We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Everything We Wanted”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel
Ranked #6 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
168 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Everything We Wanted”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013 via mobile

Just returned from a one night stay here. Although we only used the hotel for a quick pit stop, it more than met our needs. Reception staff were efficient, courteous and welcoming. Lobby areas and bars are extremely smart with the added bonus of adjoining the lovely Sheffield Wintergarden.
Bedrooms are clean, smart and spacious, with roomy bathroom and strong shower. Ours overlooked the Peace Gardens, which provided a very nice view.
We ate at the adjoining Ego restaurant, which was fine and had after dinner drinks in the lovely hotel lobby bar.
For a city centre hotel the location was really quiet and relaxing, yet within walking distance of plenty of restaurants and shops.
We ate breakfast in a nearby cafe, Marmadukes, which was excellent and much better value than the hotel's offerings. All in all a really good hotel, especially as we got a great deal thru Lastminute

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sindy7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luisa E, General Manager at Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
Thank you so very much for your lovely reveiw of your recent stay at Mercure St Paul's Hotel - We were delighted to read your comments and hope we can welcome you back in the near future. Best Regards Luisa Esposito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,292 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,195
    689
    243
    107
    58
See reviews for
356
816
127
467
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (396)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

Me and my husband stayed for one night over this August bank holiday after a previous stay the year before. Everything was excellent yet again. We arrived early, expecting to leave our luggage in reception, have a wonder and return later to book in, but we were offered a twin room straight away, we declined and said we would wait for a double, which was not a problem. We had only gone a few yards outside the hotel only to receive a phone call from reception to say our double room was available. Room was fantastic with views overlooking the theatres (double windowed room 134). Nothing was too much trouble. We used the gym and the spa facilties, again all lovely and cream tea for two the next day was divine!! Such a good location, very central.

ALL the staff were extremely helpful, especially Sandeep (I think that was his name) on reception, all were very pleasant and professional. We would definitely recommend this hotel to our friends, family and colleagues.

We will definitely return, sooner rather than later hopefully !

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kathydillon54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luisa E, General Manager at Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Mercure St Paul's Sheffield. I was delighted to read your feedback and I do hope we can welcome you back in the near future. Best Regards Luisa Esposito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

From the minute we arrived was made to feel welcome and nothing was too much trouble.SpeciaI thanks to Phil the concierge. Reception Was excellent especially as we had lots of rooms booked in the same name. Room was huge, well appointed and very clean. Actually finding the hotel by road Was a challenge so signage may have to be addressed as satnavs are not infallible with the one way system in sheffield.As a wedding venue was excellent, the happy couple walked back from the church. Food good, service a little slow, staff very attentive but needs the air con on when changing function room setting. All staff enthusiastic and willing to help, praise for Dave James and Marvin for breakfast and Sandjeep on reception. Definitely recommend

Room Tip: Find the car park first and walk. It will save a lot of stress
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mumda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luisa E, General Manager at Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to review your family wedding weekend at Mercure St Paul's Sheffield. It was a pleasure to read such feedback and I will ensure the team are fully aware of the feedback given. Best Regards Luisa Esposito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
51 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

Two night stay in a standard double. Nice large room with excellent walk in powerful shower in bathroom. Quiet and clean. Car parking a bit awkward (200 metre to recommended car park) but reception swaps your token for one of theirs, giving an overnight charge of £6.50. Location is very central with lots of good restaurants close by.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tandannik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luisa E, General Manager at Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
Dear Guest Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at Mercure St Paul's Hotel and Spa. It was a pleasure to read your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Best Regards Luisa Esposito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

we stayed in the Seffield Mercure St Pauls Hotel. It is centrally located, in front of a nice square with fountains, where children can play. Inside the hotel was good, and great to have access to the pool in the spa. Breakfast had a great choice of food. The staff were always enthusiastic and friendly.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luisa E, General Manager at Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel, responded to this review, 24 August 2013
Dear Gues Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review following your recent stay at Mercure St Paul's. I will ensure the team are aware of your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Best Regards Luisa Esposito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

We very much enjoyed our short stay at this hotel in our first visit to Sheffield.
Upon arrival it wasn't clear to us where the hotel lobby was from the car, until we were directed to the bollard/barriers with intercom to the hotel lobby. We took advantage of the valet parking service, which was convenient even after we had checked out.
Smart hotel, spacious adjoining rooms and nice view overlooking theatre/square etc.
Big shout of thanks to the two gents on reception who assisted in scanning and faxing some business papers away for us, very much appreciated.
Buffet breakfast did not have the biggest choice, but we were happy with eggs to order and good coffee to set us up for the day.
Would recommend and/or stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AReview80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luisa E, General Manager at Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay at Mercure St Paul's Sheffield. I was delighted to read your feedback and hope to welcome you back in the near future. Best Regards Luisa Esposito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
0.1 mi away
Novotel Sheffield Centre
Novotel Sheffield Centre
#17 of 53 in Sheffield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,430 reviews
0.2 mi away
Leopold Hotel
Leopold Hotel
#11 of 53 in Sheffield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,090 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Sheffield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
0.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Sheffield
Jurys Inn Sheffield
#13 of 53 in Sheffield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,095 reviews
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (St Mary's Gate) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel

Property: Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel
Address: 119 Norfolk Street, Sheffield S1 2JE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Sheffield
#3 Luxury Hotel in Sheffield
#4 Business Hotel in Sheffield
#4 Family Hotel in Sheffield
#6 Romantic Hotel in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury 4 star hotel offers 163 en suite rooms in the heart of Sheffield. Just minutes from the railway station, Crucible and Lyceum Theatres and Hallam University. Don Valley Stadium, Sheffield Arena, Meadowhall Shopping Centre, Chatsworth House and Peak District are all a short drive away. 650 capacity conference centre and banqueting rooms, The Yard restaurant, indoor pool, sauna, steam room, snail shower, ice fountain and technogym. High speed Internet access and 24hr room service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Lastminute, ACCOR, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure St Paul`s Sheffield Hotel Sheffield
Accor St Pauls Sheffield
St Pauls Hotel Sheffield
Mercure Sheffield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing