We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very very good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel
Ranked #5 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
York, Yorkshire
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Very very good”
Reviewed 4 December 2012 via mobile

This is slovenly hotel in the centre of Sheffield. Big comfortable rooms, well appointed with great fixtures.
Breakfast was excellent and they were all very helpful, with a large selection of cold and cooked foods.

The service was great also.
The only downside was the car parking a stroll away, and a fairly roped NCP, as well
Though they do vala parking themselves

Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank alexgray-york
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luisa E, General Manager at Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel, responded to this review, 5 December 2012
Dear Guest Thank you very much for taking the time to reveiw your recent stay at Mercure St Paul's. It is always a pleasure to receive such feedback. Best Regards Luisa Esposito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,383 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,240
    722
    251
    110
    60
See reviews for
371
849
132
482
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (406)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 3 December 2012

In Sheffield on business. I always stay at St Paul's have tried others but always end up back at St Paul's. I had some colleagues with me on this trip and they were all very impressed. Two of them have booked again for their next trip and are looking forward to it.

KS

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teamcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luisa E, General Manager at Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel, responded to this review, 4 December 2012
Dear Guest Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay at Mercure St Paul's Sheffield. I am happy to read we are your hotel of choice and look forward to welcoming you back again. Best Regards Luisa Esposito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2012

Good hotel, I was here for a week and the staff were very friendly, nice rooms, though slightly uncomfortable twin bed. Spa has decent sized pool, steam room, sauna, ice room, and very good gym.
Slap bang in the city centre with everything a stroll away. Concierge Philip Wellington is good news, a real character and good local knowledge, he recommended a very good Chinese.
Bar staff good and can make a decent cocktail. They also serve a lovely Indian beer called Jaipur, which I recommend by the half (7+%).
Downsides - parking is a five minute walk, which might be trouble if you have accessibility problems, but understandable as its city centre.
No excuses for the food however. I ordered a steak sandwich in the bar, the ciabatta was doughy and uncooked, the meat was sinewy, overlooked and cold, and it was smothered in sweet red onion. French fries were anaemic.
Cooked breakfast also grim. Maybe the oil used, but the fried eggs tasted rancid, and the other fare typical straight out the box from the suppliers, no fresh or local ingredients. You can ask for poached eggs and even eggs benedict which are better. Breakfast isn't included as standard either which is bad given the industrial-type food..
Instead nip around the corner to a great little cafe Lynne's Pantry in Surrey Street, cheaper and freshly cooked with good ingredients.
Other than the disappointing grub, all in all a good hotel...

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toto_W6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luisa E, General Manager at Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel, responded to this review, 4 December 2012
Dear Guest Thank you so very much for taking the time to write such a lovely review of Mercure St Paul's Sheffield. I was disappointed to read your comments regarding the food and would be happy to discuss this with you further. Please would you contact me at the hotel to do so. Best Regards Lusia Esposito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2012

Have returned after a one night stay at the Mercure Hotel, Sheffield. A new build hotel in a fantastic location, walking distance from the train station and next door (joined in fact!) to the impressive winter gardens. The Town Hall and City Centre are literally on your doorstep!

Not much to say really apart from huge rooms!!! I thought I was in a junior suite it was that big. The room was 223 and extremely clean, in fact one of the cleanest hotels I've stayed in and hurrah - a separate shower, not a massive fan of having to stand in a bath with nasty shower curtains inevitably sticking to you every time you move to scrub a finger nail, these rooms have a large shower cubicle and a fab one too. I was also impressed on the sound insulation, not sure if it was a quiet night for the hotel, I didn't hear much noise from the corridor or other rooms. One major plus was the room air-con/heating. The controls were simple to use and it actually worked, the times I've needed a PhD in Automatic Control & Systems Engineering just to get the thing to blow a modicum of heat into a cold hotel room... not here!

Decor was great, staff really friendly and helpful and breakfast was as it should be. The breakfast room overlooks the Winter Gardens which is great planning on behalf of the architects / designers.

Can't comment on value as it was booked on my behalf so not sure of the room rates, however if I was paying I would hope it was no more than £100 per night.

The bar had a New York loft lounge feel about it, albeit a very large space, and some interesting lighting features. A great place for pre-dinner drinks.

But there are a couple of minor items that could have made my stay worth the top rating:
* Wifi - you have to pay for the wifi access!!! Please, in this day and age this should be free so extremely frustrating to find this, also hard wired internet facilities - do we really still use this?! Fortunately I could get a 3G signal so was OK in creating my own wifi hotspot.
*Windows - great floor to ceiling windows in the rooms, not so great with no nets or voile to give some level of modesty when your window is a stones throw from the benefits office window in the adjacent town hall... Not a pleasant experience I imagine for the poor office workers. So in the morning be prepared to get ready for the curtains closed and lights on. I am certain that the hotel management can save energy costs by installing voiles or nets as there would be no need to have lights on.
* Front Door - well you tell me... I'm sure I entered the hotel by several doors during the evening :-) Eventually found it but it's location was not well signed.

However the above did not create any issues or would deter me from visiting again, just a couple of minor points the management may want to consider to make the customer experience even better.

Had a very pleasant stay and all the staff I encountered couldn't have been nicer.

I hope to make visit again but on a social visit to enjoy even more of Sheffield.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luisa E, General Manager at Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel, responded to this review, 4 December 2012
Dear Guest Thank you so very much for taking the time to write such a detailed and great review of Mercure St Paul's Sheffield. I will ensure the team are fully aware of your feedback. Best Regards Luisa Esposito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 2 December 2012

Everything about this hotel is excellent. Wouldn't hesitate to come back. Manager sandeep and all staff are very accommodating, welcoming, friendly and nothing is too much trouble for them. Cleanliness throughout is of a high standard. Although we only ate breakfast in this hotel we found it substantial, hot, tasty, fresh and there was plenty of choice. Fab location in centre of city. All in all a great stay and we will be back.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kagsy63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luisa E, General Manager at Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel, responded to this review, 3 December 2012
Dear Guest Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay at Mercure St Paul's Sheffield. It is always a pleasure to read such feedback and I will ensure the team are fully aware. Best Regards Luisa Esposito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whiston, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2012

Very good value for money, especially when you book through accorhotels.com.
The staff is friendly, dining is not as expensive as I though it would be.
The spa area is very relaxing, with 4 different type of saunas and a big swimming pool.
The hotel is located in the heart of the city.
Definitely going back sometimes.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vladsomesan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luisa E, General Manager at Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel, responded to this review, 3 December 2012
Dear Guest. Thank you very very much for writing such a lovely review following your recent stay at Mercure St Paul's Sheffield. I do hope we can welcome you back in near future. Best Regards Luisa Esposito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2012

What a great short break we had , we stayed one night , could not fault a thing . From check in to out the whole experience was first class . The staff made all the difference , nothing was too much trouble , and they were so polite and professional . We had booked a package to include an evening meal with wine , we did not expect too much at the very good price we paid , but the meal was outstanding and the wine was good .

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunbed_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luisa E, General Manager at Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel, responded to this review, 3 December 2012
Dear Guest. Thanks you so very much for taking the time to review your stay at Mercure St Paul's Sheffield. I will ensure the team are made aware of the feedback. I do hope we can welcome you back in the near future. Best Regards Luisa Esposito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
0.1 mi away
Novotel Sheffield Centre
Novotel Sheffield Centre
#18 of 53 in Sheffield
1,497 reviews
0.7 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
#10 of 53 in Sheffield
1,261 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Sheffield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Leopold Hotel
Leopold Hotel
#9 of 53 in Sheffield
1,142 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Sheffield
Jurys Inn Sheffield
#8 of 53 in Sheffield
2,338 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Sheffield
Hilton Sheffield
#27 of 53 in Sheffield
1,608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel

Property: Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel
Address: 119 Norfolk Street, Sheffield S1 2JE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Sheffield
#2 Luxury Hotel in Sheffield
#4 Business Hotel in Sheffield
#4 Family Hotel in Sheffield
#6 Romantic Hotel in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury 4 star hotel offers 163 en suite rooms in the heart of Sheffield. Just minutes from the railway station, Crucible and Lyceum Theatres and Hallam University. Don Valley Stadium, Sheffield Arena, Meadowhall Shopping Centre, Chatsworth House and Peak District are all a short drive away. 650 capacity conference centre and banqueting rooms, The Yard restaurant, indoor pool, sauna, steam room, snail shower, ice fountain and technogym. High speed Internet access and 24hr room service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Lastminute, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure St Paul`s Sheffield Hotel Sheffield
Accor St Pauls Sheffield
St Pauls Hotel Sheffield
Mercure Sheffield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing