We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hit and miss”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel
Ranked #5 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
yorkshire
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Hit and miss”
Reviewed 13 February 2012

This hotel punches above its weight! its modern and slick reception and eating area is not lived up to by service and quality of the food. despite all who we spoke to were friendly and poilte they did not have a clue what they were doing! we had lunch which took forever to arrive and was incorrect when it did and our 3 course evening meal just built on this. Each course was incorrect and had items missing from the plate when questionned staff did not even know what was on their menu. It was over an hour wait for our main and when it arrived it was stone cold. Our dessert on the plus arrived swiftly after our main as it turns this was because it was not cooked. We were offered a bottle of wine on the house however this did not stop our night away being a bit of a let down. Would not suggest staying at this hotel if you intend to eat any meals there. The spa and swimming pool were nice however basic and the pool was a few degrees colder than would like, certainly a pool for swimming in and not relaxing in. The beauty area however was lovely and staff were polite and friendly and we enjoyed a very relaxing massage. The room we stayed in was also of a decent size and was clean. Unfortunately for us there was two many negatives for us to return to this hotel i'm sure others in sheffield can out do this place.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Smilegoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,380 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,239
    720
    251
    110
    60
See reviews for
371
847
132
482
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (406)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2012

Room was OK, comfortable and clean if a little on the tired side.
Service polite but slow, and inefficient (Some of the slowest bar tending I have seen in some time). Breakfast service was particularly bad although the food was acceptable.
Stood in queue to be seated for ages before we all gave up, walked in and found a seat for ourselves.
On the plus side though. Great location!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Whirlygigger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager6628, General Manager at Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel, responded to this review, 21 February 2012
I am sorry that on this occasion you were disappointed with your stay at Mercure St Paul’s in Sheffield . I treat all feedback with the utmost seriousness and please be assured I will take the appropriate action to rectify the issues you raised. Kind Regards, Luisa Esposito General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2012

I arrived late to this hotel, but the parking was easy and the hotel is right in the middle of Sheffield.

The Hotel is excellent. The quality stunning and staff service delightful.

The gym is also a gym.... its great for a workout and doesn't compromise on being a hotel gym.

Room Tip: I had the room 533... the view is stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrPThomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager6628, General Manager at Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel, responded to this review, 21 February 2012
Thank you for your very kind words. They are very much appreciated and my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed yourselves in Sheffield. I look forward to welcoming you back at Mercure St Paul’s in Sheffield. Kind regards Luisa Esposito General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Wales
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2012

We booked a Spabreak for one evening to include Dinner, bed and breakfast and one 30 minute treatement. All for £87. The hotel is modern in design, friendly greeting at reception, good sized rooms/bathrooms and great food. We couldnt fault the hotel at all. Evening meal, Afternoon tea (extra) and Breakfast were delicious. The room overlooked the Winter Garden but didnt have a window that opened. Therefore it was quite stuffy and impacted sleep quality. The Spa was a slight disappointment in that it was smaller than expected and over different floors. Equally we werent provided with Gowns or slippers - you had to hire these at £5 each! Treatments were fine, if a little expensive compared to others I have had however the Spa reception was totally unorganised and I had to tell 4 seperate staff what treatment I was having. Overall the deal was great value, just think the Spa could have applied the same focus to the customers as the hotel clearly did.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MelWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager6628, General Manager at Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel, responded to this review, 21 February 2012
Thank you very much for your review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit at Mercure St Paul’s Hotel and Spa in Sheffield . I look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards, , Luisa Esposito General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Subic, Philippines
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2012

As other readers have said, ideal location for Sheffield city centre, the rooms are spacious, clean and modern. The only complaint is the costs of the extras. Car parking was 20 pound a day extra, you can park directly outside reception if you pass through the security barrier, then they will provide the valet parking service which is a bit steep but I guess typical of city centre hotels. From memory, i think the mini bar (im reffering only to bottles of water) is also more expensive than typical hotels. The hotel is generally good but if you add on the 20 quid parking plus a bottle of water and a diet coke you can add 30quid to room charge. I'm not really complaining just pointing it out so you can consider when comparing costs of other hotels. If no car and you take your own refreshments then no complaints at all

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S35owl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager6628, General Manager at Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel, responded to this review, 21 February 2012
Thank you very much for your review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit at Mercure St Paul’s Hotel and Spa in Sheffield . I look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards, , Luisa Esposito General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
0.1 mi away
Novotel Sheffield Centre
Novotel Sheffield Centre
#19 of 53 in Sheffield
1,494 reviews
0.7 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
0.4 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Sheffield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Leopold Hotel
Leopold Hotel
#9 of 53 in Sheffield
1,138 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Sheffield
Jurys Inn Sheffield
#10 of 53 in Sheffield
2,317 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Sheffield
Hilton Sheffield
#27 of 53 in Sheffield
1,607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel

Property: Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel
Address: 119 Norfolk Street, Sheffield S1 2JE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Sheffield
#2 Luxury Hotel in Sheffield
#4 Business Hotel in Sheffield
#4 Family Hotel in Sheffield
#6 Romantic Hotel in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury 4 star hotel offers 163 en suite rooms in the heart of Sheffield. Just minutes from the railway station, Crucible and Lyceum Theatres and Hallam University. Don Valley Stadium, Sheffield Arena, Meadowhall Shopping Centre, Chatsworth House and Peak District are all a short drive away. 650 capacity conference centre and banqueting rooms, The Yard restaurant, indoor pool, sauna, steam room, snail shower, ice fountain and technogym. High speed Internet access and 24hr room service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, Lastminute, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure St Paul`s Sheffield Hotel Sheffield
Accor St Pauls Sheffield
St Pauls Hotel Sheffield
Mercure Sheffield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing