We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel
Ranked #6 of 54 Hotels in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
Scunthorpe
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2012

The location of the accommodation is great. I have stayed in very nice and luxury room which was spacious as well! the staff is lovely! Have been greeted straight at the reception which began a start of the lovely time that I have spend there. Surely coming back when going over to Sheffield again!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luisa E, General Manager at Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel, responded to this review, 29 December 2012
Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at Mercure St Paul's Sheffield. We look forward to welcoming you back. Best Regards Luisa Esposito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,257 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,176
    678
    238
    107
    58
See reviews for
347
804
125
461
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (393)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2012

The staff are the jewel in this Mercure crown. From being greeted by Sandeep Kainda at reception, to the porter, to restaurant & bar staff and to houseeeping I never saw a frown, heard a moan or received any answer other than 'yes, of course'. We stayed in a Privilege room and this was very spacious, had an enourmous and very comfortable bed with a well laid out and well equipped bathroom. We tried room service, which was fast and good quality, if a bit pricey, but you know what you're paying before hand, so it's up to you. Just make sure you note the £5 delivery charge, which can make £2.75 worth of french fries a bit expensive. Simple answer, order more! Public rooms are what I would expect of a city centre hotel and breakfast was good quality with good choice and attentive staff.
The location is great for the city centre venues or shopping and, if driving, I do recommend the valet parking. Again it is at a cost, but the hassle it saves is worth the expense in my opinion.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RodBint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luisa E, General Manager at Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel, responded to this review, 25 December 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a lovely review following your recent stay at Mercure St Paul's Sheffield. It is always a pleasure to receive such feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back. Best Regards Luisa Esposito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2012

Saturday we arrived to the most impressive welcome from the head concierge Philip Wellington whom we were told is apparently the face of Sheffield according to a well known Sheffield magazine . He accompanied us to the check in desk and helped us with our cases, he also parked our car and assured us it would be ready when required.
The room was lovely , clean and spacious overlooking the winter gardens. we spent the evening in the bar area which was most comfortable and met with the Manageress Louise who made herself very available and pleasant to everyone around, this is rare in today's surroundings and counts a lot to the experience of a stay in a first class hotel .
We ordered sandwiches in the bar area, these were brought in a reasonable time and were sufficient to stave off the hunger until it was time to go out for our Xmas party @ the Mud Crab cafe Ecclesall Rd . Philip again was at hand to order our taxi, he's a charming person, a God send to a hotel which oozes class. After a fantastic party who was there to greet us back to the hotel , yes Philip I dare not ask how many hours he spends there, it must be his home.
After a good nights sleep and a superb breakfast we left the hotel feeling great from being looked after and treat like royalty. Thanks to all the Management,staff and especially Philip.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank firemangee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luisa E, General Manager at Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel, responded to this review, 24 December 2012
Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay at Mercure St Paul's Hotel and Spa. I was delighted to read your comments and please be assured I will pass them onto Philip. I am confident he will be very pleased to read he made such a difference to your stay. Best Regards Luisa Esposito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
Level Contributor
170 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2012

OK, I have to confess, I'm a bit biased - I went to university in Sheffield and lived there for 20 years up to 1985. I really liked the city and the Sheffield people and was pleased to be able to spend the night there in a fabulous room (133) in a great new hotel. (This was part of a present on my retirement!)
Sheffield has had its share of knocks, from the 1864 Dale Dyke Dam Disaster in 1864, the effects of the Great Depression, through Hitler's bombs, the depredations of 1960s architects and the destruction of the steel and coal industries in the 1980s. Sheffield has always, somehow, bounced back. The city is now almost unrecognisable but has a great public transport system, many fine buildings and good museums and a vibrant city centre.
The Mercure St. Paul's in a good quality modern hotel, smack in the centre, just behind the Town Hall. The excellent breakfast is served in a spectacular space looking through into the Winter Gardens. The spacious room we had enjoyed panoramic views along adjoining streets.
The service from the youthful staff was polished, friendly and helpful. They appeared to like doing their job rather than just dealing with customers 'on sufferance'.
Sheffield isn't really on the tourist trail but, actually, it makes a good base to explore many fine attractions, from the glorious countryside of the Peak District, the two finest Gothic cathedrals within a short distance (York Minster and Lincoln - with Durham also in reach) and some excellent stately homes (including Hardwicke Hall and Chatsworth House). And there is plenty to see and to do in Sheffield itself.
I doubt you finding anywhere much better to stay in the centre than the Mercure Sheffield St.Paul's Hotel.

Room Tip: Room 133 was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 99Martin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luisa E, General Manager at Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel, responded to this review, 21 December 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a lovely review following your recent stay at Mercure St Paul's Sheffield. It is always a pleasure to receive such feedback and we look forward to welcoming you bcak. Best Regards Luisa Esposito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2012

Loved this hotel, great location. Ate fish and chips in the bar and I think it was the best fish I have ever had. Good service all round, helpful on reception and in the bar. Obviously would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carole G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luisa E, General Manager at Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel, responded to this review, 22 December 2012
Dear Guest Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay at Mercure St Paul's. I will ensure the team are aware of your feedback. Best Regards Luisa Esposito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
0.1 mi away
Novotel Sheffield Centre
Novotel Sheffield Centre
#16 of 54 in Sheffield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,399 reviews
0.7 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
0.2 mi away
Leopold Hotel
Leopold Hotel
#10 of 54 in Sheffield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Sheffield
0.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Sheffield
Jurys Inn Sheffield
#13 of 54 in Sheffield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,028 reviews
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (St Mary's Gate) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel

Property: Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel
Address: 119 Norfolk Street, Sheffield S1 2JE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Sheffield
#3 Luxury Hotel in Sheffield
#4 Family Hotel in Sheffield
#4 Business Hotel in Sheffield
#6 Romantic Hotel in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury 4 star hotel offers 163 en suite rooms in the heart of Sheffield. Just minutes from the railway station, Crucible and Lyceum Theatres and Hallam University. Don Valley Stadium, Sheffield Arena, Meadowhall Shopping Centre, Chatsworth House and Peak District are all a short drive away. 650 capacity conference centre and banqueting rooms, The Yard restaurant, indoor pool, sauna, steam room, snail shower, ice fountain and technogym. High speed Internet access and 24hr room service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure St Paul`s Sheffield Hotel Sheffield
Accor St Pauls Sheffield
St Pauls Hotel Sheffield
Mercure Sheffield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing