 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Admittedly it isn't in the nicest part of Sheffield (although it feels perfectly safe when you're out at night), and it's a steep walk uphill to the city centre, but the hotel itself is great! It's only been open for 3 months, so everything is squeeky clean and shiny. The furnishings are very tasteful and stylish, the beds are comfortable and the en suite bathrooms are a cut above those in any hotel I've ever stayed in. A complete range of toiletries is provided. The staff are very friendly and can't do enough to help you. The free breakfast is good and there's a take-out facility if you don't have the time to eat in. Be aware, though, that very few hangers are provided in the wardrobe - so bring a few with you if you're staying for more than 1 or 2 nights - and that there's very little drawer space ( we just used the suitcase as a drawer). We will certainly use this hotel again!

Room Tip: We were on the front of the hotel, facing the main road, and didn't hear a sound. Good soundproo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janet G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterHendry, General Manager at Hampton By Hilton Sheffield, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Thank you for a fantastic review. There is a saying in Sheffield that you go up a hill to get somewhere and up a hill to get back. We think it adds character, and allows you to indulge a little more knowing you have an up hill walk to get back.
During your stay, should you require any additional items eg hangers, please let us know as the team would be delighted to provide more

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,436)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,318 - 1,324 of 1,436 reviews

Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the Hampton for a few nights while on business in Sheffield with several colleagues, which happened to be only a 2 minute walk away from the hotel which was really convenient. The staff were very polite and friendly, the hotel was clean, modern and well laid out. The room was spacious, clean and modern, with an equally pleasing bathroom containing a large shower. My colleague and I mentioned how nice it was to have so many available electrical sockets, two of which were either side of the bed, it's only a small thing, but when you're leaving your phone on to charge overnight, it's nice not to have to get out of bed and go across the room to turn the alarm off in the morning. My only criticisms would be the view from my room was of a huge wall, and a massive pipe, presumably used for the air conditioning system, which didn't bother me too much as I wasn't spending a great deal of time staring out of the window, secondly i feel the sound proofing needs to be improved, as I could hear quite a bit of noise and conversation coming from the room next to mine, it wasn't horrendous, just slightly annoying. Overall, and for the price paid, I had a very pleasant stay and would definitely stay again the next time I'm in Sheffield.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
Thank Johnny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterHendry, General Manager at Hampton By Hilton Sheffield, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Thank you for your positive review and great to see some of business guest taking the opportunity to provide valued feedback.
Plug sockets are a small thing but important to so many, hence why as a brand we listen and react to the needs of the modern guest.
With our hotel being a converted former Police station, unfortunately views were possibly a little lower on their priorities, however please let us know on check in as the higher floors do have some stunning views of the peaks, but we are limited to only a couple of floors

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We stayed one night in this nice property. It was right on the main road into town so it was easy to find. The staff was extremely warm and welcoming. The room was fairly large by European standards and included a large, step-in shower which was quite nice. There is a limited dinner menu from which can order and eat in the dining room. In addition there is a nice restaurant next door for dinner and you can have your check billed to your hotel room. Wifi was easy to connect and worked very well. The room and entire hotel was very clean. The breakfast was above average with a nice selection of hot food as well as cold food. We enjoyed our stay and would definitely return.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Twila E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterHendry, General Manager at Hampton By Hilton Sheffield, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Thank you for your review and your kind mention of our team members. Am I pleased you were able to take the opportunity to dine in the Marco Pierre White restaurant and took the opportunity to charge back to your hotel bill for so much ease and convenience
I will be sure to pass on your comments to our Housekeeping team who work extremely hard to ensure our new hotel remains that way

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

In the large room the bathroom fixtures are modern and include a hair dryer. An Italian restaurant is next door and provides a nice dinner although the hotel also can provide a basic dinner. Breakfast buffet is included with the room. Wifi is outstanding. Parking is inexpensive on the property. The rooms do not include a luggage rack which was surprising for a Hilton property. The reception staff were polite and professional. The bed was large and exceptionally comfortable. The hotel is in the city center and easy to find on the main road into town. The price for the room was very good for the accommodations. Large desk space is located in each room with several electric outlets available at an arms length.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BobWE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterHendry, General Manager at Hampton By Hilton Sheffield, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Thank you for you thorough review of our property, and great to see you were able to find so many positives about your stay. We have just this week upgraded our wifi even further allowing the surfing experience to be greater.
I am glad you found the volume of plug sockets suitable, as so many times it can be frustrating not to have sockets just were you want them

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

This is a fantastic new hotel just 5 minute walk from the Sheffield town centre. The rooms are spotless and the staff could not be more helpful. Breakfast was very good and plenty of choice. Would highly recommend this hotel to anyone who is visiting Sheffield.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
1  Thank Ken M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterHendry, General Manager at Hampton By Hilton Sheffield, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Thank you for a great review, and great you found our location just a short walk from the centre, and made full us of our complimentary breakfast buffet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

I can not recommend this hotel enough. I personally stayed for 2 nights from the 29th May, I am local but needed a base to prepare for my wedding. The staff were so friendly and couldn't do enough for us. I also had family members booked in and the reception worked out with me personally which would be the bets rooms to put them in for their stay and also ensure their rooms were available early for them to check in.
The rooms were spacious enough and lot higher quality to similar priced hotels in the area. The staff all approachable and nothing was too much trouble for them, which helped this nervous bride to be no end.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BecM130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterHendry, General Manager at Hampton By Hilton Sheffield, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Thank you for a great review, and very kindly pointing out our team who I know were very keen to make sure your wedding preparations as easy as possible, so you could relax and enjoy your day.
Hope all went well on the day, and hopefully it will be before the anniversary you come back and see us again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 1 night. The hotel is lovely! The room is spacious enough, bathroom is modern and clean. The building is the old police station so not the most attractive exterior but once inside, feels and looks like a brilliant 4*. Breakfast was nice, although not enough comfortable tables to fit all guests. We, 6ft adults, had to sit at the childrens table. Staff were very friendly, the man at reception couldnt be happier to help and was very friendly. Dont understand why people on here moan about the lifts and the room card situation, its very easy, swipe your key and press the floor you want....not rocket science.Sheffield as a city, we didnt enjoy too much but ate at Vitos, which is a fantastic authentic italian, and was reasonably priced. Overall, it was a fantastic hotel and would stay here again.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank ryancraig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig W, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton By Hilton Sheffield, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

Hi, Thank you for your great review of our Hotel, your comment of "fantastic hotel" is exactly what were looking to achieve. One of the security features of the hotel is that our guests can only access Guest floors by having a validated keycard, this ensures our guests are kept safe and that no-one is able to access any guest area's without first being a guest or member of the Hotel team. I'm delighted you enjoyed your stay and we hope you'll come back very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
0.4 mi away
Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel
1.1 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
#10 of 53 in Sheffield
1,312 reviews
0.4 mi away
Novotel Sheffield Centre
Novotel Sheffield Centre
#19 of 53 in Sheffield
1,566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Sheffield
Jurys Inn Sheffield
#9 of 53 in Sheffield
2,480 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Sheffield
Hilton Sheffield
#27 of 53 in Sheffield
1,667 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton By Hilton Sheffield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton By Hilton Sheffield

Address: 12 Westbar Green, Sheffield S1 2DA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Price Range: £48 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton By Hilton Sheffield 3*
Number of rooms: 142
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton By Hilton Sheffield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing