We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely weekend and lovely hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel
Ranked #6 of 54 Hotels in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely weekend and lovely hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

I stayed with a group of 8 for my friend's hen do on a Saturday night. The hotel is lovely and ideally located in the centre of Sheffield right next door to the arboretum and museum - a lovely setting.

The staff were super friendly and helpful and couldn't do enough for us. The rooms are big, clean and comfortable. The breakfast is delicious.

We chose the hotel mainly for the spa facilities - although we didn't have any treatments, we did use the pool and thermal suite. The pool is pretty much what you'd expect - it was nice to have the thermal suite as an extra, but it could do with being maintained a little more. One of the steam rooms smelt quite fusty and the sauna wasn't very hot. There were also no cups for the water fountain - it's just the little things like this that make somewhere exceptional.

All in all a lovely hotel in a lovely city so I would recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hayrh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2012
Thank you for writing a review following your recent stay at Mercure St Paul’s Sheffield. I am pleased to note you enjoyed your stay and will take the appropriate action for the points you raised. Once again Thank you very much and I hope I can welcome you back in near future. Best Regards Luisa Esposito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,259 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,176
    679
    239
    107
    58
See reviews for
347
806
125
461
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (393)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
bridlington
Level Contributor
206 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

My daughter and I had spent two days at Meadowhall for her birthday! and wanted to round our break off with a treat, so we got the deal for this hotel £ 170 for a twin room, to include three course dinner, breakfast and a treatment in the spa - seemed like good value, and it was.
We were delayed due to really bad weather and the staff were warm and efficient swiftly changing our booking for the spa and for dinner to give us a bit more time, nothing was too much trouble. The room was large and airy, with a floor to ceiling window providing a great view of the gardens and fountains, furniture was quality and the bathroom spotless.
The massge and treatment areas were very relaxing as was the pool, the only disapointment was the other areas of the spa - the steam room wasnt working at all, the only aroma in the aroma room was .. perspiration, and as these were out of order ( with no sign or explanantion ) the sauna was overcrowded and not particularly hot, but this could have been due to the crowd opening and closing the door every two minutes.

But that said it would not put us off, the restaurant staff were just as effiient and polite as reception, we had a good choice of options on the menu, and the atmosphere was good, and food lovely, it was the same standard at breakfast, and we have decided to make it an annual birthday experience

Room Tip: If possible get a higher floor and a room overlooking the gardens, lots to see, and very light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rosebudBridlington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel, responded to this review, 10 July 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay at Mercure St Paul's. I was very pleased to read that you had enjoyed your birthday celebrations at the hotel and look forward to you returning to the hotel in the near future. Best Regards Luisa Esposito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2012

Stayed here 2 nights with a colleague while attending an exhibition and conference
We only used the hotel to change in and was straight out then back to sleep after conference dinners.
Although Clean it was nothing special the windows in the rooms are sealed and do not open unfortunately our air conditioning did not work and we had 2 sleepless nights due to the heat.
breakfast was ok but nothing special definitely not worth £248.00 with another £36.00 car parking
I must say the reception staff were excellent and very helpful

Room Tip: Make sure the AC works
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mickholliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel, responded to this review, 9 July 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to write to me following your recent stay - we will be in contact with you. Best Regards Luisa Esposito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2012

We recently stayed at the Mecure St Pauls for a spa break taster 1 night stay. The hotel is very pleasant and the reception staff are very helpful. The whole hotel is nice and modern and fresh looking. We even had the added bonus of having robes & slippers in our room which we were not expecing. Breakfast was really nice and had a great variety on offer. All in all would go back. Only issue is parking but there is an NCP nearby that gives a discounted rate to hotel guests which was a bonus!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel, responded to this review, 9 July 2012
Thank you so very much for taking the time to write a review following our recent stay at Mercure St Paul's. It was lovely to read yor feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Best Regards Luisa Esposito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford England
Level Contributor
94 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2012

Needed hotel to stay in whilst visiting family. Most hotels around here seem cheap and cheerful or individual but not exactly up to scratch.

Mercure, a brand of Accor hotels, occupies a contemporary building in a heritage lottery funded renovated part of Sheffield city centre. It is really is in an excellent location adjacent to a Kew gardens type conservatory and beyond that a museum, the Crucible and the attractive Peace Gardens.

Rooms are modern clean and well furnished. The top floor where we stayed is I believe referred to as 'privilege' and although the lounge seems to have disappeared, the wi-fi is free and the views good. Bathrooms are well equipped, very clean and modern with a large shower as well as a bath. Rooms have sat TV, hairdryers, fridges toiletries etc etc. Bed was a tad hard for me but rather that than too soft. No opening windows so fill the bath overnight or hang a damp towel somwhere if you suffer from aircon-dryout.

Staff were exceedingly helpful, professional and welcoming. Valet parking is expensive at £23:50 a day but the reception staff freely provided a hotel discounted alternative and offered to come with me to show me where it was (NCP £6:50/24hrs).

The breakfast was advertised as £16:50 per person (which was over the top) but on check-in we were offered it for £10 a head and my nine year old was free (as he was in our room in a decent extra bed).

The ambience is good throughout the public areas and we spent time in the bar where we were well looked after.The hotel's good contemporary design involves lots of glass in walls and ceiling so you can see out to the various cafe's, restaurants and surrounding action.

The pool and leisure area is a bit labyrinthine but together with the gym and spa areas it makes a clean, inviting and well appointed facility. I've seen many 5 star hotels with much less in all respects.

Look around for deals because there seem to be lots available. We'll be back and would not consider anywhere else in or around Sheffield. We were part of a group of 50 who were staying at several places around the city for a family function and we definitely struck lucky; there were lots of stories of paper thin walls, indifferent service and lack of cleanliness.

Breakfast in the restaurant was stylish, prompt and of a high standard. The chef will cook things for you as you wish.

Room Tip: Top floor. x04, x06 & x08 & x27, x29, x31, x30 x32 (x = floor number) are near the lift on e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tellitasitwas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel, responded to this review, 4 July 2012
Thank you very much for such a lovely review. The team will be delighted to read your comments and we look forward to welcoming you to the hotel again in the near future. Best Regards Luisa Esposito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2012 via mobile

Just came here for a hen weekend - got a great deal that included a night's stay, treatment, use of spa facilities , three course dinner and breakfast. Big pluses were: beautiful rooms, great location (close to station and bars) , yummy food and lovely staff. We had treatments from friendly and professional beauticians. The only downside was that the sauna room was out of order and the steam room wasn't very hot. There also didn't seem to be a jacuzzi there. I'd definitely come again maybe for a romantic weekend but not for the spa facilities.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank princessmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel, responded to this review, 3 July 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel following your recent stay at Mercure St Paul's Sheffield . I am sorry to read your comments regarding the gym music and will ensure it is adjusted. On a positive note I was very pleased to read you enjoyed the rest of your visit. Best Regards Luisa Esposito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level Contributor
41 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2012

This is an excellent city centre hotel that could not be better situated in the heart of the city. The rooms are fine, the pool is great and the surrounds are second to none, with lush gardens, theatres, museums shops and fountains.

The only problem was the gym, where they played deafening techno music. It was so loud I could not even hear my own iPod. Surely these days, when everyone has a personal music player, there is no reason to have pounding music in a gym, especially if it is not to everyone's taste.

Be aware that although this hotel is close to the station it is up a steep hill. As an alternative take a tram from the station to City Hall and walk along Leopold St,(or get a cab).

Room Tip: Take good earplugs if you plan to visit the gym
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Harry2837
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel, responded to this review, 3 July 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay at Mercure St Paul's. I have noted your comments and please be asured I will take the appropriate action as required. Best Regards Luisa Esposito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
0.1 mi away
Novotel Sheffield Centre
Novotel Sheffield Centre
#16 of 54 in Sheffield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,405 reviews
0.2 mi away
Leopold Hotel
Leopold Hotel
#9 of 54 in Sheffield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,071 reviews
0.7 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Sheffield
0.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Sheffield
Jurys Inn Sheffield
#13 of 54 in Sheffield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,037 reviews
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (St Mary's Gate) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel

Property: Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel
Address: 119 Norfolk Street, Sheffield S1 2JE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Sheffield
#3 Luxury Hotel in Sheffield
#4 Family Hotel in Sheffield
#4 Business Hotel in Sheffield
#6 Romantic Hotel in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury 4 star hotel offers 163 en suite rooms in the heart of Sheffield. Just minutes from the railway station, Crucible and Lyceum Theatres and Hallam University. Don Valley Stadium, Sheffield Arena, Meadowhall Shopping Centre, Chatsworth House and Peak District are all a short drive away. 650 capacity conference centre and banqueting rooms, The Yard restaurant, indoor pool, sauna, steam room, snail shower, ice fountain and technogym. High speed Internet access and 24hr room service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure St Paul`s Sheffield Hotel Sheffield
Accor St Pauls Sheffield
St Pauls Hotel Sheffield
Mercure Sheffield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing