We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Service by everyone”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel
Ranked #6 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
Retford
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Perfect Service by everyone”
Reviewed 26 February 2012

We have just come back from a weekend in this Hotel and I cannot say enough about it all the staff were so helpful and very professional in every way,nothing was too much trouble. The room was lovely and the bathroom fantastic, the view was a bit disappointing over looking the winter gardens glass roof but it did not spoil it. The only down side was the drinks were a bit pricey but all serve at our table was very nice. The food in the hotel was lovely, we had afternoon tea which was very nice, an evening meal three course which was lovely and the breakfast was lovely and plenty to choose from and we were all full, set up for the day! Would recommend it as it is in the heart of the city easy to get to from the M1 and car park not far away which the hotel does discount for, Q park was £12.50 for 24 hours.

Room Tip: Ask for a view over the peace gardens not winter gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank B0zzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager6628, General Manager at Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
Thank you for your very kind words. They are very much appreciated and my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed yourselves in Sheffield. I look forward to welcoming you back at Mercure St Paul’s in Sheffield. Kind regards Luisa Esposito General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,284 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,188
    689
    242
    107
    58
See reviews for
352
813
127
467
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (396)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2012

Impossible to fault on anything, food excellent, room comfortable, staff helpful.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ALivesley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager6628, General Manager at Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
Thank you for your very kind words. They are very much appreciated and my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed yourselves in Sheffield. I look forward to welcoming you back at Mercure St Paul’s in Sheffield. Kind regards Luisa Esposito General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Had a one night stay here on the 19th Feb. Parked in the NCP car park about 2 mins walk from the hotel, 24 hours parking is about £14 but you can get your token zapped in the hotel and you get it for £4, just ask reception. Nice modern and clean hotel, large reception area and friendly staff. We had an executive room which was very nice, good size with a large comfy bed, big clean bathroom with lots of clean towels, bathrobes included in this room with slippers.
We didn't eat or drink here so cant comment but the prices did look a little expensive. Spa was okay although the steam room wasn't working properly.
Would we stay here again?, yes if in sheffield we probably would.

Room Tip: Dont pay full price for parking if you use NCP get the hotel to zap your parking disc so that you ge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Goldie1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager6628, General Manager at Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel, responded to this review, 21 February 2012
Happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Mercure St Paul’s in Sheffield I look forward to your next visit. Kind regards,

Luisa Esposito General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We loved this hotel, just booked a standard room and it was amazing. The hotel is perfectly located- we had a huge window and could see everything that was going on in town (e.g the 'beach' they had set up in the Peace Gardens) -without hearing the noise.

The rooms have speakers in the huge bathroom (with a very big shower and a separate bath) so if you are watching tv/ listening to your iPod whilst getting ready you can play carry on in the shower. The staff were so lovely and helpful, the breakfast was the best we have had in a hotel and the we loved the gym/ spa area.

We would 100% stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hi-Emyu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager6628, General Manager at Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel, responded to this review, 21 February 2012
Thank you very much for your review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit at Mercure St Paul’s Hotel and Spa in Sheffield . I look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards, , Luisa Esposito General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We needed an accessable room as I am in a wheelchair.

The room was huge, very comfortable and enough turning room for my wheelchair.

The toilet / shower are were also spacious but a few more grab rails would have been appreciated.

I was surprised to see the red alarm cords had been tied up so they were out of reach from my wheelchair or more importantly, the floor,. As I was with my wife, we did not ask for them to be untied but if I had been on my own, would have complained.

Breakfast was included inour package and was excellent.

The hotel has a deal with a local NCP car park at £4 per night which is not bad for the central city location.

The hotel is very central and within easy rolling distance of shops / restaurants / university etc

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rochesterhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager6628, General Manager at Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel, responded to this review, 21 February 2012
Thank you for your very kind words. They are very much appreciated and my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed yourselves in Sheffield. I look forward to welcoming you back at Mercure St Paul’s in Sheffield. Kind regards Luisa Esposito General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
123 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2012

We stayed here as part of a package.
The hotel was nice enough, the food was average and drinks were expensive (what you expect from a city centre hotel). The hotel staff were friendly and service was good.
The real problem was with the spa staff. We'd booked some spa treatments for our group, when we arrive the staff were rude to us, didn't give up robes etc to go into the spa and what should have been a relaxing treatment felt very stressful and rushed. They then almost threw us out of the relaxation room - rudely collecting glasses and banging stuff round us so we felt very uncomfortable. They were heard talking in a very negative way about a number of customers, including us.
We'd booked a spa day and because of the way we were treated we didn't get to use it at all!
Very unprofessional spa staff and I would never go to this spa again.

Room Tip: We were on floor 2, rooms were fine. Nice bathrooms and good free bathroom products.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank traveller77_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
0.1 mi away
Novotel Sheffield Centre
Novotel Sheffield Centre
#17 of 53 in Sheffield
1,424 reviews
0.2 mi away
Leopold Hotel
Leopold Hotel
#11 of 53 in Sheffield
1,088 reviews
0.7 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Sheffield
0.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Sheffield
Jurys Inn Sheffield
#13 of 53 in Sheffield
2,089 reviews
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (St Mary's Gate) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel

Property: Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel
Address: 119 Norfolk Street, Sheffield S1 2JE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Sheffield
#3 Luxury Hotel in Sheffield
#4 Business Hotel in Sheffield
#4 Family Hotel in Sheffield
#6 Romantic Hotel in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury 4 star hotel offers 163 en suite rooms in the heart of Sheffield. Just minutes from the railway station, Crucible and Lyceum Theatres and Hallam University. Don Valley Stadium, Sheffield Arena, Meadowhall Shopping Centre, Chatsworth House and Peak District are all a short drive away. 650 capacity conference centre and banqueting rooms, The Yard restaurant, indoor pool, sauna, steam room, snail shower, ice fountain and technogym. High speed Internet access and 24hr room service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Lastminute, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure St Paul`s Sheffield Hotel Sheffield
Accor St Pauls Sheffield
St Pauls Hotel Sheffield
Mercure Sheffield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing