We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good addition to the area” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton By Hilton Sheffield

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hampton By Hilton Sheffield
Ranked #2 of 54 Hotels in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Kent, England
Level Contributor
79 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Good addition to the area”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

Stayed here for a couple of nights when in Sheffield in business - my office was just a 5 minute walk away which was a bonus. Check in was quick, friendly and efficient and the rooms were of a good standard, although the view wasn't great!. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom was a good size. Walk in shower had good water pressure. Wifi included in price was a bit patchy at times and parking was limited.
All in all, good value and I will certainly be staying here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ynotruby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterHendry, General Manager at Hampton By Hilton Sheffield, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Thank you for your review and great to see another satisfied business guest. Our WiFi has just this week been upgraded, so hopefully you will notice a much faster service.

Look forward to your feedback on your next stay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,230 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    710
    398
    93
    16
    13
See reviews for
266
436
49
267
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ashington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

Admittedly it isn't in the nicest part of Sheffield (although it feels perfectly safe when you're out at night), and it's a steep walk uphill to the city centre, but the hotel itself is great! It's only been open for 3 months, so everything is squeeky clean and shiny. The furnishings are very tasteful and stylish, the beds are comfortable and the en suite bathrooms are a cut above those in any hotel I've ever stayed in. A complete range of toiletries is provided. The staff are very friendly and can't do enough to help you. The free breakfast is good and there's a take-out facility if you don't have the time to eat in. Be aware, though, that very few hangers are provided in the wardrobe - so bring a few with you if you're staying for more than 1 or 2 nights - and that there's very little drawer space ( we just used the suitcase as a drawer). We will certainly use this hotel again!

Room Tip: We were on the front of the hotel, facing the main road, and didn't hear a sound. Good soundproo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterHendry, General Manager at Hampton By Hilton Sheffield, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Thank you for a fantastic review. There is a saying in Sheffield that you go up a hill to get somewhere and up a hill to get back. We think it adds character, and allows you to indulge a little more knowing you have an up hill walk to get back.
During your stay, should you require any additional items eg hangers, please let us know as the team would be delighted to provide more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the Hampton for a few nights while on business in Sheffield with several colleagues, which happened to be only a 2 minute walk away from the hotel which was really convenient. The staff were very polite and friendly, the hotel was clean, modern and well laid out. The room was spacious, clean and modern, with an equally pleasing bathroom containing a large shower. My colleague and I mentioned how nice it was to have so many available electrical sockets, two of which were either side of the bed, it's only a small thing, but when you're leaving your phone on to charge overnight, it's nice not to have to get out of bed and go across the room to turn the alarm off in the morning. My only criticisms would be the view from my room was of a huge wall, and a massive pipe, presumably used for the air conditioning system, which didn't bother me too much as I wasn't spending a great deal of time staring out of the window, secondly i feel the sound proofing needs to be improved, as I could hear quite a bit of noise and conversation coming from the room next to mine, it wasn't horrendous, just slightly annoying. Overall, and for the price paid, I had a very pleasant stay and would definitely stay again the next time I'm in Sheffield.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Johnny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterHendry, General Manager at Hampton By Hilton Sheffield, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Thank you for your positive review and great to see some of business guest taking the opportunity to provide valued feedback.
Plug sockets are a small thing but important to so many, hence why as a brand we listen and react to the needs of the modern guest.
With our hotel being a converted former Police station, unfortunately views were possibly a little lower on their priorities, however please let us know on check in as the higher floors do have some stunning views of the peaks, but we are limited to only a couple of floors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manhattan Beach, California
Level Contributor
77 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

We stayed one night in this nice property. It was right on the main road into town so it was easy to find. The staff was extremely warm and welcoming. The room was fairly large by European standards and included a large, step-in shower which was quite nice. There is a limited dinner menu from which can order and eat in the dining room. In addition there is a nice restaurant next door for dinner and you can have your check billed to your hotel room. Wifi was easy to connect and worked very well. The room and entire hotel was very clean. The breakfast was above average with a nice selection of hot food as well as cold food. We enjoyed our stay and would definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Twila E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterHendry, General Manager at Hampton By Hilton Sheffield, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Thank you for your review and your kind mention of our team members. Am I pleased you were able to take the opportunity to dine in the Marco Pierre White restaurant and took the opportunity to charge back to your hotel bill for so much ease and convenience
I will be sure to pass on your comments to our Housekeeping team who work extremely hard to ensure our new hotel remains that way
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manhattan Beach, CA
Level Contributor
306 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

In the large room the bathroom fixtures are modern and include a hair dryer. An Italian restaurant is next door and provides a nice dinner although the hotel also can provide a basic dinner. Breakfast buffet is included with the room. Wifi is outstanding. Parking is inexpensive on the property. The rooms do not include a luggage rack which was surprising for a Hilton property. The reception staff were polite and professional. The bed was large and exceptionally comfortable. The hotel is in the city center and easy to find on the main road into town. The price for the room was very good for the accommodations. Large desk space is located in each room with several electric outlets available at an arms length.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BobWE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterHendry, General Manager at Hampton By Hilton Sheffield, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Thank you for you thorough review of our property, and great to see you were able to find so many positives about your stay. We have just this week upgraded our wifi even further allowing the surfing experience to be greater.
I am glad you found the volume of plug sockets suitable, as so many times it can be frustrating not to have sockets just were you want them
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

This is a fantastic new hotel just 5 minute walk from the Sheffield town centre. The rooms are spotless and the staff could not be more helpful. Breakfast was very good and plenty of choice. Would highly recommend this hotel to anyone who is visiting Sheffield.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Ken M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterHendry, General Manager at Hampton By Hilton Sheffield, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Thank you for a great review, and great you found our location just a short walk from the centre, and made full us of our complimentary breakfast buffet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

I can not recommend this hotel enough. I personally stayed for 2 nights from the 29th May, I am local but needed a base to prepare for my wedding. The staff were so friendly and couldn't do enough for us. I also had family members booked in and the reception worked out with me personally which would be the bets rooms to put them in for their stay and also ensure their rooms were available early for them to check in.
The rooms were spacious enough and lot higher quality to similar priced hotels in the area. The staff all approachable and nothing was too much trouble for them, which helped this nervous bride to be no end.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BecM130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterHendry, General Manager at Hampton By Hilton Sheffield, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Thank you for a great review, and very kindly pointing out our team who I know were very keen to make sure your wedding preparations as easy as possible, so you could relax and enjoy your day.
Hope all went well on the day, and hopefully it will be before the anniversary you come back and see us again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
0.4 mi away
Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel
0.4 mi away
Novotel Sheffield Centre
Novotel Sheffield Centre
#16 of 54 in Sheffield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,405 reviews
1.1 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Sheffield
Jurys Inn Sheffield
#13 of 54 in Sheffield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,037 reviews
0.2 mi away
Leopold Hotel
Leopold Hotel
#9 of 54 in Sheffield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,071 reviews
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (St Mary's Gate) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton By Hilton Sheffield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton By Hilton Sheffield

Property: Hampton By Hilton Sheffield
Address: 12 Westbar Green, Sheffield S1 2DA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 54 Hotels in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton By Hilton Sheffield 3*
Number of rooms: 142
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Superbreak UK so you can book your Hampton By Hilton Sheffield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing