We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel
Ranked #6 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Friendly staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

Stayed two nights for a work event. Reception staff are superb incredibly friendly they really make this hotel. Bathrooms especially showers could do with updating and I suspect the air con is less than adequate in the summer . Ate a really impressive meal here as part of an event , mass catering can be very difficult this was excellent . Conference lunches also good.

Room Tip: Aim for higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FionaHelene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luisa E, General Manager at Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Dear Guest Thank you very much for reviewing your recent stay at Mercure St Paul's Sheffield. It is always great to read such comments and I do hope we can welcome you back in the near future.Best Regards Luisa Esposito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,287 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,191
    689
    242
    107
    58
See reviews for
355
813
127
467
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (396)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014 via mobile

I stayed in this hotel for a conference and overall I was really impressed. The staff were friendly and helpful at check in, they also recommended a restaurant and booked us a table and a taxi.
The rooms were really big with nice decor. My room also had a huge window with a lovely view. There were just a couple of tiny points which stopped my stay being perfect. There aren't many plugs in the room so I ended up plugging my phone in across the other side of the room overnight, a bit annoying when the alarm goes off in the morning etc. Also the bathroom had a fan which was on constantly, slightly unrelaxing. Although there was a bit of a bad drain smell when I opened the shower cubicle so perhaps that's why the fan needed to be on?
Breakfast was good with a really big selection on offer.
Overall a good stay but not quite perfect.

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Picks20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luisa E, General Manager at Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Mercure St Paul's Sheffield. I was pleased to read your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Best Regards Luisa Esposito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Notts
Level Contributor
41 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

We've stayed at St Paul's several times and not had a bad visit. We'd managed to get a fairly decent rate for the room so decided to upgrade when we checked in. For an extra £20 the upgrade was brill plenty of water, soft drinks and robes.
We used the spa facilities although they had problems with the heat in the pool so after dipping a foot in we gave that a miss.
Breakfast was good again as always. I'm not sure of the name of the gentleman that runs the breakfast but credit to him he has it down to military precision.
I'm sure we'll be back at some point this year,

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stanley14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luisa E, General Manager at Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Mercure St Paul's Sheffield. I was pleased to read your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Best Regards Luisa Esposito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

I visited Sheffield with my wife for a weekend away from the kids and this hotel was wonderful.
Staff were very polite and hard working and the room was perfect for us.
We had a nice dinner in the restaurant, good prices for good quality food and a good location, amongst a nice city.
would come back again definitely.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brommy50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luisa E, General Manager at Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Mercure St Paul's Sheffield. I am always delighted to read that guests have enjoyed their stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Best Regards Luisa Esposito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

Stayed here as a set of couples on a catch up break. The location is very good, we took heed of previous reviews and travelled by train to avoid parking hassle. The room was quite large and clean with good views and relatively noise free. Only major disappointment was a pretty poor bathroom; the shower temperature was freezing (though it did on occasions fluctuate to luke warm!), it was a disabled bathroom and not in the best of condition - I was a little disappointed with the quality of the actual shower etc compared to the room quality. On the plus side the foyer / bar area is lovely and we would have liked to have stayed for another night to take full advantage of the spa and other local bars and restaurants. The service was generally good too.

Room Tip: from peeking into other rooms that were being cleaned, some of the rooms seem to have some very love...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charlieparly79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luisa E, General Manager at Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Dear Guest Thank you very much for reviewing your recent stay at Mercure St Paul's Sheffield. It is always great to read such comments and I do hope we can welcome you back in the near future.Best Regards Luisa Esposito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincs
Level Contributor
152 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

I use Accor group hotels a lot all over Europe. This one is a very good example for the price and location. Ideal if you are arriving by train as the Car Parking is expensive in nearby Q park, or cheaper NCP, further walk.Sheffield is a green city though..
I had pre paid and requested a higher room as the windows are floor to ceiling and rooms are a good size. We got the 4th floor room and had a great view over St Pauls Square fountains. Nice to have a shower cubicle and separate bath too, especially after enjoying the spa.
The spa does close bizzarely early however. I know that it was New Years Eve but closing at 7 and last entry at 6 seems to be a bit strange. Surely people who check in to this hotel do so to enjoy the spa, possibly after a day out (like ourselves).
Fantastic breakfast, continental, full english, pastries, the works. Very nice views into the palm house atrium. 12pm check out. would recommend

Room Tip: ask for 4/5th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luisa E, General Manager at Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Mercure St Paul's Sheffield. I was pleased to read your feedback and sincerely hope we can welcome you back in the near future. Best Regards Luisa Esposito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
0.1 mi away
Novotel Sheffield Centre
Novotel Sheffield Centre
#17 of 53 in Sheffield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,426 reviews
0.2 mi away
Leopold Hotel
Leopold Hotel
#11 of 53 in Sheffield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,088 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Sheffield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
0.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Sheffield
Jurys Inn Sheffield
#13 of 53 in Sheffield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,091 reviews
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (St Mary's Gate) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel

Property: Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel
Address: 119 Norfolk Street, Sheffield S1 2JE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Sheffield
#3 Luxury Hotel in Sheffield
#4 Family Hotel in Sheffield
#4 Business Hotel in Sheffield
#6 Romantic Hotel in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury 4 star hotel offers 163 en suite rooms in the heart of Sheffield. Just minutes from the railway station, Crucible and Lyceum Theatres and Hallam University. Don Valley Stadium, Sheffield Arena, Meadowhall Shopping Centre, Chatsworth House and Peak District are all a short drive away. 650 capacity conference centre and banqueting rooms, The Yard restaurant, indoor pool, sauna, steam room, snail shower, ice fountain and technogym. High speed Internet access and 24hr room service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Lastminute, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure St Paul`s Sheffield Hotel Sheffield
Accor St Pauls Sheffield
St Pauls Hotel Sheffield
Mercure Sheffield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing