We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smashing pool; convenient and comfortable hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel
Ranked #6 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
Hertfordshire, UK
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Smashing pool; convenient and comfortable hotel”
Reviewed 11 December 2013

We've stayed here twice this year. Good location; great car park (so much better than others in the city).
We needed an extra bed for a teenager, so had to book by phone. (Not sure why that can't be incorporated into the online booking.) For the extra £20, the extra bed was good quality (better than a fold-up one). Shame the main double was very squeaky.

Good clean rooms, nice view of Winter Gardens. Excellent pool.
The bar is pricey, but that's typical for a hotel. Breakfast was good, and they cooked us up some veggie sausages too.

We'll be back!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melanie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luisa E, General Manager at Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Mercure St Paul's Sheffield. I was very pleased to read your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Best Regards Luisa Esposito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,345 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,219
    711
    248
    108
    59
See reviews for
367
831
130
477
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (404)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Issues:

The Hotel uses a contract car park. The car park is only a short distance away however the Valet service offered is not supported by the valet's being insured to drive your car.

Checking in and unloading: It is impossible to determine where the checking in desk is located. There are no "Entrance" signs. The Hotel is mainly glass fronted and it is almost impossible to find the way in as all the walls look the same.

The main entrance is situated behind bollards which raise and lower. At the desk we were not informed that the loading and unloading point was behind bollards let alone that a button had to be pressed to communicate with the hotel in order for them to be lowered. I was grateful to a local policeman I met while trying to navigate the one way system for a second time having been confronted by the raised bollards who informed me I had to press a button to gain access . I thought the entrance might have been at the other end of the hotel.

No offer of help with the luggage was forthcoming. We lugged it up two levels ourselves.

The room was excellent, cleanliness was excellent hence the two rating I have scored.

We were not informed verbally where the breakfast would be served.

An explanation of the breakfast buffet procedure was not explained.
Items of the breakfast e.g. veggie sausages and even poached eggs had to be ordered. Plates were cold and the general standard of the food well below the Four Star rating applied.

The Champaign Bar is used by the general public and the doors open directly onto the street. The whole place was so cold we felt the need to keep our outdoor coats on.
My wife asked for a Cappuccino and we were informed that that wasn't possible as the machine was broken.

Generally the whole experience was poor. Staff communication skills were abysmal. There seemed to be a complacency derived from the fact that there were many corporate bookings.

Suffice it to say we will not be using the Mercure in Sheffield again. We do visit our family in Sheffield frequently.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Crimble I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luisa E, General Manager at Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel, responded to this review, 14 December 2013
Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Mercure St Paul's Sheffield. I have noted your feedback and am sorry that your stay wasn't to your satisfaction. Best Regards Luisa Esposito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed at St. Paul's for a concert at the City Hall the location is great. We booked parking at Q hotels Charles street car park which is ideally located for the hotel. You can pre book a 24 hour rate which is cheaper than paying on the day.
We travelled the day of bad storms and initially were unsure if we were going to make it so I did actually cancel the room only to ring back 2 hours later to see if I could re-book. Sarah on the reservation team was so incredibly helpful and I was given back my original reservation at the same cost which I thought was very good customer service.
We stayed in a privilege room and so got free wi if and a more spacious room. The room was lovely with really nice soft furnishings the bed was comfortable and we had a lovely nights sleep.
My only reservation about the Hotel was the quality of the breakfast. I didn't think the choices of cold items such as fruit or pastries was very good and there was no butter and all of the jams had run out. The cooked breakfast didn't look particularly appetising and therefore I was disappointed. However this wouldn't stop me giving the St. Paul's the benefit of the doubt and staying again.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Khan710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luisa E, General Manager at Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel, responded to this review, 7 December 2013
Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Mercure St Paul's Sheffield. I was pleased to read most of your review but am sorry that not everything was to your satisfaction. I do hope we can welcome you back in the future. Luisa Esposito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013 via mobile

Had our work Christmas party at the hotel tonight. The food was uninspiring at best... The ham Hock terrine was probably the highlight of the evening, being merely average and tasteless. The main course of Turkey Christmas dinner was woeful. The Turkey was dry and the veg was insipid and wet. The sprouts being the only tasty item on the menu. Worst to come was the dessert which tasted artificial and was clearly bought in. We felt like we were being fed like cattle then herded on.

So basically, don't bother coming here on a group event as the food is well below par, you'd get considerably better quality at pretty much anywhere else, as here they obviously bulk buy in all the food for the lowest cost. Tasteless, boring, bland & no customer service. Group bookings don't have to be this way.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank stonec0ld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luisa E, General Manager at Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel, responded to this review, 7 December 2013
Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to Mercure St Paul's. You post is dated the 6th however we didn't host an event on the 5th or during the couple of days prior to that so am unable to identify which night you attended. Please can you call me on 0114 278 2000 to discuss the matter further. Best Regards Luisa Esposito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 5 December 2013

I visited the spa a few weeks ago with some friends to celebrate a birthday. We were excited to have some time to relax and have some beauty treatments! The spa facilities were fantastic, there was a range of different steam rooms, and the relaxation room was fab! The treatments were lovely and relaxing and the therapists were friendly and polite. We left having had a fantastic time and left feeling very relaxed! Can’t wait to visit again!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luisa E, General Manager at Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Dear Sally Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to Mercure St Paul's Sheffield. I was delighted to read you enjoyed your time with us and I do hope we can welcome you back in the near future. Best Regards Luisa Esposito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 December 2013

This was our second stay at The Mercure and it'll continue to be our first choice for accom when visiting friends in Sheffield. Friendly staff, good service, reasonably priced...oh, and the Pool & Spa are a great addition as well!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Mario_Chrisostomou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luisa E, General Manager at Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Dear Guest Thank you very much for reviewing your recent stay at Mercure St Paul's Sheffield. It is always a pleasure to read such comments and I do hope we can welcome you back in the near future.Best Regards Luisa Esposito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
0.1 mi away
Novotel Sheffield Centre
Novotel Sheffield Centre
#18 of 53 in Sheffield
1,471 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Sheffield
0.7 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Leopold Hotel
Leopold Hotel
#9 of 53 in Sheffield
1,121 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Sheffield
Jurys Inn Sheffield
#10 of 53 in Sheffield
2,226 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Sheffield
Hilton Sheffield
#27 of 53 in Sheffield
1,568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel

Property: Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel
Address: 119 Norfolk Street, Sheffield S1 2JE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Sheffield
#3 Luxury Hotel in Sheffield
#4 Business Hotel in Sheffield
#4 Family Hotel in Sheffield
#6 Romantic Hotel in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury 4 star hotel offers 163 en suite rooms in the heart of Sheffield. Just minutes from the railway station, Crucible and Lyceum Theatres and Hallam University. Don Valley Stadium, Sheffield Arena, Meadowhall Shopping Centre, Chatsworth House and Peak District are all a short drive away. 650 capacity conference centre and banqueting rooms, The Yard restaurant, indoor pool, sauna, steam room, snail shower, ice fountain and technogym. High speed Internet access and 24hr room service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure St Paul`s Sheffield Hotel Sheffield
Accor St Pauls Sheffield
St Pauls Hotel Sheffield
Mercure Sheffield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing