We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brill location will return” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel
Ranked #6 of 54 Hotels in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

2,258 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,176
    678
    239
    107
    58
See reviews for
347
805
125
461
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (393)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2012

This hotel ticks all the right boxes. You couldn't wish for a better located hotel if you want to be in Sheffield city centre. It has the benefit of overlooking the Peace Garden so although its so convenient for all amenities the room was not at all noisy as is sometimes the case in a city. Car parking is available a short walk from the hotel and the hotel offers discounted rates for the NCP one (ask at reception). All the staff we encountered were helpful and professional. Our room was modern, very clean and spacious and the bathroom beautiful. I found the bed to be very comfy and slept really well. We would definitely recommend this hotel and are indeed planning a return stay in the not too distant future as we were so impressed.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank harveypips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luisa E, General Manager at Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel, responded to this review, 14 June 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review following yoru stay at Mercure St Paul's Sheffield - everyone here was thrilled to read it. Best Regards Luisa Esposito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
doncaster
Level Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2012

This hotel offers great wedding service. the staff are great,. and the setting is perfect for the city wedding.
I was working here photographing a wedding 2 weeks ago. I took the couple to the city centre for photographs and its also next to the Winter gardens. The food I had was gorgeous. Well presented and tasted great.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank biglee33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luisa E, General Manager at Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel, responded to this review, 14 June 2012
Thank you so very much for your positive comments. I hope you will be reurning in the near future. Best Regards Luisa Esposito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burgess Hill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2012

This is everything you would expect from what I assume is a four star Hotel.
Well maintained room, bar, restaurant, spa etc..

The hotel reseption area is open and airy, so far so good

However, as the hotel has been open since 2005, it seems that they have never thought about turning the Beds. This means that a number of them are now worn out one one side only. I've complained about this on a number of my visits, but they don't seem to have got the message. Although they did say they have started to replace them on the 5th floor.

The restaurant is far too neaveau cusine for my liking and it's on the expensive side. They have the propensity of serving food up on pieces of driftwood as they say it sets a standard. Soup isn't served straight up in a bowl, no you are given a bowl and the waiter pours the soup in from a jug! All in, the foods ok, but I only eat there as I'm generally on my own and on expenses. If I was with SWMBO, we go out and get a proper dining experience. And they must wonder why the restaurant is empty most of the time. Breakfast aT £16.50 is a joke at that price! Again if I was having to pay for it myself, I would go to the local Wetherspoons.

Like a lot of large hotels, the wifi access is way overpriced. Of course the Hotelier has to pay money to put it in, but they also have to supply flush toilets in all the wooms don't they?

This is a good hotel, don't get me wrong, but it could be so much better. It just suffers from large chain'itis.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BiddlyBong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luisa E, General Manager at Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel, responded to this review, 14 June 2012
Thank you for taking time to writ a review following your recent stay to Mercure St Paul's Sheffield. I have noted your comments. I do hope we can welcome you back in the near future. Best Regards Luisa Esposito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2012 via mobile

Had a lovely stay in this hotel, exceptionally well placed in Sheffield city centre for bars restaurants and cafes. Beautiful building and really helpful and pleasant staff. Especially marianne who helped reunite me with some lost items.

Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank prophet72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luisa E, General Manager at Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel, responded to this review, 7 June 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review following your recent visit to Mercure St Paul's Sheffield. I hope we can welcome you back in the near future. Best Regards Luisa Esposito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2012

My partner and I were suggested this hotel and spa by spaseekers.com after we couldn't get in to the hotel we had originally booked. Can't fault the stay! The hotel was lovely, the rooms were big and clean. We requested another bathrobe after only being given one and it was sent up straight away, the freebee shampoos and lotions were great and our view of the fountains was a real treat. The package we got through spa seekers entitled us to full use of the facilities including the pool, extremely relaxing saunas and the massage we had was extremely nice. All in all the staff were accommodating and we had great value for money as our package deal included breakfast and dinner. I'd definitely visit again and recommend it to anyone in the mood for a relaxing weekend.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank xlucymaex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luisa E, General Manager at Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel, responded to this review, 7 June 2012
Thank you for taking the time to reveiw the hotel and sharing your thoughts with other travellers. It is always a pleasure to receive such lovely feedback. Best Regards Luisa Esposito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
0.1 mi away
Novotel Sheffield Centre
Novotel Sheffield Centre
#16 of 54 in Sheffield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,405 reviews
0.2 mi away
Leopold Hotel
Leopold Hotel
#11 of 54 in Sheffield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,070 reviews
0.7 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Sheffield
0.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Sheffield
Jurys Inn Sheffield
#13 of 54 in Sheffield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,036 reviews
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (St Mary's Gate) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel

Property: Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel
Address: 119 Norfolk Street, Sheffield S1 2JE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Sheffield
#3 Luxury Hotel in Sheffield
#4 Family Hotel in Sheffield
#4 Business Hotel in Sheffield
#6 Romantic Hotel in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury 4 star hotel offers 163 en suite rooms in the heart of Sheffield. Just minutes from the railway station, Crucible and Lyceum Theatres and Hallam University. Don Valley Stadium, Sheffield Arena, Meadowhall Shopping Centre, Chatsworth House and Peak District are all a short drive away. 650 capacity conference centre and banqueting rooms, The Yard restaurant, indoor pool, sauna, steam room, snail shower, ice fountain and technogym. High speed Internet access and 24hr room service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and ACCOR so you can book your Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure St Paul`s Sheffield Hotel Sheffield
Accor St Pauls Sheffield
St Pauls Hotel Sheffield
Mercure Sheffield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing